We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,064)
Filter reviews
6,064 results
Traveller rating
4,088
1,487
332
96
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,088
1,487
332
96
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschain bridgeparis restaurantluxury roomriver viewclub roomfamous chainperfect locationbreakfast buffetexcellent hotelbuda castleacross the riverroyal palacethe executive loungean upgradechristmas marketjunior suitefour seasons
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 6,064 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

Dropped in here whilst on a walking tour of the city.
Situated just off the front from the river with views of the Chain Bridge.
Lovely outside seating area with shade if needed and a massive TV screen which was showing the World Cup highlights
Greeted as we entered, shown to a table of our choice and promptly presented with a menu.
We only had tea and a slice of cake, however the tea is served in cast iron pots with real tea (not a tea bag) and with it comes a small biscuit and a pot of honey.
I know it’s only a cup of tea but it was nicely presented and was lovely to drink. The cake was apple cake and was delicious
Service was top notch and although the price for two teas and one cake at 4000 Forint £11.00 was a little on the high side it was well worth it

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank judith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

This hotel has to have the most magnificent view in Budapest. Our room looks at the both the Buda and Pest side. On top of the view this hotel is so well located. Plus the service is wonderful. From the moment we walked into the hotel we were treated so very well! The front desk was so helpful and the manager so delightful. I had hurt my knee and was given ice and extra pillows and room service.

Cannot wait to return to this magical
City. Here is one shot of our view and another a towel gift left for us by the housekeeping sept.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 839stacies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

We were staying here for 2 nights before starting our river cruise, the hotel was booked as part of the package so we had no say in the booking, but what a great hotel this is.

Located right by the chain bridge and the river Danube, our room had a lovely view out over the river and even though the hotel is situated at a busy junction there was no noise at night at all. The bath robes were the softest we had ever seen, the towels were big and fluffy too. The shower was very powerful and there as always hot water.

The breakfast area was very busy, but the staff were great and tables cleared quickly and the food was constantly replenished. Lots of choice of hot and cold foods.

If we are ever back in Budapest would stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viv R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel and has a super location . This was my second visit to this Hotel .
Disappointed that the family suite does not give access to lounge . Last time we did have that and I must say the view from
Club lounge is awesome .
Room is spacious ( great for family of 3-4 )
The hotel is generous with regards to toiletries. ( Hermes ) It’s lovely .
The suite has a cappuccino machine and is well stocked with different coffee capsules and tea.
The view from room was average .
For a couple I suggest taking the deluxe rooms with club access and a view of chain bridge .( it’s magical )
However I am disappointed that inspite of my second stay ( first one in July 2016) .
the hotel has no idea of returning customers . Not even a welcome back card in the room. I think these are the finer things that a hotel must learn . Best example is Taj Exotica Goa .
The breakfast was ok not great . Expecting them to be more generous as it’s a 5 star .
Staff nice and courteous .
Had another great experience . Good but scope to improve .

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Rahul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

We stayed here two nights following our Viking River cruise. This location is excellent for catching a tram or metro (subway) to most of the top sights in Budapest. We also felt very safe in this hotel, and the entire city, for that matter. The hotel has a good security system, limiting people to their own floors. Our 2nd floor hotel room had great AC, comfortable beds and plenty of room. It was quiet, but we were on a hallway and not overlooking the atrium. However, the hotel needs updating: there is no padding under the carpet (like walking on concrete), there are not many extra electrical outlets to charge up your electronic devices, and the room could use additional lighting. The hallways were dark, too. They need to bring this hotel up to current standards in terms of technology and comforts. We did have a water kettle for making make instant coffee (a Keurig machine, or something similar, would be nicer so that we could have brewed coffee), and the bathroom had a good-sized counter so that two of us could easily access our toiletries. I would give this hotel 3.5 or 4 Stars, but definitely not a 5 star rating. I expected more, and was a bit disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Banker B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Bowcott_Sofitel, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experiences regarding your stay at our hotel. We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us in such great details.
While it is with deepest regret to know that your experience was not satisfactory in some aspects that we are really sorry for. I was very concerned to hear that your experience related to the technology and comforts of the room did not meet your expectations.
Kindly be ensured that we take your comments very seriously, and are taking the appropriate measures to address these issues and improve on our services.
We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Jean Bowcott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews