We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (911)
Filter reviews
911 results
Traveller rating
238
443
175
39
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
443
175
39
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location sister hotel old town train station the main square triple bridge reception staff are bit dated grand union hot and cold food bed was comfortable few minutes walk short stay good size the air conditioning business hotel per night
Filter
Updating list...
299 - 304 of 911 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2016

I selected this hotel, since it was near both the bus and train stations. It took just 3 minutes to walk there and was very easy to find. It was also very easy to walk from the hotel to the main tourist area of the city. All of the reception staff were pleasant. The breakfast was nice. The rooms were a little small, but this is typical for European hotel rooms. The hotel rooms themselves could use an upgrade in the near future, but they weren't terrible. The bed was comfortable enough, and the bathroom was roomy enough.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Melis42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union_Hoteli_Team, Front Office Manager at Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Dear Melis42,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your highly appreciated feedback. We are delighted to hear how highly you appreciate the hotel’s central location and nice breakfast buffet. I would like to thank you for noticing our pleasant reception stuff they are trying hard to make you feel welcome at the Central Hotel.
We sincerely regret we have not fulfilled your expectation with the room. We appreciate your comments on this it shows were we have to take action for the future. In the meantime, we will do our best to keep improving our services.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to have the possibility to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

With best regards,
Rok Papež
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016

We were pleased with our stay at central hotel. The location is good. The staff spoke good english. If you are a guest of central hotel, you have free access to a gym in a nearby hotel (ask at reception). Breakfast was good too. We had a spacious room with a sofa and a balcony. The only downside was that our balcony was connected to a public balcony and there was a man walking outside our window at one point. We didn't dare to have the windows open during the night time because of this.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MalinEOlsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union_Hoteli_Team, Front Office Manager at Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Dear MalinEOlsson,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your highly appreciated feedback. It is lovely to hear how much you were pleased with your stay, good location, good English speaking stuff, good breakfast buffet and a spacious room.
All our guests are welcome to use the gym, sauna and swimming pool for free at the sister hotel the Grand Hotel Union Business.

We are sorry to hear that you were not comfortable opening the windows during the night. The balcony is only accessible for hotel guests. Some guests use the balcony in front of their room for a cigarette.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back again on the occasion of your next visit to Ljubljana.

Kind regards,
Rok Papež
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016

Having visited Slovenia last year and not having time to visit the city, we decided on 2 nights there this year, before travelling on up to the Alps.

We chose the Central Hotel because of its affordability and it is, as its name, very central for the city - only 5 to 10 minutes walk to the beautiful city centre. The hotel exceeded our expectations on both counts.

We had already booked a taxi to collect us from the airport and take us there, but I believe the train and bus station is only a few minutes walk away.

The staff were lovely throughout our stay, very friendly and accommodating, and also English speaking which was a relief. The room was spacious and comfortable and only lacking (expected in most hotels) was a tea tray/kettle to make a cuppa. This was delivered to our room (on the 3rd floor) within minutes of asking and had everything we needed. I would agree with other reviews in that the rooms would benefit from updating a little, especially the bathrooms. Having said that, everything worked fine, the shower was good, the bathroom clean, bed comfortable, etc. We slept very well.

A fantastic breakfast buffet was served. Everything you could imagine for breakfast, frequently refreshed and tidied and was available for a good stretch of time so we didn't feel rushed.

At the end of our stay, having to vacate the room by noon and our onward journey not commencing until later in the afternoon, the staff were happy to look after our suitcases until later in the afternoon.

Overall, excellent value for money. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend to friends or family.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twistedsister61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union_Hoteli_Team, Front Office Manager at Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Dear twistedsister61,

Sincere thanks for your splendid comments regarding your recent stay at the Central hotel and for your recommendation to the travel community. We are pleased to see that we were able to meet your needs and expectations and even exited them too. Thank you weary much for your very kind comments regarding our great central location, spacious and comfortable room, fantastic breakfast buffet with everything you could imagine for breakfast. Thank you weary much for noticing our friendly and accommodating English speaking stuff they truly are the hart of our hotel.
We appreciate your comments weary much and we are aware that Central hotel is in need of some updates which we are highly considering. In the meantime, we will do our best to keep improving our services.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to have the possibility of welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Rok Papež
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016

The hotel is within easy walking distance to the city center where most of the tourist attractions are located. Room was modern and more than adequate. Paid parking is on site, though a bit costly. Staff was helpful when needed.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bobtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union_Hoteli_Team, Front Office Manager at Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Dear bobtraveling,

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review of your stay at the Central Hotel. We are delighted to see how highly you appreciate the hotel’s location, modern and adequate room, parking on site and helpful staff.

Please take in to consideration that offered garage parking is located in the very centre of Ljubljana and a secured one. The price is very competitive to other parking garages in the city centre.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Central Hotel on your next visit to Ljubljana.

Kind regards,
Rok Papež
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

Really nice atendants, great breakfast and localization. I realky recommend. Wifi is free but has a weak signal but you can use with no problems. Good rooms and minibar. Nearby the main atraccions................

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Vini M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union_Hoteli_Team, Front Office Manager at Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Dear Vini M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review of your stay at Central Hotel.
We are delighted to hear how highly you appreciate our services, attentive hotel staff, great breakfast, good room and mini bar. We agree that we are located centrally what gives our guests the opportunity to explore Ljubljana’s beautiful sights.

We sincerely regret we have not fulfilled your expectation on the Wi-Fi signal. The system is still offering enough internet connection speed even in lover signal range. We appreciate your comments on this it shows to us were we have to take action. In the meantime, we will do our best to keep improving our services.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Central Hotel in the near future.

With best regards,
Rok Papež
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews