We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$105
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$322
US$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$309
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$266
US$194
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Corinthia Hotel Budapest(Budapest)
US$339
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
New York Palace, DA(Budapest)
US$238
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$325
US$284
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$232
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$186
US$156
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$840
US$796
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
146
44
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
44
5
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2009

The location is perfect - great restaurants (which Bob and Zoltan have good recommendations for) and bars nearby and it feels very safe walking around at night. Also within walking distance of all the sights in Pest and the Palace area in Buda. We only took the metro to get to the hot baths in the City Park.

Bob and Zoltan are very helpful and can supply info on where to go, they also supplied spare towels when we went to the baths.

We stayed in room 1 which was beautiful, very clean and very well decorated. My only criticism is that it's next to the breakfast area, so if you're late risers like us it's probably not the best room for you.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktbbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2009

Just got back from a wonderful trip to Budapest. This guest house is less than 1 year old. I firmly believe that it will become the number 1 B&B in Budapest! We loved the stay at Danube Guest House so much that we stayed an extra night. Zoli (a dancer / musician) and Bob (a retired antiques dealer from the US) are great hosts. They made us feel very comfortable and answered all our questions with maps and information. They suggested things to do and see. They really thought of everything, including lending us beach towels for the thermal baths (which is a must do), umbrellas for rainy days, hair dryers, etc. The room (we had room #3) was great. Smaller in size than the other double rooms but it was only 49 euros, which is a great bargain. The bed was super comfortable with a fluffy comforter. The rest of the guest house is extremely clean and charmingly decorated in a warm and cozy fashion. Breakfast was great too. We had a selection of cereal, pastry, fruit, fresh coffee and tea, juice, yogurt at any time, which was great for jet-lagged travelers. The location was central, right next to the large Synagogue, about less than 10 min walk to Vaci Street, Andrassy Street, Museums, Opera, and the Danube.

We highly recommend the guest house for anyone traveling to Budapest. Also you must go to Szecsenyi Bath, attend the Opera, rent a bike on Margaret Island, and try the Thai massage at Lian Thai Massage near the guest house.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lulupitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2009

Zoli and Bob have seven rooms located next to the Great Synagogue in Pest. Both speak fluent English which makes booking with them very easy. As mentioned in most of the reviews upon your arrival they sit you down and offer maps and answer questions. The same generosity of time and resource is made available to you throughout your stay.

We stayed in Room 1 which had plenty of space and was extremely clean. The only watch out which certainly is not a deal breaker is that the only window for the room is within the B+B itself. As such even in the middle of the winter the room was a bit stuffy as we chose to keep the window mostly closed.

Each morning their was self service juices and delicious chocolate croissants were provided. If the croissant isn't interesting to you or you prefer something different any number of cafes are in Central Pest that you can choose from at an affordable price especially if you avoid Vaci Ucta.

Beyond that the only other quick tips we can offer based on our experience are

1. If you can afford it use Zona Taxi to take you to/from the airport. We took the taxi to the B+B but used the Metro/Bus route to return to the airport. The metro/bus combo certainly works but it is not direct

2. While your nearest metro stop is Astoria on the Red Line learn quickly that Deac Ferenc Ter is only a little further of a walk and has the advantage of being the only transfer point between the lines.

3. I forget if Zoli and Bob recommend it, but I do believe the Italian restaurant across the streets is highly rated by Zagats.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alcibiades12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

My boyfriend and I have just returned from three nights staying here at the Danube Guest House and we could not recommend you stay here enough. Our room (Room 4) was well decorated, a great size, really clean and with a fab en-suite. Upon arrival we were given maps, had all of our questions on Budapest answered and were given two amazing recommendations for dinner- Menza and Osteria. Nothing ever seemed to much of a chore for the owners, Bob and Zolli, who even brought us chocolate patisseries the night before our departure as we had to leave at a ridiculously early hour. The location was also perfect. This is a definate find!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeff_grapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2008

I spent a weekend in Budapest in December. I had a single room that was very comfortable and overlooked the street. The room had great touches, such as a water glass and pitchers of water available from the communal refrigerator, the warm towel rack and small television with English speaking channels. The bed was comfortable with a great quilt and soft pillows. Access to coffee/tea, fruit and chocolates at anytime was nice addition. Zoli and Bob were extremely helpful, from recommending great restaurants, to making cab reservations. They also sat down with us upon arrival and gave us maps and highlights not to miss in Budapest. I would love to go back and stay with them again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ChasingTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews