We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!!!”
Review of Smetana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Smetana Hotel
Ranked #93 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We had a very comfortable and pleasant stay at Pachtuv which is a charming boutique hotel that's very well located and has an intimate and welcoming feel.

We asked to be picked up at the airport and we were happy to be chauffered in the hotel's Mercedes for 30€. We had pre-paid for a suite overlooking Charles Bridge and the Prague Castle. We felt very comfortable with the spacious room (55 m2) that was nicely decorated with a small kitchen and a TV room with a sofa, coffeetable and 2 armchairs.

Luxurious amenities: the complimentary espresso capsules, the free wi-fi and L'Occitane products. Excellent room service, it was the best club sandwich we had and we ordered it twice!

But most of all we loved the hotel's service. Such a patient and professional staff, they really go the extra mile to cater to your every whim!

At the check-out we had a small disagreement about the 10% fee they charged to book the tours. Although we later realized that it was written in the vouchers, we didn't pay attention when we signed those and they didn't mention it to us. Even so, they wanted to please us so they dropped the fee! Thank you so much for making our visit to Prague so delightful!

Highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tulipinha81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

790 - 794 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2012

Fantastic stay in the Executive Suite with balcony. Highlight was terrace view of river, castle, old town. Huge luxurious sitting room with espresso machine, welcome chocolates, TV. Beautiful bedroom. Good size bathroom. Location is wonderful, so close to Charles Bridge and Old Town. Front desk/concierge staff was great, gave good restaurant recommendations. Restaurant breakfast was ok, probably better if we'd arrived earlier. Only spent 1 night here, but it was a fairy tale. Wish we could’ve stayed longer!

Room Tip: Executive suite with balcony on Vltava River was picture perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzierosebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Spent a wonderful five nights at the Hotel. Our suite was stunning. Staff are very friendly and knowledgeable on the city. Breakfast was excellent. Location is perfect. Basically 100 meters from Charles bridge and close to Old Town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeddabl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Location is virtually next to the Charles Bridge, which makes it perfect for sightseeing. The hotel is an oasis of luxury and quiet in the crazy tourist town. We had a junior suite, which meant a lovely space with its own little table and chairs on the balcony facing the interior courtyard. We were initially disappointed not to have a river view, but there is a busy street between the hotel and river--not peaceful at all. The room was beautifully decorated with a crystal chandelier. There was turn down service, with chocolates. We had a little secret kitchen in a cupboard. And a huge canopy bed! The bathroom was marble loveliness, with a great tub. And a separate room for the toilet--nice touch. We ate a candle light meal on the patio, served by Amande, the great restaurant on site. Do the same. You will feel so spoiled!! The service is excellent! And so was the food! The only drawback--no included breakfast. The buffet was $30,00--forget that and just find a cafe. This hotel is a splurge but worth it!

Room Tip: Get a junior suite. It's worth the extra cost for the luxury and the little table and chairs o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Pachtuv Palace is a remodeled residence of a former nobleman. The elegance of this hotel definitely lived up to this heritage. The reception area is light-filled and renovated to resemble an art gallery with art works tastefully arranged throughout. I booked a junior suite through expedia and was immediately upgraded to a deluxe suite upon arrival by the friendly staff. The hotel is designed around 2 courtyards. The courtyards have paved cobblestone grounds with whitewashed exterior and ivies climbing along the walls. The suite I stayed in is located on the second floor overlooking the inner courtyard. The rooms are very large. With vaulted ceilings, chandeliers, large windows in every room, and sculpture in the bedroom, the suite is designed to convey a palatial ambience, and it’s successfully done. The staff is simply superb: very friendly, accommodating, courteous, and professional. The location of the hotel is ideal. It’s located just a stone’s throw away from Charles’ Bridge on the Old Town side. It’s the perfect central point from which to visit all the sites in Prague. It was a very memorable stay made perfect by a very engaging staff. I look forward to stay at Pachtuv Palace again the next time I visit Prague.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles60956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nové Město (New Town)
The Grand Mark Prague
The Grand Mark Prague
#44 of 646 in Prague
1,221 reviews
Staré Město (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Staré Město (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#34 of 646 in Prague
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Město (Old Town)
InterContinental Prague
InterContinental Prague
#98 of 646 in Prague
2,756 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#97 of 646 in Prague
3,384 reviews
Staré Město (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#58 of 646 in Prague
2,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smetana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smetana Hotel

Address: Karoliny Svetle 34, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Pachtuv Palace)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#46 Business Hotel in Prague
#59 Family Hotel in Prague
#82 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: €142 - €288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Smetana Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smetana Hotel (formerly Pachtuv Palace) is located in a prime location in the heart of the city and is closely linked with great names of the music world like Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, ancient and contemporary celebrities. Steps away from Charles Bridge, within easy walking distance to all major landmarks of the Prague. Pachtuv Palace provides an average room size of 65 sqm, fantastic views, air-conditioning, kitchenettes, free internet, fitness room, in-room massages and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Smetana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Prague
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing