We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,932)
Filter reviews
1,932 results
Traveller rating
1,710
165
34
19
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,710
165
34
19
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews american embassy complimentary wine and cheese charles bridge baroque style every evening junior suite steam room old town prague castle quiet street mala strana gorgeous hotel lesser town welcome drink the location is perfect four seasons loved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,932 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here 5 days and loved the Hotel and location. We did go down and visit the pool and spa, which looked great, but did not use it. The wine and cheese happy hour was really nice each day at 4. The glass of wine when we were checking in was nice. This is truly a classic, beautiful boutique hotel. It is not the Ritz, our room was beautifully appointed, but was not overly large. The people, the service and the ambiance made this the nicest hotel experience we ever had. Everything about security, because of the adjacent American Embassy, was true nut did not feel oppressive. The shortcut to the street that walked up hill to the castle, made walking downhill from the Castle a breeze. We loved our stay. It was a short walk over the Charles Bridge to Old Town and our new favorite Irish bar O’Che’s (read my review) . That being said I cannot imagine a nicer place to stay, we will be back.

Room Tip: Elevators are small, stay on the first floor and walk up the stairs (they will bring luggage to your room).
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dakota20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I wanted special gift for my mothers birthday and the hotel offers great special package which includes - welcome glass of Alchymist Sparkling Wine as well as cup of tea, refreshing exotic fruit plate, lending of fluffy bathrobes and towels
One hour relaxation in the Ecsotica Health Club, nestled in the Gothic cellar with a crystal chandelier hanging right above the pool featuring also sauna, steam room and gym, great 90 minutes massage of whole body and 3 course tasty menu of our choice from restaurant Menu prepared by awarded Chef including sommelier's selection of wine, mineral water, coffee or tea at the Aquarius Restaurant. We enjoyed it so much! Lovely live music in the restaurant.I can recommend this special afternoon to anyone who loves to be pampered.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andrea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel with an excellent location. Since we arrived, the service was extraordinary. As always, we did our research before traveling and we wanted to stay in this part of Prague instead of the old town center. The old center center was just 5 minutes walking from the hotel. When we arrived we told the concierge about a restaurant reservation that we had previously made for our first night in Prague. He told us that it was one of the restaurants that the hotel recommends. We asked for recommendations for the rest of the nights even though we had some restaurants in mind. We also asked for private tours and he provided us with a list of many things to do. The decoration in the hotel is unique and beautiful. Our room was kind of small but had a terrace. This hotel is very safe since it has the US Embassy right next to it. The breakfast, which was included, was amazing. The breakfast area transforms into a Michelin recommended restaurant at night. The service during breakfast had the quality of a 5 star hotel. The concierge helped us planned our tours. They also made recommendations for a couple of restaurants that we did not have in our list and all of them were excellent. My only criticism is that our room, # 118, was on top of the kitchen and we could smell the food since very early in the morning when breakfast was being prepared. Also, the room was very hot. There was no way to control the temperature. We had to sleep with the windows open which made it worst with all the smells coming from the kitchen. Notwithstanding these inconveniences, we loved this hotel. It also has a wonderful spa. After four days walking in cobble stones for many hours, my whole body was aching. I had an extraordinary massage in the spa. It offers many services which I’m sure I could have enjoyed if I had stayed longer. I will definitely stay here if I ever come back to Prague.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Nerylu F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

Just returned from 7 nights at the Alchymist Grant Hotel and have to reiterate what many have said here before. We booked a Junior Suite (214) which was very large and quiet as well. Nice bedding, beautiful bathroom and very spacious.Maid service twice a day kept everything clean and well stocked. Huge double wall closets in the foyer of the room kept all neat and tidy with plenty of room to spare.
Breakfast Buffet was nice , but never varied from day to day. Seeing potatoes and beans every morning got a bit disappointing, but the breads and coffee were always fresh. You also could order a la carte which changed things up a bit.
Having a well made cocktail before heading out for dinner was a treat, especially in the gorgeous decorated lobby, which had plenty of seating options. A large outdoor patio with lovely plants and flowers came equipped with comfy seating and warm blankets for the evening chill.
The front desk booked a day trip to Terezin with a very knowledgeable driver and guide who gave us incredible insight into the history of the camp. Also used the same driver, Tony, who took us to Cesky Krumlov for the day and had a tour of the castle. Well worth the price as opposed to trying to get there on our own.
The spa was beautiful and had an amazing massage there after a day of sightseeing. Prices were well below what they would have been in the States. The pool, while small, was a welcome change after a hot sauna.
Dinner in the restaurant was very nice...great risotto . The owner also owns a small Czech restaurant behind the hotel which had great beer, traditional food and warm atmosphere- we ate there twice.
While in Prague, we checked out the Four Seasons, the Mandarin and the Intercontinental just to compare and we are so glad we chose the Alchymist. If you're going to a unique city like Prague, why stay somewhere that could be anywhere in the U.S. The Alchymist Grand Hotel is like no other place and high praises go to the owner and all the staff which made our trip perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbeachcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

From the moment we stepped in till the time we bidded goodbye, the hospitality and warmth from the great staff of this hotel is just unsurpassed.

We were seated at the lounge and treated to lovely sparkling wine from the Alchymist vineyard while we waited to be checked in. The 1st day we arrived, we also enjoyed the free cheese and wine at 4-5pm.

Later when we were in the room, they sent us yet another 2016 Alchymist wine to be opened only in 2021.

When we ran out of soap, the lovely staff sent us Loccitane shampoo etc..we feel constantly pampered.

Every evening, Alchymist pralines await on our bed when we got back after a long day of walking.

We want to say what a great job yoy guys have done to make us feel absolutely welcomed, Katarina, Pavel and Nour. You are the reason we will be back.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews