We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, friendly staff but food let it down”
Review of Galaxie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Galaxie
Ranked #514 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Stayed here for two nights as part of a coach tour. Good size rooms and a large refurbished bathroom. No air conditioning but the hotel do supply a tower fan in each bedroom. However this was not sufficient to keep the room cool on two warm days during our stay. A further fan was requested and supplied by the hotel staff who were all very helpul and friendly. The hotel rooms, reception, bar area and restaurant were clean and well maintained . Unfortunately what prompted me to score the hotel average was its food... or rather the lack of it. The food at breakfast and dinner was very limited in terms of quality, choice and quantity. I personally left each meal feeling very disappointed and hungry.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank NANDKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2016

This hotel is located in a suburban area and has nothing to commend it from the outside. Once inside things picked up with a modern foyer and reasonable sized rooms. Rooms have no air conditioning and are oppressively warm at night. I have never slept in a bed so hard before and on first trial I thought I had missed and landed on the floor. Otherwise the room was well enough appointed.

Meals were basic take it or leave style.

Staff were a little surly but got there.

Overall adequate for a one night stay.

Room Tip: Good hotel if you are suffering from a slipped disc in your back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rufuschuckabutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Stayed for 2 nights on a coach tour. Room was clean and of a decent size. Not allowed to make tea/ coffee in your room for some reason. Bathroom was clean and modern. Lack of air conditioning meant thr room was very stuffy and hot at night. I dread to think how hot it must be in midsummer. Food was very nice as were staff. Wifi was not free so never tried it. A good hotel for a short stay although miles out of central Prague. As we were on a coach this was not a problem.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georger140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2015

The hotel is situated in a quite residential area but there is a decent transportation service into the City and a small shop close by. The hotel has friendly reception staff and the rooms and restaurant are adequate for a short stay. However there is no tea/coffee making facilities but free bottled water provided. Hotel appears to have been recently refurbished and there was a good standard of cleanliness.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Frances L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2015

Galaxie
We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a 12 day coach tour with National Holidays.
Do not be put off by the exterior appearance of this hotel …….. the rooms are amazing.
They look to be newly refurbished to a high standard with ensuite bathrooms/shower rooms, flat screen Tvs, hairdryers and a safe. The floors are laminated, the bathrooms fully tiled in a contemporary style and room we had was a good size. All the facilities in the room worked perfectly well and it was well maintained.
There was no choice for the evening meal but the breakfast was buffet style. The evening meals were generally not very hot but the food was perfectly adequate.
The staff were friendly and helpful and the bar prices were very reasonable.
There was internet access but at a cost.
The main downside to this hotel is it’s location in a suburb of the city. It was no real problem to us as we were only there for 2 nights and we had pre-planned trips out with the coach. There are buses and trams nearby but we did not use them.

Room Tip: Exterior appearance does not do the place justice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B515HNsharonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#10 of 691 in Prague
793 reviews
Praha 7
PLUS Prague
PLUS Prague
#21 of 691 in Prague
905 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#533 of 646 in Prague
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#90 of 646 in Prague
3,309 reviews
Praha 1
Hilton Prague
Hilton Prague
#137 of 646 in Prague
5,089 reviews
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#183 of 646 in Prague
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxie

Address: Suchdolske namesti 801/9 | Suchdol, Prague 165 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 6
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#259 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: €88 - €91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galaxie 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Galaxie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wienna Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing