We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sir Toby's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sir Toby's Hostel
Ranked #6 of 662 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Great character, classic building with antique furniture, nice basement bar, good atmosphere all around. Very helpful and knowledgeable staff plus good service (public transport passes for rent, for example). Location is not dead central, but good and quick connections by several tram lines, therefore still convenient. Only real point of critique we have is that some walls are apparently paper-thin, we could hear even whispered words from actually considerate neighbors. Earplugs recommended!

Room Tip: Surroundings are fairly quiet, and as far as we can tell, all rooms suffer from thin walls, so no pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    128
    25
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
76
147
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

DO NOT prepare yourself for a luxiourious room with lavish furniture, tv and whatnot. This hostel is exactly how a hostel should be. My girlfriend and I stayed here in the middle of a 5 week inter-rail around Europe. We stayed here for 3 nights and for me it was the best city and this, the best accomodation (we stayed in a 4* hotel in Florence with a rood top pool!).

The service at reception was A*, 10/10,1st class (however else you'd like to put it. The location was fabulous (just outside the centre in VERY easy reach via the metro system (the staff spent considerable time ensuring we understood how to access this bless them). The hostel, including rooms, had bundles of personality which made the stay very unique. The Bar downstairs helped ensure the atmosphere was fantastic and that we did not have to spend vast sums of money in the inner-city bars. A beer here was to my mind, around £1 (maybe just over!) - the same draught sold in my local for £3.90!

I've probably missed out tons but this place is the bees.

Room Tip: Unless you are REALLY fussy, the shared bathrooms will save you considerable money and did not affec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillMS777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

the best Hostel ever, excelent location, beds, breakfast, customized maps amazing!! a great great breakfast and an amazing kind of bar

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RmanagerAspenHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Enjoyed our stay in Prague considerably, this hostel is a very nice one with nice staff!

When booking we asked for a double room however when we got there we were given a twin room (Rudy Prabor). This room was extremely cold and we spent the first night freezing. The heating at Sir Toby's is suppoused to be eco friendly and so only comes on when there are people in the room however the temperature in the room never went up higher than 18.5 which at this time of year wasnt very nice. We told about 3 members of staff and by the next afternoon we were finally moved to another room (Morning Dew). This was a very lovely room on the top floor, this room was a lot warmer however the highest the temperature ever got was 23 and this was on the day we were leaving. I wouldnt normally complain but as it was so cold in Prague at the time it did impact our stay slightly to know that we were going back to a room that was cold and wouldnt warm up for an hour (according to one of the workers I asked).

Apart from this the hostel was lovely, staff are nice and have very good local knowledge. The bar and lounge area downstairs is lovely to chill in on an evening and a few nights we came back from a long day and played chess/draughts. The hostel and particularly the rooms are very very clean!

The other reviews are correct in saying that the hostel isnt right in the centre of Prague however its not that far either. You can get a 5 tram from the corner of the hostel straight into town it literally takes less than 10 minutes and I did not find this a hassle at all.This tram takes you straight into old town where alot of the attractions are or are walking distance from. There are a number of different trams from the corner of the hostel so anywhere you want to go is very easy!

I would definetly stay again as its very good value for money!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

The bathrooms have towel-warmers.
Sir Toby's is without a doubt the best hostel I have stayed in in Europe. Everything is on par with that of a 3-4 star hotel. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doubleknavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#63 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Praha 5
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
#187 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#11 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hostel Downtown
Hostel Downtown
#5 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Praha 7
PLUS Prague
PLUS Prague
#19 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Charles Bridge Economic Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Toby's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Toby's Hostel

Property: Sir Toby's Hostel
Address: Delnicka 1155/24, Prague 170 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 7
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 662 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Sir Toby's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A genuine hostel experience with unrivaled guest service! We love Prague and want you to love it too. With almost two whole floors of common space (including a full guest kitchen, garden with guest grill, basement Pub with drinks and board games, and a cozy reading room), you're sure to make new friends at Sir Toby's. Plus, we offer a wide variety of accommodation options to fit your budget and your preference. Sir Toby's offers the kind of personal attention and service that only come with experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sir Toby's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Toby`s Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing