We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“good hotel - shame about the staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Select Prague

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence Select Prague
Ranked #319 of 668 Hotels in Prague
Christchurch, Dorset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“good hotel - shame about the staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Value for money - rooms basic but spacious.
Room only cleaned once during our 4 night stay - and then we had to ask for it to be serviced.
Breakfast good apart from the first morning when we had to clear a table as they were all dirty and some things had run out.
We found the staff bordering on insolent at times. Example - when we checked out, we handed the key in and waited for the receptionist to confirm that we had prepaid and everything was o for us to leave. . She was on the computer and then just glanced up and said 'Did you want something?"
We have stayed all over the world, but have never encountered such staff anywhere else.Shame.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Kate_Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    137
    53
    14
    4
See reviews for
35
119
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
n.ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Hotel was basic but good value. Close to IP Pavlova tube station and 15 mins walk from Wenseslas Square. Good hotel if on a budget as there is a concealed kitchen with hob, fridge and pots etc so you can save on eating out. Very good breakfast with lots of variety and friendly staff

Room Tip: rooms at front on 2nd floor noisy but probably only with window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank thursdaygirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

Myself and my wife stayed here in April, we found the location good a 3 minute walk from il pavlova metro and 15 minutes from wencelles square. Room very spacious and includes kitchenette. We had a room facing the road but could not hear traffic we were on 4th floor

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Jonahict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights at the end of October. Hotel approx 10-15 minutes walk from the main town. Is situated on a busy main road so can be a bit noisy at night - our room was at the front so it was definitely noticeable. Hotel clean although our room was not made up on a couple of occasions - seemed to be a bit short staffed. Breakfast was basic but very good, very tasty pastries. Reception very helpful and free wifi to boot.

Room Tip: Request one at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank bazzer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We spent 4 nights in this hotel and we were very happy with our accomodation. The room was large and even had a small kitchenette in it which we used part of the time. The rooms were serviced well and we overlooked the courtyard which was lovely and quiet compared to the front bedrooms overlooking the main busy road.
Breakfast were as expected, continental choice of hams, cheeses, breads and pastries also boiled eggs and yoghurts etc and plenty of it. Suffice to say you could fill up at breakfast and would keep you going until late afternoon early evening for a main meal.
The whole of the hotel was kept clean and staff were helpful but espescially so was the receptionist Marianne, who guided us through the process of where to get tram tickets from etc.
Would certainly go back to the Residence Select.

Room Tip: Book a back room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank derbypair_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Tivoli Hotel Prague
Tivoli Hotel Prague
#247 of 668 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#180 of 668 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Praha 2
Prague Centre Superior
Prague Centre Superior
#467 of 668 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Pension Brezina
Pension Brezina
#343 of 668 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#297 of 668 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Prague Centre Plaza
#403 of 668 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Select Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Select Prague

Property: Residence Select Prague
Address: Sokolska 1801/34, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Select Prague 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Residence Select Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Select Prague Hotel Prague
Residence Select Hotel Prague
Prague Residence Select Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing