We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,307)
Filter reviews
1,307 results
Traveller rating
363
492
262
121
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
363
492
262
121
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant nice hotel st stephens basilica walking distance small room spa facilities parliament building location is excellent coffee machine main sights central location quiet street beautiful city metro station superior room tourist attractions breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,307 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were stayed 4 nights in Hotel President and we have more advantages than disadvantages.

Advantages:
- The location is absolutely outstanding. Vaci utca, Deak ference ter, and also many attractions like the parliament, Danube river, the synagogue and Szent Istvan Bazilika, all is walking distance.
- The breakfast is great and diversified.
- The staff is really nice and the room service is great.
- The best advantage is that in each room has a smartphone which you can take with you and helps you navigate in the city.
- free WiFi and you can also use the hotel's facilities like gym and pool.

disadvantages:
- There was sometimes that the smell from the bathroom remind us smell of drainage.
- We stayed in the lowest floor which the window turns into the hotel itself and not to the street, which means you won't open it if you don't want that the other guest will disturb you or listening to you.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank tomers75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraRacz, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Hotel President Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear tomers75,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences.
At first, thank you very much for your positive comments about our central location which is perfect for sightseeing. Also, thank you for highlighting our varied breakfast, friendly staff and facilities.
Additionally, we are sorry to hear that you did not like the inner courtyard view of your room, please note that in other room categories, such as standard twin, junior suite, and suite the rooms are facing to the street or to the garden.
Finally, thank you again for your reveiew and we hope that we can welcome you back again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Laura Rácz
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is in a great location between the Jewish quarter and the chain bridge. However when we went to use the rooftop bar we were told it was closed for a couple of months As this was one of the main reasons for choosing this hotel I was very disappointed. Other than that all the hotel amenities were generally good

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tobyrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraRacz, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Hotel President Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Tobyrow,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences.
We regret to hear that you were disappointed by the fact that our roof terrace was closed during your visit. Please note that it is open as a restaurant from May to the end of September. During the winter, from November to February we have an ice-skating rink at our roof terrace. During early spring and late autumn, unfortunately, it is closed but we offer photo opportunity every day for our guests in this period. We apologize for the inconvenience this might have caused you.
Finally, we hope that you had an overall pleasant stay and we will have the chance to welcome you back again one day.
Kind regards,
Laura Rácz
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly personnel but coffee maker, refrigerator, thermostat and lights didn't work and it took 4 hours and 3 visits to fix. Walk everywhere from great location. Everything new and clean. Breakfast is exceptional. Eventually this will be a 5 star!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank Laurie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraRacz, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Hotel President Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Laurie D,
Thank you for your valuable feedback.
First of all, we would like to apologize for the maintenance issues you had in the room during your stay with us. We did our best to solve the problems as soon as possible, we apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you.
However, thank you for your positive comments about our friendly staff and great location.
Finally, thank you again for your review and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again!
Kind regards,
Laura Rácz
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I did a lot of research to find an affordable hotel with good reviews and I was not disappointed.
Easy to get to from airport,number 100 bus,airport transfer and runs every 20 minutes,35 minutes,last stop,only 3 stops and then 10 minutes walk,Easy.Opposite the American embassy.
Charming entrance ,period frontage,welcome reception staff,attentive and fluent English,informative.
Basic room had everything,do not be put off by the ultra modern new block,the rooms,and that’s what we wanted ,were spotless,superior large bed,tv,free internet,I phone set up in room ,free to use,it goes on,shower and all items included,fridge,coffee machine,nothing missing here.
Breakfast was over well ing,everything you could have,multi choice buffet,well presented,staff kept it clear,spotless.
Resteraunts is tiny, it smart,we had two meals at lunch time,tiny portions,but worth the £5 we paid each for two courses,Yes£5 each. Try it ,menu has choice of 4 items changing daily,we precooked a table as groups book here,as it’s small it can get full.
The Danube is 6 minutes walk,hop on bus,to go to all sights,Basilica 5 minutes walk.
Dozens of resteraunts around this area,all menus outside,and we tried a few.
We will return here ,next time bringing our friends,Budapest is not expensive,

Stayed: October 2018
Thank tchell2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraRacz, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Hotel President Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear tchell2016,
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback.
First of all, we are glad to hear that the room and its amenities met your expectations. Also, thank you for your positive comments about our central location which is perfect for sightseeing. Additionally, thank you for highlighting our friendly staff and our Intermezzo Restaurant.
Finally, thank you once again for your kind review and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future!
Kind regards,
Laura Rácz
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

This clean and pretty hotel has excellent service and a perfect location for seeing sights while having a quiet environment for sleep. It’s an easy walk to Parliament Building, St Stephen’s, and Restaurants. Very enjoyable for a quick overnight and would work for pleasure or business.

Room Tip: The rooms in the new area are lovely but a bit small.
Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kpolas335318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraRacz, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Hotel President Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear kpolas335318,
Thank you very much for your nice review.
It is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. We really appreciate your positive feedback about our excellent location and cleanliness.
Finally, thank you once again for your high rating and kind recommendation and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Kind regards,
Laura Rácz
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews