We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixture of excellent and bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
Ranked #117 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This hotel might be excellent if not for two issues.

The bed was really bad. Inclined so you slid aside while sleeping. Sleeping so, nights were not refreshing.

The safe box in the room was tiny, and they don't have any safe deposit facilities at reception. Had to carry my notebook on me at all times.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h1765_gm, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Dear AndreyC,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments at the Mercure Budapest Korona. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.
I would like to kindly inform you that next to the reception there is a safe deposit room where you can put even a laptop in a safety box. Our colleagues at the desk are more than happy to help you in this case. An other solution to try the Privilege room which is an upgraded one, where beside other facilities, the safety box is bigger than in the standard rooms, and there is a much softer mattress called "My Bed".

I hope we will have the chance to welcome you in our hotel soon again.

Best regards,

Cyril Jung-Allegret
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,222 - 1,226 of 2,632 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fredrik77
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
h1765_gm, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney, Australia
31
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Not needing ultru-lux, we were very satisfied with this hotel, which we good on a good internet special. We were in the next-door hotel, so the downside was having to cart luggage up one lift, walk across the interconnection and then up another lift. Nevertheless, quite happy with the room and position. Location gets extra points... a few metres from the underground was an advantage, but plenty within walking distance too.
Did not eat in as there were plenty of options within walking distance. Could use a reburbishment in bathrooms.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h1765_gm, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I would like to offer you to try the restaurants of our hotel as well next time: our Tokaj Restaurant which serves the masterpieces of the famous traditional Hungarian cuisine with the best of Tokaj wines; or the Bridge Bar which connects the two parts of the hotel with a unique panorama of the busiest square in the city.

We hope we will have the chance to welcome you in our hotel soon again!

With my best regards,

Cyril Jung-Allegret
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Saint-Juery
13
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Attending a show at the hungexpo, I had to find a hotel located between the airport and the expo. The Mercure Korona hotel is specially well located (25 mn from both destinations) and offers the opportunity to discover Budapest either by feet or taking the subway close to the hotel. Monuments, museum and shops are easy to reach in less than 5 minutes.
As far as services are concerned, reception staff is excellent and very helpfull. The restaurant offers as well classic as Hungarian traditional food. Swimming pool is also available.
A place to go!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h1765_gm, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your nice comment on TripAdvisor, I am glad to read this positive feedback.
Thank you again, and see you soon in our hotel!

Best regards,

Cyril Jung-Allegret
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Went here for a business meeting.
Excellent location, good quality.
However, for a 4* hotel, the room service is not high as expected.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarpatBike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h1765_gm, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Dear CarpatBike,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comment. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay in Mercure Korona hotel very much.
I hope we will have the chance to welcome you in our hotel soon again!

Best regards,

Cyril Jung-Allegret
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest City Center
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#47 of 335 in Budapest
758 reviews
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#59 of 335 in Budapest
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 335 in Budapest
4,469 reviews
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#77 of 335 in Budapest
1,883 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel

Address: Kecskemeti utca 14 | Parking in the hotel garage, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: €50 - €123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Budapest Korona**** is the best located hotel in Budapest. Situated in the heart of the city with beautiful surroundings, at the entrance of the popular pedestrian area: Váci and Ráday street.The River Danube, exclusive shops and famous baths are within walking distance. We offer free WiFi throughout the hotel. You can choose from Privilege Rooms or Suites to ensure your full comfort. Direct access from the airport and onsite parking possibility. The hotel offers wide range of services for both leisure and business travellers like: pool, sauna, Internet corner, upgraded Privilege room, 2 restaurants, Bridge Bar with unique view, My Bar with modern design in pleasant atmosphere, garage, souvenir shop. Conference capacity up to 120 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Korona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing