We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Superb value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #132 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Superb value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

A new-ish hotel but right in the very heart of Kazimierz with a location that cannot be beaten. Right from arrival to departure the staff were excellent with a good command of English and totally professional.
The room was ideal for a short break, with TV a small table and chairs with a very good bathroom and clean, comfortable beds. Room cleaning was thorough each day and was excellent value for money.
We cannot comment on the food as although the gentleman on reception had said that breakfast was included, our invoice from Expedia clearly stated it was not so we did not want to cause any confusion. I would recommend the "Moment" bar and restaurant next door which did a truly brilliant English breakfast for only 13NPZ, incredible. The hotel has it's restaurant but we never saw it occupied as it was not the most aesthetically pleasing given the surrounding competition.
All in all, a great value for money hotel that exceeded my expectations in all departments and one to which I would happily recommend and return to.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CraftyFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    104
    57
    17
    15
See reviews for
50
93
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

I have stayed at Astoria Hotel for 2 nights and I have found it a good deal. It is located in a not so pretty street and, at a first glance, would seem a little bit weared out and small. But the rooms are confortable and clean, people at the lobby are kind, the internet connection is enough to check mails and skype and is well located, close to the rail station (about 2.2km or a 10minutes cab, that costs about 6 Euro) and the main sightseeings in Krakow (castle and old town). They can also arrange a visit to Auschwitz camp, which costs about 30 euro (all included).
COnsidering the price x location, it was a good choice...

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leoufrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

We found the Astoria to be very average. The cleanliness however was of a very high standard and the beds were very comfy.
We felt that we could have found better for the price we paid.
The breakfast was one of the worst we have had abroad mainly due to the fact that none of the food was covered. We went in the dining room one morning to find flies on the dried up cheese and cold meats ! Yoghurts were warm etc, even the milk was left out in an uncovered jug.
We were intending using the sauna until we were informed that this would cost the equivalent of £5 per person and they required at least 1 hour notice .
We had rear rooms and it was very noisy late at night from the near by bars and very very noisy around 6-8am on market mornings as the stall holders were setting up right behind the hotel.
Reception staff were very helpful and friendly.
The Kazimierz district is very interesting and had some quirky bars and restaurants. There is a fab little chinese a few streets away called Dong A...dont be put off by the entrance etc...the food is superb and very cheap ie 3 main meals with rice and 3 large beers £12 !! had already been highly recommended to us and we werent disappointed.
We took the tram up to the old town. Would definitley stay nearer the old town should we visit again.
Used KrakowShuttle.com for our transfers to and from the airport and they were excellent.
Took the train from the main station to Auschwitz...£3.30 return..we got free entrance into the Auschwitz as we arrived after 3pm and did not require a tour guide. If you arrive between 10am-3pm it is compulsory to pay for a guided tour. ps on arrival at auschwitz station we took a taxi to the camp entrance. Taxis in Poland are much cheaper than in the uk.
Visited the Schindler factory...free admission on mondays.
Wawel castle and the cathedral are wonderful. The cafe at the castle is lovely and the prices are very good. My daughter and I ordered mushroom soup in a bread bun and it was huge and very tasty.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank racingqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

This is a lovely small hotel with every facility and a friendly staff situated in the Jewish quarter away from the hussle and bussle and yet within easy walking distance of all krakow attractions.Great food and a relaxing garden.We shall certainly return and can recommend with confidence.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesBrunel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2010

The hotel is in the Jewish quarter, which is rather run down, but quiet and safe. It is about a 15 minute walk from the main square. My husband and I are both 60+ but found it an easy walk to Wawel Hill and into the Square.
The exterior of the hotel is rather drab, as are the corridors in the hotel, but our room was a decent-enough size and clean. The beds comprised a bed base and Tempura-type mattress, with a very good quality duvet, and were surprisingly comfortable. The shower-room was a reasonable size, clean, and fresh towels were supplied daily. The usual toiletries were supplied.
There are no tea-making facilities in the rooms, but we took our own. You can't drink the water in the room, but bottled water is available from reception or nearby shop, as is milk etc.
We found the receptionists to be very pleasant and friendly, and they helped with our enquiries whenever they could.
The hotel has a garden bar, which wasn't open during our stay, and has an evening restaurant, but we didn't eat there.
Breakfast was more than adequate with plenty of tea and coffee, cereals, fruit, yoghurts,cheese, salads, meat, sausages and eggs and breads/toast.
Whilst in Krakow we took trips to Auschwitz-Birkenhau and the Salt Mines (with local tour companies)- both a must in our opinion, and spent an interesting day in the Castle and Cathedral. Concessions are available at the Castle, but make sure you have some sort of ID. There are numerous beautiful churches to visit. There is a music bar/restaurant on the corner opposite the hotel, and a very good Argentinian steak house a few doors down. We also found a very good Mexican restaurant a couple of streets away. Prices are very good for food and drink. Local transport is also cheap - we used a mini-bus and tram to get from the airport, and the tram and train to get back.
If you are looking for a reasonable hotel in a quiet location then this hotel is more than adequate. I would recommend to friends, but would point out that it is fairly basic.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraH1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#50 of 258 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Kazimierz
Spatz Aparthotel
Spatz Aparthotel
#37 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Kazimierz
Hotel Kazimierz
#66 of 258 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Karmel Hotel
Karmel Hotel
#135 of 258 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Kazimierz
Tournet
Tournet
#84 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Kazimierz
David Boutique Hotel
David Boutique Hotel
#70 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: ul. Jozefa 24, Krakow 31-056, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Budget Places so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing