We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveller rating
244
157
44
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
157
44
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoldest hotelthe main squareexcellent locationold townjacuzzi bathwalk in showerhigh ceilingsfitness roomstreet noiseside streetlovely hotellarge bathroomdesk staffnespresso machinei highly recommend this hoteltop floornoisy at night
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 459 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2017

OK this hotel certainly has some old world charm. The porter doorman dresses in tails and one could imagine him; with a baton in his hand conducting The Last Night of the Proms.

Breakfast was adequate, and only just that. We stuck to muesli and bread. We brought our own decaffeinated coffee and tea so only used the hotel's hot water. One morning we opted for fried eggs and bacon, mine was fine but the white's of Mama Mzee's eggs were still runny and the bacon was undercooked. She left it.

As stated we bring our own tea, coffee whitener and sweeteners. We noticed that there was no kettle in the room. I asked at reception if we could have a kettle. Ans = No. I told the reception guy that I sometimes wake up at 5 am and will make myself a cup of coffee whilst Mama Mzee carries on sleeping. His reply was if you want some hot water, ring room service! Oh yeah, I don't think Mama Mzee would welcome room service knocking on the door at 5.15am.

The room was a nice twin room size wise. However, there are no coat hooks. We nearly always wear hats and scarfs but there is nowhere to hang them. The shower was a one piece affair fixed to the wall so Mama Mzee could not wash her hair independently - most places in the world have showers with detachable shower head, not so Pod Rosa.

The bathroom washbasin was unbelieveable. It had an upside down ceramic toadstool about 10 inches across. The water could not be stored but just ran away. This made washing and shaving very difficult. There are no storage shelves in the bathroom, not even for the two sponges we take with us. The hotel provides two small 11 inch diameter metal stools within the bathroom to store items.

This was our sixth visit to Krakow. Previously we stayed in Kazimierz, we really shouldn't have broken the habit.

We will NOT stay there again, unless they were to rectify the shortcomings, which I think is very unlikely indeed.

Room Tip: If you want a kettle - bring your own!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mzungu_Mzee_Sana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malgorzata_Godzik, Dyrektor generalny at Hotel Pod Roza, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Dear Guests, thank you very much for choosing Pod Różą Hotel for your stay in Kraków. Thank you for all your comments. We will do our best to improve our services. I hope you will give us another chance and visit us again in the future. Kind regards, Małgorzata Godzik-Kęsek, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Perfect spot in Kraków, old town. Unfortunately we had to leave our tour bus behind and walk several blocks to the hotel due to the narrow streets. Good news was our luggage was delivered by smaller vehicles. Our room was overlooking the street, but we were not bothered by street noise. The room was comfortable, clean and had a nice jetted bathtub with a shower. The breakfast buffet was adequate (not outstanding) and as others noted we found the nespresso coffee service not to our liking. We enjoyed this small hotel.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank PennsylvaniaPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malgorzata_Godzik, Dyrektor generalny at Hotel Pod Roza, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear Guests, thank you very much for choosing Pod Różą Hotel for your stay in Kraków. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We invite you to our hotel in the future. Kind regards, Małgorzata Godzik-Kęsek, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

We were delighted to find that our group of 3 couples were upgraded to suites and the rooms were all beautiful. Location is superb and although we had some problems with the electrics in our room these issues were quickly resolved. Breakfasts were brilliant - everything from omelettes and buffet style pastries and fruits - we thought it was great value for money and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the main room were a little noisy.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malgorzata_Godzik, Dyrektor generalny at Hotel Pod Roza, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear Guests, thank you very much for taking your time to write your comments. We are glad to read your review. We invite you to Pod Różą Hotel in the future. Kind regards, Małgorzata Godzik-Kęsek, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

I couldn't fault our stay in this hotel. The reception staff and restaurant staff at breakfast couldn't have been better.
Loved the heated floor in the bathroom. Mini bar prices Very reasonable. The location of this hotel is where it stands out from the rest. You walk out the front door and Voila everything you want is on your doorstep

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Martydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malgorzata_Godzik, Dyrektor generalny at Hotel Pod Roza, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear Guests, thank you! I am proud of the Staff. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. hope to meet you again, very soon. Best regards, Małgorzata Godzik-Kęsek, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Pick up from the hotel could be better ! My friend was not picked up and had to take a taxi at 22.30 and she is 80 years old my driver came straight from the field! Rooms are clean bud basic ,breakfast was oke , the location is great in the middle of the old town steps a way from the old square. The street is quiet busy at evenings ? Lots of prostitutes and drunken people around , anyhow Kraków is a nice place

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DannyR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malgorzata_Godzik, Dyrektor generalny at Hotel Pod Roza, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear Guests, Thank you very much for your stay at the Pod Różą Hotel. Thank you for your comments. We invite you to our hotel in the future. Best regards, Małgorzata Godzik-Kęsek, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews