We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,360)
Filter reviews
5,360 results
Traveller rating
4,452
814
82
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,452
814
82
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free coffee small square great hotel old palace national museum minute walk booked this hotel would highly recommend this hotel bottled water junior suite quiet neighborhood reception staff lounge area kalvin ter visiting budapest breakfast room walk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 5,360 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2018

We stayed at this hotel at the end of June for 3 nights for a city break. We usually stay in Air BnB's due to price however when we saw the cost for BnB with Palazzo Zichy we swayed! Really good value for money we thought.

From the moment we checked in to the moment we left the staff were great! Couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. We never actually purchased this, but they sell travel passes around Budapest and I'm sure I saw they organise certain sight seeing trips. They let us check in early too as the room was ready which was a plus as our flight was early.

The room was lovely! Nice and modern and most importantly really clean!

Breakfast was good, only downfall I found was that the breakfast room is quite small and doesn't take many people to fill it. We found the waiter/waitresses weren't clearing plates off the tables in any rush and as a consquence we had to hover and wait for a table to become free.

Location is good, nice and quiet. It is a little out from the main attractions/nightlife etc, but we walked everywhere and didn't have a problem with this.I remember it being about a 10 min walk from vaci street.

Nice bar area too, one night we had 2 glasses of wine and 2 beers and think it came to about £12 which is really reasonable. I think they do free tea/coffee and snacks in the afternoon in the bar area however we never had chance to witness this as we were sight seeing all day.

I would recommend this hotel for sure.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 886shannonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melitta_Laub, Vezető at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Dear “Shannon L”,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel Palazzo Zichy for your stay in Budapest.

Your feedback and insights are much appreciated, we thank you for taking the time to express your opinion on your recent stay. It is great that you enjoyed our hotel and its facilities while discovering our lovely city.

We really hope that we can be ’your home away from home’ again on your next trip to Budapest.

Best regards,

Melitta Laub (mlaub @ hpz . hu)
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
managed by Continental Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

I had originally booked this hotel, four years ago but unfortunately, we had to cancel, due to my husband needing an operation. Because I had previously done my homework re the hotel, this took me very little time, because the reviews were still as good as ever and it is no wonder! The hotel is a beautiful building, exceptionally clean and is in an ideal location. The staff are very knowledgeable and friendly, especially the tall, dark haired young man in the breakfast hall, who always greeted us with a smile. Our room was on the second floor, which was very quiet. The bathroom had a walk in shower, which had really good water power and the complimentary soaps etc. smell delightful. Bathrobes were provided upon request. Our bed was very comfortable, with individual duvets but the pillows were slightly too firm for us and so we asked at reception, if they could possibly be changed and pronto, they were replaced with soft ones, very much to our liking. The breakfast provides choices to suit all tastes, beautifully presented and plentiful and the coffee lounge open until 5pm is a great relaxation, after a full day out sightseeing. On the first day, we walked to Kalvin Square (15mins) to collect the City Sightseeing Budapest Hop On - Hop Off Bus, which was excellent and enabled us to get our bearings. Turning left out of the hotel, a 15min walk, brings you to the Great Market, opposite which are some lovely restaurants, leading to Elisabeth Bridge and the beautiful Danube. Turning right out of the hotel, is the Museum, followed by a 15/20 min walk to The House of Terror, The Synagogue and onward to Heroes Square. Then a walk through a modern, high class shopping area and a stroll back, down the banks of the Danube to see much more that beuatiful Budapest has to offer. :-) In the evening, a few minutes stroll from the hotel, are lots of lovely bars/restaurants, with outdoor seating and very friendly, welcoming staff.

Date of stay: June 2018
3  Thank aetch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melitta_Laub, Vezető at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Dear “aetch1”,

First and foremost let me thank you for your stay and also for recommending us! It is great that after all you have managed to visit Budapest!

We are happy to learn from your review that you were thoroughly satisfied with our hotel and that we have met - hopefully even succeeded - your expectations.

Thank you for sharing your opinion and for this all-around positive feedback. It is wonderful to know that guests, like yourself, appreciate the small details we put into the service to be able to give the best possible experience. We enjoyed reading that you liked the comfort and the equipment of your room, and that you have recognized our staff’s professionalism and friendly attitude.

It was our pleasure to meet you and we do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hotel Palazzo Zichy in the not too distant future.

With best regards,

Melitta Laub (mlaub @ hpz . hu)
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
managed by Continental Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

We decided to splurge a little on our first two nights in Budapest, and the Palazzo Zichy did not disappoint. The building's historic quality has been preserved in the restoration, plus modern conveniences. Breakfast in the morning was a large, delicious buffet, an excellent way to start a long day of walking and sightseeing. The room was very comfortable, and the bedding was luxurious. There's a DVD Library available, which is a nice touch. The location in Pest is good, close to the Hungarian National Museum and a public transit hub. Coming from the airport we took the 100E bus, it was very cheap and ours was the first stop, just a few blocks from the hotel. There were several charming small restaurants by the hotel, with good food. This hotel is definitely recommended, especially for couples.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Brier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melitta_Laub, Vezető at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Dear “Brier M”,

Thank you very much for staying in Hotel Palazzo Zichy and sharing your thoughts with us and other travelers here on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful to know that we managed to live up to our reputation and that we could contribute to a memorable city break in Budapest. We would like to thank you for your detailed review, the compliments on our breakfast buffet and on the comfortable room.

It would be our pleasure to host you again and I truly hope you will not hesitate to choose us again should your visit our lovely capital city in the future.

With best regards,

Melitta Laub (mlaub @ hpz . hu)
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
managed by Continental Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Great Location. Beautiful Hotel, they must have had a designer decorate the Hotel. It is flawless, they thought of everything down to the last detail. They even had Umbrella to give you when it rained. Large Hotel Rooms with large bathroom with a Jacuzzi Tub. Lobby Lounge with food and drinks all day till the night. Bathroom in the room nicer than my bathroom at home. Breakfast is included and is such a nice buffet of foods/ Delicious. The Hotel Staff is so nice and so helpful and friendly. I can go on and on raving about this place. It was the perfect Hotel stay. I can't wait to come back to Budapest to stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melitta_Laub, Vezető at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Dear “Michael S”,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel Palazzo Zichy for your recent city break!

We are glad to learn from your kind review that you had enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and that you spent a memorable time in Budapest. We trust we were able to exceed your expectations, and that we managed to make your stay as easy and comfortable as you had imagined it should have been.

Thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travelers and we hope to have you back on another occasion!

Best regards,

Melitta Laub (mlaub @ hpz . hu)
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
managed by Continental Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Just checked out from a 3 night stay at the palazzo and could not find fault with this fantastic hotel. Bright and airy in the reception and sleek and modern in the rooms this hotel is the perfect choice if you want to feel a bit of luxury during your stay.

Complimentary tea and coffee bar until 5 and really good range of hot and cold breakfast buffet I wouldn’t hesitate in giving 4 stars. The 5th comes from the little touches like brollys for your convince if you need them and the amazing staff who go the extra mile.

It’s 10 minutes walk to Vaci street which it the main tourist area so nice and close to the action too.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rsjohn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melitta_Laub, Vezető at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Dear “rsjohn8”,

Thank you very much for staying with us at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy and for your time to recommend our hotel on the TripAdvisor site.

Reading your kind words regarding the service provided by our team made us feel glad; it is nice to know that we met your expectation and you enjoyed your stay in Budapest.

We especially would like to thank you for highlighting the nice atmosphere and the modern appearance of the rooms.

Your compliments are very much appreciated and we hope to have the pleasure of meeting you in our lovely hotel soon again.

Sincerely yours,

Melitta Laub (mlaub @ hpz . hu)
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
managed by Continental Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews