We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
152
22
7
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
22
7
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel is beautiful set menu the owner rooms are spacious course dinner four courses slovenian wines french doors art deco boutique hotel bread julian alps views are stunning breakfast was amazing wonderful patio historic building comfy chairs
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

The ideal boutique hotel experience. The design throughout the hotel is impeccable and felt a bit like stepping into a dreamy wes Anderson movie. Every room is unique, heck the entire hotel is unique. The man at the desk (maybe owner?) Was wonderful and provided great suggestions. Breakfast was the best on our trip- absolutely delicious. If you are anywhere in the area make sure you stay here, you will love it.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank emilyenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Oh, we loved our stay at Dobra Vila. Absolutely charming inside and out with a days-gone-by grace to the whole experience. The hotel is spotlessly clean. Our rooms were large and lovely with great toiletries and stonking views to the mountains. The aircon was wonderfully quiet. Breakfast was healthy and delicious and we had good weather so could eat it on the terrace surrounded by the breathtaking views - marvellous. Dinner was no doubt the best place to eat in town and was wonderful also. The location couldn't be better, a short walk into town (be careful, parts of the walk have no pavement) but on the edges enough to be very tranquil. Good car parking on site. Only one downside, the wifi was really intermittent but considering where you are, it's hardly surprising.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chocarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

Everything about this hotel shines: the wooden floors polished to perfection, the windows through which the sunlight streams in. The hotel positively radiates warmth and hospitality.
Though impossibly sleek and stylish, it never lacks individuality and a homely feel. Rooms are spacious and quirky, not at all like a standard hotel room. All mods and cons provided, but with a lovely twist. Do ask for a room with balcony/terrace: it’s worth it.
Food is taken very seriously here: breakfast - in the garden or conservatory - is lovely, and the set menu with Slovenian wines is a culinary adventure.
Though this is a luxury hotel the atmosphere is far from stuffy: they don’t frown on sporty outfits (apart from dinner) and the staff is very friendly and efficient.
Oh, and did I mention the library? You almost hope for some bad weather so you can snuggle down in one of the comfy chairs with a book and a drink.
Finally, one small detail that sums up this place. In most hotels you are informed that check out is at a certain hour. Here they write: it would be very kind of you to vacate the room before 11am. That is what I call class.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Talkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

We spent two nights at the perfectly designed Vila Dobra and enjoyed the wonderful house and romantic garden. The room with terrace facing the garden had a beautifully designed bathroom. A gourmet dinner is served on the delightfully decorated terrace with spectacular views if weather permits. The hosts make feel you welcome and assist you with anything you may need.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank cinquecento65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018

We arrived to find out that our room - for which I had written confirmation and had contacted the hotel a few days prior to confirm - had been given away to someone else. The hotel manager/owner, Yuri (sp?), made a lame excuse about their booking system having messed up our reservation...apparently it showed us arriving two days earlier. He claimed that "this had never happened before" and couldn't understand how it had happened. Yet two facts contravene this claim: 1) when we didn't show for our supposed reservation two days earlier, we never received an email, call or notice of any kind from the hotel, nor did they charge our credit card for the no-show 2) speaking to some other locals in the hospitality industry, I was told that this hotel is KNOWN for over-booking...so CAVEAT EMPTOR!

Fortunately, we scrambled and found a replacement hotel, but with no help from Yuri et al. The only option they offered was a sub-standard place 20 minutes away.

I have no doubt that Hotel Dobra Vila is a lovely place to stay but overbooking like this, then blaming it on a fictitious "reservation error" is pretty sleezy.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank johnpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews