We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Smetana Hotel
Ranked #93 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Highlights:
Great location within walking distance to pretty much everywhere we wanted to go.
Very helpful service.
upgraded to HUGE suite with L'Occitane bath products.
Surprise gift of champagne and ornament

Lowlights:
Really the only lowlight was the outside noise. I didn't want to take away a star but the noise was very disruptive at night. If you are not a light sleeper then this may not be a problem.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the back of the complex as our room backed up to an alley where drunken revelers woke u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

862 - 866 of 1,499 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

Really nice Hotel with its location near Charles Bridge. Would like to go back no doubt.
The Pachtuv Palace represent's the quality of respect to her customers.
In addition, one restaurant neaby named " Stoleti" (No. 21) makes your choice even worthy and pecfect.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teddybear C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Everything about the Pachtuv Palace was great. The email communication during the booking process was prompt and courteous. The location is beyond perfect. The staff at reception were consistently wonderful - at check-in, when booking concerts and during departure. Always helpful and pleasant.

We had booked a Junior Suite but at the time there were none available 'with a view', being the front of the hotel overlooking the river, castle and cathedral. A few days before departing we received an email advising us there was one available, providing us the opportunity to upgrade. But then upon arrival we were given a Deluxe Suite With View (room 305). It was spectacular - a corner room with windows to the side and the river, views of the cathedral and castle, and a live video stream and classical music playing on the TV. There is a separate bedroom with a nice bath/shower. The only thing that was less than excellent was the toilet, which is in yet another separate room - functional but small and a tad cramped. Very minor though.

We can't imagine a better location or view. This was pure luxury.

Prague is a beautiful city. Pachtuv Palace is a beautiful hotel, ideally located. We were extremely pleased with our choice.

PS we found a very nice cafe nearby, the Cafe Ebel where we enjoyed breakfast each morning (see separate review)

Room Tip: If you want to splurge Room 305 is a superb choice - with a spectacular view across the river and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NSMoosehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We think that this hotel has the best location in all of Prague. If you get a junior suite and above, you can get a reasonably priced room with a view of the Charles bridge and St. Vitus Cathedral. It is so breathtakingly beautiful that we sat in front of the window for hours. The junior suites are very large. The hotel is very charming. The staff are very helpful. Avoid eating breakfast at the hotel. It costs 25 Euros per person and it is definitely not worth it.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catlady88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Its hard to decide where to begin describing this wonderful hotel and staff. we celebrated there our 20th anniversary, they were very kind and helpful already by mail, answering all our questions, when we arrived they upgraded us to a suite and gave us the room right away even though it was still early. everything was suoperb! they treated us to champagne and decorated the room for us and put a nice heart warming greeting card congratulating us.
breakfast was wonderful too! and the staff all so nice and helpful and really made us feel at home.
the location and view from the majestic windows are just perfect. I cant waite to go back there and recommend it with all my heart.

Room Tip: its sure worth to pay a little extra for a room with a view. you see the river and tne castle and Ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ofra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#32 of 647 in Prague
1,235 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The Grand Mark Prague
The Grand Mark Prague
#39 of 647 in Prague
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#89 of 647 in Prague
3,308 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#57 of 647 in Prague
2,428 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smetana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smetana Hotel

Address: Karoliny Svetle 34, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Pachtuv Palace)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#46 Business Hotel in Prague
#82 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#82 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range: €128 - €410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Smetana Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smetana Hotel (formerly Pachtuv Palace) is located in a prime location in the heart of the city and is closely linked with great names of the music world like Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, ancient and contemporary celebrities. Steps away from Charles Bridge, within easy walking distance to all major landmarks of the Prague. Pachtuv Palace provides an average room size of 65 sqm, fantastic views, air-conditioning, kitchenettes, free internet, fitness room, in-room massages and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smetana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Prague
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing