We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels, where we have been”
Review of Podewils Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Podewils Hotel
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Lohja
2 reviews
“One of the best hotels, where we have been”
Reviewed 20 June 2011

very nice hotel with excellent location. personnel was very helpful and breakfas was tasteful and plentiful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank podewils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    44
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
34
203
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We chose this hotel because it was rated as 5* and a good price. We were not disappointed. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel had loads of character and the food was excellent. The only disappointing aspect was the bathroom - no bath tub, just a massage shower which appeared excellent on first glance but splashed water all over the bathroom!
Nevertheless, I would highly recommend this small, bijou hotel.

Room Tip: Only 9 rooms and all appeared lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueMorrisSRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Words elude me when I think of my stay in this lovely little boutique hotel. Each superlative seems inadequate. Its location is absolutely superb overlooking the river toward the old city. The rooms are comfortable, immaculate and spacious, as well as beautifully appointed. The staff is attentive and competent. The breakfasts were to die for - I ate way too much. And the restaurant was tiny but had a great wine selection and the small selection of food was superb. I am usually pretty picky, but I am unable to find anything negative to say about this hotel. It has no elevator because Poles cannot alter buildings that are older than a certain age to install elevators but there are staff members who will quickly get your bags to your room. There is no business center, but there is WiFi.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wandaMPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Second stay at this hotel, everything excellent.
Charming atmospher, good breakfast, room with a nice view, excellent service.
Only bad thing is that the small ferry to the city center does not run in the evenings.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolf92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Albany, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

My wife, 13 year old son and I spent three very pleasant nights at the Hotel Podewils in July, 2010. I recommend the hotel.

We reserved two double rooms, which shared a common entrance to a foyer, and then each had its own door. So, with the foyer door closed, and the room doors open, we in effect had a two bedroom space.

This is charming small hotel, located across the river from the heart of the historic center. The views to the historic town were terrific. Our room was decorated in a classic style, with a comfortable bed, a desk and a couple easy chairs for reading. The linens and bedding were first class. It was very warm on our first two nights, and the air conditioning in both rooms worked splendidly (note that the public areas of the hotel do not have air conditioning). The location was very quiet.

The walk to the historic old town was perhaps 10 to 15 minutes – mostly along new construction (hotels, condos, and the like). I perceive that this side of the river has become trendy and more expensive, and thus hotel had a bit “for sale” sign on it. In talking with hotel staff, apparently the hotel has been for sale for some time – and there was nothing that seemed impact our stay in any adverse manner.

The price for lodging was modest in comparison to the other hotels during our stay. Breakfast was reasonably good. We had dinner one night, and the food then was decent, not great.

There very likely are a whole lot more trendy places to stay in Gdansk, but I can’t fault the Podewils in any way. If you are looking for a quiet, reasonably priced and very comfortable hotel in Gdansk, stay here.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrrvilleRedRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
0.3 km away
Hilton Gdansk
Hilton Gdansk
#4 of 84 in Gdansk
1,558 reviews
0.2 km away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#5 of 84 in Gdansk
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Q Hotel Grand Cru
Q Hotel Grand Cru
#12 of 84 in Gdansk
435 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
#10 of 84 in Gdansk
504 reviews
0.7 km away
Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podewils Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podewils Hotel

Property: Podewils Hotel
Address: Szafarnia 2, Gdansk 80-755, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gdansk
#16 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#18 Business Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:5 star — Podewils Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Podewils Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podewils Hotel Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing