We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Elegence”
Review of Smetana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Smetana Hotel
Ranked #92 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2012

If you are coming to Prague this hotel is perfect. Great location , right alongside the Charles Bridge and a 5 minure walk to Old Town Square. We were pleasantly surprised to get an email from the hotel a week before we arrived asking about our room requirements and also recommending travel options to get there . We were coming in by train after some 24hrs of travelling so decided to take advantage of the hotel limosine pick up at the Prague Station. All went flawlessly and a stress free end to a long day. The room , complete with a four poster bed, was large well appointed and a welcome oasis after long days walking around this wonderful city. If you are coming to Prague do yourself a favour and stay here.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank GraemeH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

802 - 806 of 1,499 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed for nearly a week in a suite with 1.5 bathrooms , galley kitchen and overlooking the river , Charles bridge and the castle. It was wonderful. The staff spoke English very well and were very helpful. Free wireless WiFi was installed while we were there for all the rooms.
We hired the hotel limo for a couple of day tours outside of Prague and the drivers were friendly and informative.
Although Prague is not known for its wines, we recommend Monarch ( wine bar) for the white wines and the rose made for the restaurant. It is tapas style , very relaxed and inexpensive.

Room Tip: 306 over looking the river and castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CKM1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This is as fine a hotel as you will find anywhere. Service, decor, overall quality, and attention to detail made our stay memorable. We travel a lot and I spent many years doing business in Europe so I do not impress easily. In the US, this would be an exclusive boutique hotel, except that the rooms are large by American standards. And, while not "budget priced" the rates are a real bargain for a 5-star hotel. There is no reason to pay more to stay anywhere else. I agree with the other reviewers about the great location and amazing view, but those are icing on the cake. This place would be my first choice in Prague even if it were located elsewhere.

Room Tip: The suites in front have the best view, but the ones in the back are quieter, overlook the beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gpinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Our initial impressions of Pachtuv (Mamaison) were fantastic - firstly, we were within a stone's throw of Charles Bridge (just across the road), we were upgraded to a suite on arrival and greeted with a glass of bubbles. The suite was enormous, and in a quiet location at the back of the hotel grounds, which has beautiful gardens and sculptures as you walk through to the suites. The restaurant was also great -delicious food and excellent service Great value for money and fantastic location.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bianca_b83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Get the right room (like 305 deluxe suite) and you've got the view everyone walks to the river side for. Eat at Mlynec (across the street) on the terrace and you've got that romantic chef prepared gourmet dinner. Great service, view, and food (save room for dessert). If you join the zatisigroup.cz online about a month before coming you should have your membership card that will offer a good savings. Have the hotel driver take you to the Prague opera house and then drop you at Rainer Maria Rilke for another fine dining experience. The ''vintage car tour'' is a sight seeing experience. Ala carte breakfast in hotel's Amade restaurant is superb and reasonable. Walk across the bridge, enjoy the sights and then a riverside dining experience from the other side at Kampka Park. Also, take the ''Venice boat trip'' right at the entrance to the bridge. The Pachtuv is a ''destination'' hotel; personable service, best views, location, amenities, classy spacious rooms, easy walking to the best places, and Mozart slept here!

Room Tip: corner suites with view of river and palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank herb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#32 of 646 in Prague
1,241 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The Grand Mark Prague
The Grand Mark Prague
#37 of 646 in Prague
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#88 of 646 in Prague
3,310 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#58 of 646 in Prague
2,432 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smetana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smetana Hotel

Address: Karoliny Svetle 34, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Pachtuv Palace)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#46 Business Hotel in Prague
#59 Family Hotel in Prague
#81 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: €126 - €396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Smetana Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smetana Hotel (formerly Pachtuv Palace) is located in a prime location in the heart of the city and is closely linked with great names of the music world like Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, ancient and contemporary celebrities. Steps away from Charles Bridge, within easy walking distance to all major landmarks of the Prague. Pachtuv Palace provides an average room size of 65 sqm, fantastic views, air-conditioning, kitchenettes, free internet, fitness room, in-room massages and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smetana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Prague
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing