We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing concert in the museum”
Review of National Museum

National Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$34.23*
and up
Prague Welcome Card
Ranked #187 of 934 things to do in Prague
Attraction details
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing concert in the museum”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

It was a concert in the big hall, sitting on the stairs in this lovely building was a real must do in Prague!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank F00dieamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    85
    70
    43
    34
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
326 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
“Old Museum closed for renovation; small exhibits in new museum”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We had visited Prague before and missed the National Museum and vowed to visit it next time. Sadly we find it had closed since our last visit for extensive renovations, which it clearly needs. We decided to examine the whole exterior of the fine magnificent building and could see the damage that time has wrought upon it, and it was clear it had to be closed for safety reasons, and will be some years before it can be open again. There is the occasional concert inside, and it was a pity we could not go to one to experience the inside of such a magnificent edifice.

We also went to the small exhibits in the adjacent new museum. Not as extensive as you'd expect from a national collection, and I suspect many visitors could fee cheated. We saw their exhibition on lepidoptera (Butterflies) and enjoyed it and felt educated. The displays were in Czech, as expected, but there were english translation cards.

The other exhibit that I learned from, was on antibiotics in conjunction with WHO. It appears that the Czech Republic is a reservoir of antibiotic resistant pathogens due to cultural abuse of antibiotics, and as a result a public education program is needed to reduce use of antibiotics for viral infections and other inappropriate conditions, and this exhibition was part of that media campaign. As a scientifically educated visitor I found this useful and interesting.

However, I was left with the feeling that a national museum could have, perhaps, put together some other impressive exhibits, even if only in portakabin!

I'll have to return when it reopens.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank alias_Ned_Flanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
236 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“I thought I was in Paris”
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Was able to get to the place but ended up taking pictures of the facade only because the museum is close since it is being renovated and will open in 5 years time! Good thing, the fountain infront is working.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Mannie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Absolutely rubbish”
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We went to the new museum, next to the old one as this is closed for refurbishing- there were only 2 exhibitions, both of which were absolute rubbish! we paid 60Kc to get in and it was definitely not worth this. The best part of the experience was getting to use the loo!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We couldn't visit the old building due to the reconstructions and we visited the new one next to that old one. We paid 60 czk per person and we get bored after a couple of minutes. It's not worthing. Maybe that old building is more interesting.

Helpful?
Thank Andreea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Museum also viewed

 

Been to National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing