We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If more people knew about this place it would be bookings only!”

Kafe U ZeIenych Kamen
Ranked #6 of 347 Coffee & Tea in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$7
Cuisines: Fast food, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Hradčany & Letná
Description: Charming little cafe in the hearth of historic centre of Prague, 300 meters form Prague castle, serving best desserts in area with freshly roasted coffee. Also good spot for quick lunch and traditional czech beer. Lovely atmosphere, friendly staff. Welcome!
Reviewed 11 July 2017

A brilliant place a stone's throw down the hill from the castle. Despite being in a really touristy area, the price, the welcome and the general atmosphere didn't feel like it was trying to cash in on tourists in the slightest.

Really liked the main beer on offer- worth trying as it is from the most important area for growing Czech hops.

We had a business meeting there and it was a good place to get a bit of work done. The chocolate cake (which apparently had beer in it) was excellent and very moist.

The waitress was the friendliest I've met in Prague. She took the time to make sure that everything was to our liking, talked to me about local beer and generally made the place seem very welcome- it felt like we could have been regulars while it was actually our very first visit.

They have some really nice lunch deals and coffee and cake deals so check it out!

2  Thank AlexSwallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Owner at Kafe U ZeIenych Kamen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear Alex, thank you for your visit and such a pleasant review! Hope to see you sometimes again. Have a lovely summer.

the green stove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2017

This is a fantastic little cafe just a block or two away from the tourist craze that is Hradčany. We both ordered a tortilla wrap special (beer plus panini for 105 Kč). It was a light, but delicious lunch in a fun space, and we couldn't beat the price. Order the tortilla wrap that has pesto -- so delicious.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank idreamofdesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Owner at Kafe U ZeIenych Kamen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear customer, thank you for popping into our café and such a lovely review! Hope you have a great summer and fun too.

the green stove café

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

Didn't look very preposessing from the outside, however, very nice decor inside. Nice chilled out atmosphere, great prices and friendly barman! We are going to go back again!

Thank xyzLena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

We recently had a 4 night break in Prague and came across this cafe entirely by accident!
After visiting the castle & en route towards the monastery up the hill we were in need of refreshment on a chilly day. What a great find... this lovely welcoming cafe serves one of the best hot chocolates we have ever had..
We returned for lunch (beer & panini deal at 105 Kr) which was excellent... It has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and is deservedly popular.

The next day we did part 2 of the castle & found that the cafe does not open until 11am. Never mind, we waited and went for the coffee & cake deal.. Again, quite superb and tremendous value..

We know it as "The Green Stove" but whatever you call it this is a lovely cosy cafe with great coffee, friendly staff and excellent food...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank adrianwebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, Owner at Kafe U ZeIenych Kamen, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Thank you for coming, we are pleased to hear, that you have enjoyed our food, desserts and hot chocolate in our café.
Green Stove Café

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

In the castle you will pay 100czk for a bottle of coke, this excellent small cafe is less than 5 minutes walk from the main gates and you can get a coffee and cake for only 85czk or panini and beer for 105czk - highly recommended if you are in the area and want a rest from a long day of walking round Prague

Thank trickydicky-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kafe U ZeIenych Kamen also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Kafe U ZeIenych Kamen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing