We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
139
25
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
25
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmala stranawooden beamswelcome basketcharles bridgeprague castletram linebreakfast is servedstar customer serviceupstairs bedroomhistorical buildingsleeping areaold townfelt like homeno air conditioningnespresso machinelower floorprague hotels
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2017

This is a small hotel, basically just 10 suites of different size, on the 3rd flow of an old building right next to St Nicholas Church, in the middle of Malostranska Square. The 3rd floor was nicely redone, everything is new, yet you still see old wooden beams that remind you that you are in a historic building. Your windows face the busy square, but with 2 layers of glass, there is no noise when the windows are close - although there is a tram stop next to the building. The sleeping area in my suite was in the attic, just above the living area, with a small set of stairs. This was lovely and unusual - also a great thing if there are more than one person in the room with the different sleeping schedules. There are also small windows in the attic that make the sleeping compound well ventilated. It looks like there is no air conditioning, however, I was staying in the middle of July heat with 32C in the middle of the day and the lack of AC was not a major issue - opening windows in the evening was enough. The rooms are very clean and well-maintained.

A good benefit of the hotel is a small kitchen corner where you could heat food. There is a small range, a kettle, a fridge, and some choice of free food inside. Fridges are rare in this kind of hotel, it is really great - at least to keep your water cold. Even a welcome bottle of wine! There is no coffee machine in the room, but right outside you have a shared Nespresso machine that makes excellent espressos and lungos. This is available anytime as well as some fruits and pastries. This is also a place whether they bring food for breakfast - you take it and eat in your room. A reasonable choice of cheese, meat, bread, cereal, and vegetables also boiled eggs and yogurt. Basic, but just adequate.
Finally, you are 10 min away (or one tram stop) from a subway station Malostranska and next to a busy tram line - these trams could bring you almost anyware non-stop. I really liked all of that and it would be my top choice to stay next time in Prague.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuno S, Manager at The Nicholas Hotel Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Sylvanian,

The Nicholas Hotel is situated in the beautiful Rococo Style Gromling Palace, one of highlights of this art style in the City of Prague. Your description was detailed and wonderful. Gromling P. is also, a protected monument, thus with large restrictions to external add ons like AC machines on the outside.

We are glad that your stay was enjoyable and you got to make the most all the advantages of being located right in the heart of the City of Prague.

We are looking forward to the opportunity to provide you an excellent service in a near future.

Kind regards,
Nuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

We spent only one night with my wife in that gorgeous place.
From the beginning they treat you very nice and special.
Very warm welcome with hand writing welcome letter and welcome bottle of local wine.

Room itself very nice and cozy with view for Mala Strana and only 3 minutes walk from Charles Bridge.

Also what is not very common - free compliments like wine, beer, coke and snacks which also might be refilled when asked (free of charge).

Strongly recommend!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radovan F, Manager at The Nicholas Hotel Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thank you very much Michal! We love to read feedback like yours - it means the world to us.

You are always welcome to relax in our hotel and just enjoy life!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

Loved staying at this apartment. Staff at reception were fantastic and very welcoming. Room was cosy and perfect for us. Amazing views and the best location I've ever stayed in in Prague. Our only criticism would be the pillows are a bit mushy and flat. Also our loo roll wasn't replaced wasn't an issue though we grabbed some ourselves from a cupboard in the hall! I would definitely stay again

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank cgroov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radovan F, Manager at The Nicholas Hotel Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Dear Chloe,

Thank you for your kind words! I am personally very sorry for the toilet paper situation and we are very nicely surprised that you handle it on your own - thank you for that as well.

We would love to have you staying again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

This is a truly beautiful hotel that feels like home! The location is really good as it was only 10 minute walk from Prague castle and on the old part of town which is picture-perfect. The room was very clean and spacious. Staff were really nice and helpful! Having a kitchen was really useful too especially for long term stays. I loved the most the view from my room.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hadas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radovan F, Manager at The Nicholas Hotel Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thank you for your kind words! All our team members are super happy to hear about your satisfactory interactions.

You are always welcome in our hotel and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017

When visiting such a bucket list & picturesque city such as Prague, it only makes sense to fully immerse yourself, and that means sleeping right in the middle of the action. Looking out the window at the impressive blend of historical architecture you’ve dreamt about, stepping outside into the centre of the ambience and returning to sleep in the very same location you just explored.

The Breakfast is served in the main corridor and is buffet style from 8-11am. You are welcome to make a plate (or two) and bring back to your room to enjoy. You’ll find bottomless coffee, tea, and OJ along with a fine selection of meats, cheeses, cereals and jams. It’s as close to waking up at home as it gets, except someone else is handling all the brunt work.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in this historical building and would recommend it to anyone visiting Prague.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radovan F, Manager at The Nicholas Hotel Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thank you very much Shawn. We are very happy that we could help to fulfill your dream. We are as well happy that you have enjoyed our different style of breakfast. Please visit us once again! We are already looking forward to having you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews