We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food - out of the way a bit and very quiet”
Review of Zielona Kuchnia

Zielona Kuchnia
Ranked #2 of 1,502 Restaurants in Krakow
Price range: US$4 - US$18
Cuisines: Contemporary, Fusion, Healthy, Polish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We care for your health and carefully choose the ingredients for the dishes we prepare for you. Here at ZIELONA KUCHNIA you will find only the green cuisine, just as our name suggests. We only serve the finest selection of vegetables, fruit, organic meat, grain products and so much more. Our location may be new but the building itself, right on the courtyard of the council house nr 8, is over 100 years old.We were simply charmed by the wonderful atmosphere, the beauty and the long history of this place.The building was erected around 1908 and was destined to hold a blacksmith and locksmith business. After the First World War a local print shop was open here for years, and all of Chopin’s works were printed here for the first time in history. Today it is a great place for having a cosy get-together and enjoying yourself in great company.
Surrey
Level Contributor
137 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely food - out of the way a bit and very quiet”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We eventually found this restaurant having booked a table online before travelling - based on Trip Advisor reviews. We were staying in the Main Square so it was about a 20 minute walk, and a bit difficult to find.

However the food and service was excellent. I would fully recommend a visit to this lovely clean restaurant. My only disappointment was that there was only one other table with customers when we arrved and they left shortly after. So consequently we were the only people in the restauarant for most of our meal, no-one else turned up while we were there.

Excellent value for money and great service - give it a go, if you get a chance.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank justlovemyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    693
    150
    42
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Very Good Food & Atmosphere, Good for Vegetarians”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This restaurant is a bit out of the way, but we had a really nice meal there. I am a vegetarian, and we found some wonderful food there. This isn't always easy to do in Europe, which relies heavily on meat. The atmosphere is trendy, and the restaurant is clean. I felt the prices were incredibly fair for the caliber of food and trendy atmosphere. (Earlier in the day, we paid more at the far less special Hard Rock Cafe)

The only odd thing was that they only played three songs on repeat. By the end of the meal, we could sing along and predict which one was next. This was strange and a little annoying.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Meal of 2 x 3 fairly small Tiger prawns with salad, Goose breast x1 and a Fillet Steak (listed as Sirloin steak on the menu) and a cheeseplate with honey & cranberry dip for two plus apertifs(Rose), a bottle of Chilean Cab Sauvignon, two brandies (Greek!!, they had no Cognac) and complimentary glasses of Wisniowka set us back £57. Unbelievable value.
OK, the Chilean wine was good, no better and the Fillet steak was accompanied by chilled rice which was not a good choice whilst the risotto served with the prawns had a distinctly medicinal tang which we never bottomed. Overall though a decent meal with good service in a restaurant with simple decor and very good linen.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Natali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
155 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good food at Good prices”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I was the only one in the entire restaurant for a while before 2 other groups came in. The waiter received me warmly and was very professional in his service.

Ordered stuffed chicken with spinach topped with garlic sauce. That cost me around 7 Euros, an extremely reasonable price I felt for such quality food. They serve French portions, which to me is lovely because it means you don't overeat and feel stuffed. For desserts, I ordered hot lava choc cake (LOVELY!) and that cost 3Euros.

Together with tips and still water, the entire bill came up tyo 60Pln, about 12Euros. Toilet was SO clean and amazing too. Decor was superb. Overall experience very rewarding.

10 mins walk away from old town shouldnt stop you from visiting this place. Superb~!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thepetitvoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well hidden, but certainly worth finding!!”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

My wife & I ate here twice during our 4-night stay in Krakow. We arrived at our apartment (Cracowdays), at about 9pm, so the fact that it was straight across the street made it all the more attractive. We also received a 10% discount when we mentioned where we were staying.

The restaurant is through a passage that leads to an open courtyard which is probably a lovely place to eat in the summer. The welcome is warm and the the restaurant is spotless and tastefully decorated.

On our first visit, my wife had the Cream of zucchini and green pea soup & the duck salad, while I had the mushroom soup & the Chicken fillet with spinach and garlic stuffing. With a bottle of decent wine, the total was just over £30! The sirloin and asparagus soup on our second visit was equally as good.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boxerdog1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zielona Kuchnia also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Zielona Kuchnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing