We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pod Temidą”
Review of Bar Mleczny

Bar Mleczny
Get food delivered
Ranked #39 of 119 Quick Bites in Krakow
Cuisines: Polish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Stare Miasto
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This was quite an experience and one not to be scoffed at. Very basic surroundings but very tasty food on offer at incredibly cheap prices! Step back in time to how it used to be in Poland and experience a milk bar for yourself. I really can't fault it for a quick and cheap meal.

Date of visit: June 2013
2  Thank StewpotLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 207 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2013

This Milk Bar is a treat on a visit to Krakow. It's menu is basic and very cheap but that's all part of the attraction. These Milk Bars were very much a part of life in Communist times so by visiting you're getting some sense of life back then. The staff here were very friendly and obliging and were delighted with the small tip they received.

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank FinbarrG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We were looking for authentic polish food in Krakow... And there is no where else better that this canteen style milk bar. There is an English translated menu on the wall as you enter on your left but the people at the counter know enough English to get you by. Best time to go just to try out is mid afternoon when the crowds clear out. We had the zurek with egg - sour rye soup with egg, and bits of meat - beet root soup, just to try. Very good. Had a piece of the sernik ... Soft cheese center custard like cake with flakes of coconut and sugar on top. Very good. Food was cheap. They also do take away and the last order is 8. Note that this is not your typical cafe or restaurant. It's self service. When you are done, leave your trays at designated shelves... Just watch what the locals do. Rating is based on great tasting food and value for money!

Date of visit: May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank SG_Travelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I went a bit of a pierogi milk bar crawl one day and stopped by this place, it's quite funny because as you go in tourists are all gazing at the huge menu on the wall in Polish wondering what to have.
I knew what I wanted Pierogi z miesem (dumplings with meat).
I placed my order sat down for about 2 minutes, the shout went out from the counter PIEROGI Z MIESEM!
The filling was delicious and the dough was really nice and light, topped with fried onions and a huge portion, by the time I got to the last 2, I was really struggling.
Less than £2 I think, fantastic little place and really clean.

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank newbiggin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This is a traditional milk bar restaurant. It is cafeteria style: you order from a menu hanging on the wall, put your food on a tray and sit down to eat it. The food was surprisingly good considering how cheap it was. I had the cabbage rolls with mushrooms and they were the beat I had in Poland. On the negative side, two homeless people kept entering the restaurant to harass the diners and eat the leftovers on the trays which made the meal far from enjoyable. Still, it certainly was worth trying this restaurant while in Krakow.

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TorontoMusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Bar Mleczny also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Bar Mleczny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.