We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
71
152
68
12
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
152
68
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centreadjoining cafegreat hotel in a good locationworking hoursand spoke excellent englishold townminute walkcable tvbottled watertrain stationfive nightsspent nights hereby foottriple roomwi fihotel staffwonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 315 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Ok first the positives...Room was clean, well maintained and fairly new. Bathrooms spot on, beds comfortable. Wi-Fi good, and free. You need to be aware this hotel has no restaurant for Dinner, there is a cafe next door, where Buffet breakfast is served ( not great) and that serves food until 5pm, then it’s upto you to find a restaurant. There are a couple of cafes within walking distance, but food quality is not great, just huge
portions. The old town with more restaurants is around 15minute walk.
The other factor is the location...This is right next door to main Hospital with all the noise you would expect, plus helicopters arriving on the helipad a few metres away! The hotel is above some shops and supermarket, it’s certainly not a quaint hotel. It’s functional and does the job, and a good base for tourists, just not really got facilities needed for business trip.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Scampmeisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeksikoTeam, Reception at Hotel Meksiko, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear Scampmeisters,
thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. We will do our best to improve our services in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

Hotel Mekisko is a very short walk from the train station (under 1km), and reasonable walking distance to the old town. This is a great hotel for staying with families, there are 2 grocery stores within a couple blocks which makes picking up milk, etc. for the kids quick and easy. We stayed in the room recommended for 4, and it was the biggest hotel room i've ever seen! There was a spacious entry way which we could easily park our double stroller in. Then there was a separate area with a table, and a big open room with the first double bed, then there was a separate room with the other set of beds. The room as a whole was probably 800-1000sq feet as it felt bigger than my first apartment.
There was a nice buffet breakfast served in the restaurant next door. The hotel is right across from the emergency room, but we didn't hear any noise from it. The room also had air conditioning which was a nice change from some of the other hotels we've stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeksikoTeam, Reception at Hotel Meksiko, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear Heather,
thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. Thank you for pointing out specific stuff that will help future guests and also us. We will do our best to improve the quality of our services.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for 4 nights in May whilst i was visiting Ljubljana.

The hotel is in a great location, with the old town 10-15 minutes walk and the bus station the same, there is also a cafe next door. the only problem is that Hotel Meksiko is also right next to a hospital so can get a little noisy.

The hotel is very clean, modern with nice sized room and friendly staff, there is also a lift and vending machines.

The room was a good size, very clean and had a comfortable bed.

I would recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank fulham1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeksikoTeam, Reception at Hotel Meksiko, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear Fulham1987,
thank you for your feedback and a review, we are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you enjoyed Ljubljana as well.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

Hotel Meksiko is located near the train station as well as a bus station which provides transport to various destinations in and around Slovenia. It it just a 10 mins walk to the city centre and the area is also great. Even though it is located immediate next to a hospital,you are not troubled with the constant "ambulance wails" as you may think. There is hardly any noise at all.
The rooms are very spacious and the bathroom is also spacious and clean. They also provide you with a complimentary bottle of water.
The staff was extremely helpful and well versed in English. On our last day, we were to check out early making us miss breakfast but on request the hotel arranged lunch packs for us to take which was great.

An improvement I would like to mention would be breakfast service. The spread should be varied a bit but other than that all is great. And yeah- there is a small supermarket just below the hotel which has water bottles as well as satisfies your last minute food cravings!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank sharu22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeksikoTeam, Reception at Hotel Meksiko, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear Sharu22,
thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again some day in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

I arrived at Zelezniska postaja Ljubljana / railway station in Ljubljana , Slovenia from Wien Hauptbahnhof on 03rd October 2016 in the afternoon.

In front of the train station, there was a kiosk called Avtobusna Postaja Ljubljana bus station where you could buy various bus tickets to places in Slovenia and across Europe.

There, I bought the Urbana card for 2 euro plus 3.60 euro for 3 trips each for 90 minutes.
You could use this card to pay for the funicular ride to reach the Ljubljana Castle uphill. The return ticket price of the funicular ride was 4 euro.

Then, I walked a few steps to ' Kolodvor ' bus stop nearby the station to wait for Bus no. 9.

The bus trip took less than 5 minutes to reach ' Poliklinika ' bus stop which was nearby Hotel Meksiko.

The hotel was small but the room was clean and suitable for a solo traveller.

Breakfast was held at a small cafe next door of the hotel.

There was also ' Hofer Supermarket ' nearby the hotel to buy drinking water bottles.

The fastest walking path from the hotel to Preseren Square , where you could join the classic city free tour held by The Ljubljana Free Tour , was through ' Trubarjeva Cesta ' street for approximately 15 minutes.

In fact , you could walk to various main attractions in the historic capital city of Slovenia from the hotel.

At the end of the stay, I had to pay for the tourist tax which was 1.27 euro / night.

The check- in and out of the hotel was efficient and swift and the staff was professional and fluent in English.

Overall, I had a good stay in the hotel and would recommend it to solo travellers.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank AudreyRumamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeksikoTeam, Reception at Hotel Meksiko, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Dear Audrey Rumamby.

Thank you for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We try to do everything to satisfy our guests.

Hope to see you again on your next visit to Ljubljana.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews