We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (506)
Filter reviews
506 results
Traveller rating
238
158
52
38
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
158
52
38
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews music school music conservatory old palace jacuzzi bath two bedroom suite charming building old town sitting room the river rooms are huge pedestrian area the staff was friendly and helpful beautiful city inner courtyard top floor quiet street small hotel
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 506 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2018

We stayed here in early October. It's part of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group. The hotel is in an old palace so you have to be prepared for quirky European architecture, which I was. Our room was on the 2nd floor and it took a few turns and hallways to get there, but that is expected. There was an elevator so no dragging our bags upstairs. The room was very large with high ceilings, the remains of a beautiful old fresco on the ceiling, and a decent, old bathroom. The vanity could use some updating, but we had plenty of hot water and towels and it was clean. The weather was a bit dreary our first day, so we didn't get to sit outside in the lovely interior courtroom for our breakfast, but the indoor breakfast area is charming and the buffet breakfast was typically European with breads, yogurt, meats, cheese, fruits, and cereals. The front desk staff was very accommodating and helpful. They are happy to help with restaurant recommendations. The town center location couldn't have been better. We walked all over for two days and never felt too far from our hotel to pop back. If you drive you'll need to park about two blocks away, (under 20E, per day) but if you call before your arrival you can be let into the old town to drop your bags and then park your car. We had a lovely stay and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank chitownjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

The location is very convenient for walking, however, car and taxi are not allowed to pass this street. Room is big, but it has an old interior and furniture. Stayed in the ground floor, so i can hear people talking on the street.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Anggia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

This is definitely an historic palace, in a great location, but renovations only add so much. The place is a cut-up hodge podge of rooms and suites. We spent 3 nights and needed a map to get to our suite every time we came and went.

The renovations are lovely, BUT . . . the "attic suite with dormers" which was huge, was laid out strangely. A trip from the bedroom (where the dormer made half the bed unmanageable at night) to the bathroom required a map and a flashlight. We had to go up 2 stairs, across a platform, down 2 stairs, across the kitchen floor area, then up another stair to get to the bath -- where a marble corner stuck out from the shower area into the path to the toilet.

There was an 8-inch high floor beam that ran the length of the room between the kitchen/dining room and the living room -- and both had a large portion of the rooms un-navigable because of the slanted roof and dormers.

The staff were exceptionally accommodating, and breakfast was good (not great). And not much else worked yet -- the spa was closed (so no jacuzzi or sauna available), and the in-room massage was last-minute announced as an off-site substitute.

And last, but not least was the CONSTRUCTION NOISE that ran from 7:20 am till 5:00 pm daily. Supposedly this had been going on for more than a year, and no end was in site.

Hate to give this place a bad review, but it's just not up to 4-star standards, as was expected.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2TravelFarNWide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

We loved the location. And from the exterior it looks very quaint. And the staff was very nice and helpful! But that was about all we loved. To get to our room we had to follow a maze up and down stairs, a hallway, then an elevator, down another long hallway, walk outside along a long veranda, then through three doors to get to our room. It was large, that was good. But the bathroom was truly pitiful. Tiny sink, so we used the sink right by the entrance door (supposed to be a kitchen sink?). Toilet cord to flush was so short I could hardly reach it. And it was disgustingly dirty!! Ugh! The toilet was right in front of the entrance door with no door. I got up at about 2 am to use the toilet, and someone walked right in. I was scared to death and embarrassed. We only had hot water enough for one of us, so we had to work around that. We reported it, they came up, turned the sink faucet on, and said "see, you have hot water". Said he "adjusted" something. There was a huge window opposite the bathroom, with no shade. People could see right in. Bed was reasonably comfortable. Housekeeping did not make the bed, only threw the bedspread over the bed. So all the sheets and blankets were still a mess. The worst part of this place is the noise!! It started before 8 am, and was right outside our window. Windows would not close, so it doubled my annoyance. We did not have the breakfast, too expensive, so went around the corner to Le Petite Cafe. It was perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

This hotel looks lovely on the outside but was generally underwhelming. First, the hotel is doing construction which is loud and is being done at all hours (starting before 8am on a Saturday morning). The rooms, while spacious, are outdated and the shower looks like something out of hot tub Time machine (and didn’t even work). The spa is what is being renovated and therefore is not open and staff was unable to offer any alternatives. None of these facts were communicated prior to arrival or even when we did arrive (even though the price remained the same).

The lack of attention to the details was overwhelming. Some of the broken items for €300 a night could have easily been replaced such as the hot water kettle (missing the on button, not to mention it had old water sitting in it when we arrived), corkscrew without the corkscrew, the bathroom garbage(foot pedal was missing), and some were larger that you just expect to work at any hotel such as the shower (the overhead shower head didn’t work period and the hand shower was not adjustable to use without either aiming out of the shower or in your hand, ignoring the fact that the light above which didn’t work was completely rusted). A more minor issue is the lights, some of the bulbs in our room were out. The lights in the hallways are on sensors which is great, but they are so sensitive that I often ended up waiting in the dark as the lights only stayed on for at most 3 seconds before turning back off, again if this was a hostel I’d have no complaints but at €300 a night and claiming to be 4 stars it’s a bit of a surreal moment.

The service was generally lacking - the concierge/receptionist had somewhat of an attitude --when we asked how to operate the hot water kettle in our room she said she didn't know and if we couldn't figure it out ourselves we should just come downstairs and she would do it herself (??). I’m not sure if there was a translation issue (which is possible) or they were overwhelmed as she is the only person staffing the entire hotel. For a 4 star hotel you would expect a version of room service at a minimum but due to only having one employee this didn’t exist. As an aside, in a city where the WiFI in every cafe is excellent, the WiFi in the hotel was spotty - at best.

They were completely unhelpful in helping to navigate the city (when asked what do in Ljubljana on a rainy day, they said simply "I don't know"). When asked to make a spa reservation elsewhere they said they would and never followed up.

Overall our experience was pretty underwhelming. We stayed at other hotels in Ljubljana during our trip as well and this was supposed to be the nicest but was actually the worst of the bunch while being the most expensive. We very much enjoyed our stay at the Grand Union which had staff that bent over backwards helping us make reservations at restaurants and recommending other locations to go to including offering to help book our hotel stay for a trip we wanted to take outside the city. For the same money, just stay there. In addition to leaving my review here, I thought the issues we had warranted alerting hotel management as well as I can’t believe they would approve of the status quo if they knew of the numerous issues.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank bugzybuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews