We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay in Ljubljana”
Review of Hotel Cubo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cubo
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I booked Hotel Cubo by pure chance on the internet, little did I know I am in for a rather nice surprise! Taking into account the price, location, services, food etc, this was arguably one of the best boutique hotel I've stayed in, EVER. To begin with, the hotel location itself is a plus point, being within 5 minutes walking distance to the old city.

When we arrivd from Bled, we were told that our room bookings were messed up and only 1 night was registered instead of 2. The hotel manager was extremely apologetic, immediately arranged for us to stay in another 5 star hotel, at the original rate we expected and our room in Cubo for the next night was compliementary with an upgrade! All the staff were friendly, professional and showed great enthusiasim in making sure you are well taken care of.

The room we were allocated was, as the pictures shown very modern, stylish and spacious. Free mini-bar and wi-fi adds to the perks. Breakfast was very good, with fresh fruits and mini canape-like bites. We also had dinner at the hotel, which I have to say has a higher standard than most of hotel restaurants. The desserts were divine, make sure you try some of them even if you don't end up having dinner in the restaurant.

Overall, I am very glad I choose Hotel Cubo for my trip to Ljubljana. The city itself was wonderful but the fact that we stayed in Cubo made our trip that much lovelier. I would highly recommend Hotel Cubo!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluestar428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

851 - 855 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2011

This was the best hotel we stayed in in Euorope for an 8 week trip. It was spacious, clean and luxurious and they went the extra mileto ensure a great stay organising a specialrogram so my husband could watch the rugby worldcup. They realky cared about their guests. Wonderful customer service, great breakfast, really lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Passionatehawker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

This new hotel is located on one of the main streets of the city and very close to the old city center and with a view on the castle.
The staff was very friendly and professional. The rooms are very stylish and with all the comfort you need. The mini bar is free and so is the WiFi.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romain_schepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Very good location, good design and very friendly service! The rooms are not huge but clean and comfortable, with a nice transition between bathroom and bedroom (in my room there was a kind of alcove-sofa, very cool). Breakfast is good, although it would benefit from freshly squeezed juices... I have tried several hotels in Ljubljana, this is without doubts the best sofar!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Italian_in_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matevz, Manager at Hotel Cubo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are sorry that you missed fresh juices - they are available upon request (free of charge) but it is missing on the table menu (which we will correct when we redesign the breakfast in the near future).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Stayed here during a business trip to Slovenia. I really enjoyed my stay in this contemprary hotel which has only been running service for a couple of months.

Breakfast was excellent, the wireless wasn't really working for my needs. It didn't support VPN tunnels wich is essential for me and most business travellers. Surfing the net worked like a charm. No problem since there are a lot of bars/cafés offering free wifi in the town.

The personnel were alwasy willing to help and discrete. They liked their new hotel, and did everything possible to get me and other customers satisfied.

I had a room towards the street and it's very well insulated. You here it's a street outside but not disturbing.

I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haba_tsutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matevz, Manager at Hotel Cubo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

We have checked the issue of VPN tunnels with our IT. We do not in any way prevent or limit opening of VPN channels in our WiFi, so it must have been a problem elsewhere. If you encounter the same problem during your next visit, please let us know and we will sort it out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,784 reviews
6.5 km away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 31 in Ljubljana
285 reviews
2.3 km away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
InterContinental Ljubljana
InterContinental Ljubljana
#18 of 31 in Ljubljana
51 reviews
0.3 km away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#14 of 31 in Ljubljana
353 reviews
0.7 km away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#9 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cubo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cubo

Address: Slovenska cesta 15 | Slovenska Cesta 15, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range: €118 - €215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cubo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cubo is located in the centre of Slovenian capital Ljubljana, right opposite to the traffic free historical centre, within walking distance from the most important sightseeing sites and the shopping streets with lots of restaurants. It offers 26 modern rooms (2 Junior suites, 14 double rooms with one king bed, 7 twin rooms, 3 single rooms). All rooms are luminous and decorated with particularly good taste in a warm contemporary style using only the highest quality materials and amnesties, such as prestigious bed linen by Rivola Carmignani and The White Company bathroom amenities. All rooms have double glazing, carpet, telephone (10 minutes free calls within EU) TV, air conditioning, heating, free safe, WiFi , minibar. Bathrooms have showers or bath tubs, hairdryers, bathrobes and slippers. In addition, it also offer conference facilities - 3 meeting rooms. After thorough renovation the refurbished building opened its doors again in 2011 as a design hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Cubo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing