We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great food!”

Estrella restaurant
Ranked #36 of 5,589 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$12
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
Reviewed 16 August 2017

The restaurant is rather small and usually crowded but it looks very homey and has a nice, rustic design to it.

I was there at lunch time so they had 3 main courses I think, some soups and one dessert. I don't mind a small menu because it means that everything is handled with care and has great quality.

I've ordered gnocchi which wasn't really gnocchi, they were dumpling with horseradish and spinach. It was really, really tasty with enough spice and flavour. It's not a huge portion, so can eat an appetiser or dessert and you won't be that full.
There is always a bottle of water on the table, free of charge.

I paid like 6 Euros for a main and a large lemonade, so it's definitely cheap!

The service is perfect, they are always friendly and welcoming and really happy when you leave a tip.

However it's kinda hard finding the restaurant so don't rely on your phone but rather ask someone who looks like a local.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (897)
There are newer reviews for Estrella restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 899 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017

Our last night in Prague and we found a cozy place out of the tourist mess. Only 8 tables at Estrella. Vegetarian food and interesting. I had spinach Spatzle with fried tempeh: great combination. This local version of gnocchi is also typical of Bavaria and I love it, I had tried it before in more traditional recipes.
Dessert was coconut milk panna cotta with mango sorbet. I am very fussy with panna cotta because usually it is prepared too heavy, but this was just perfect.

Thank basbusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Situated in a small side street in the centre of Prague, this cosy veggie place is worth seeking out. Quite a small selection of dishes but all very tasty & nicely presented. Choice of Czech craft beers very welcome too. Staff were very friendly. Highly recommended!

Thank mikeb74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beáta Š, Manažer komunikace s hosty at Estrella restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you, dear Mike,
for your recommendation and your time to review our restaurant.
Hope to see you again!
Best regards
Estrella team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Friendly service and delicious food! Nice atmosphere and good vegetarian options. Fast service so very suitable for lunch.






Thank Satu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beáta Š, Manažer komunikace s hosty at Estrella restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Satu,
thank you for your kind words!
I am glad you explored our cuisine and liked it!
We are sending you lots of regards!
Your Estrella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

My friends and I were very excited to see that there was a vegetarian restaurant in Prague, as we often find it very difficult to find somewhere with more than a couple of options for us to choose from. On the day that we had decided to visit Estrella, it happened to rain very heavily, but we were determined to get there. We walked for 15 minutes in the pouring rain only to be greeted by a very unfriendly waitress.
I asked for a table for four, to which she simply replied 'we don't have one'. I could see quite clearly a table for 3 quite close to where we were stood, and several empty chairs around the restaurant. I asked if she could possibly add one chair to the table of 3, which she reluctantly did.
As we were about to sit down, the waitress said something about it not being very comfortable. I thought she was meaning that we might not be comfortable, so I politely said that we wouldn't mind. She very sarcastically replied ' yeah, you don't mind'. I then realised she had meant that other guests would be uncomfortable. From looking around the nearby tables, this would not have been the case, there was plenty of room, it just may have been a bit of a squeeze for us at the smaller table.
We decided to let it go as it was still raining very heavily, but as I sat down, another waitress made a point of trying to squeeze around me and making an exasperated noise.
We decided to leave without ordering.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Josie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beáta Š, Manažer komunikace s hosty at Estrella restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Hello, dear Josie,
thank you for your detailed review.
I am sorry to hear that you had such unpleasant experience with our staff. I value your words and make sure this does not happen again.
Please, can you write me back which day exactly you decided to visit Estrella?
Thank you very much.
The whole Estrella team sends you lots of appologize.
We wish you a great day and hope that next time we´ll have a chance to correct our reputation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Estrella restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Estrella restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing