We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (862)
Filter reviews
862 results
Traveller rating
369
342
84
45
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
342
84
45
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsantique furniturecharles bridgevaulted cellarprague castleold townmala stranatwo single beds pushed togetherthe main hotelhistorical buildingdeluxe roomquiet areafew minutes walkexcellent locationthe ground floorwithin walking distancecomfortable bedsno lift
Filter
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 862 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel was excellent value.
Myself and 3 girlfriends stayed in a two bedroom family room for 2 nights.
4 huge single beds and bags of room.
The shower temperature could have been more consistent but that wasn't too much of a problem.
The breakfast was wonderful, excellent selection of fresh foods. Hot and cold!
The staff were super friendly and willing to help with anything!

The most amazing thing about the hotel was the location. 5 min walk to Charles bridge and in an area with lovely restaurants that are far far cheaper and nicer than those over the bridge.

This hotel is a perfect base for exploring Prague!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littleladybird13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for three nights. I can honestly say, it was one of the most enjoyable visits I've had in a long time!
The rooms were cheap and clean. The staff were amazing and couldn't do enough for us! (Adam was ace!!). I highly recommend it!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Overall we thought the Waldstein warranted a 5 star review. We only stayed 1 night as we were going to Karlovy Vary the next day. We arrived late at night and received a warm and friendly welcome and a complimentary bottle of wine - a lovely touch. The room was a good size and had great character being fitted out in period furniture (which was what we wanted), with television and tea and coffee making facilities. It also had free Wifi. The bed was comfortable and with the room being quiet we had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was buffet style with a range to suit all tastes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JarrahUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed at the Waldstein in early May 2014. The hotel was clean and the staffs were very helpful. The buffet breakfast was all and more than you'd need, ranging from a tea or coffee to a choice of cooked eggs and bacon, cereals, fruit and a choice of different breads - all included.
The exchange rate offered by the hotel was the best we could see in our 7 day stay. They were matched a couple of times, but never beaten. We were changing Euros to Czech crowns but their Sterling/Crown rates were also very good, with no commission. The daily rate you see in their daily newsletter, is the rate you get.

We were put in a luxury suite (room 121) - which had 4 beds, lounge/tv room and bathroom.
The suite was on the dark side - with no views or direct sunlight. If your staying there, I'd ensure you had a room with views. (Natural light)

The staff at reception were extremely helpful and in particular one of the young man who told us about a Czech restaurant scam currently in play. They include a service charge on the bill total, usually 10 0r 15% AND then they include a line to say that the tip has not been included.
You do not have to pay the service charge or the tip, in fact when they tried this on - we paid only for the food which is shown as the first total and because of this, we did not pay any tip. When they didn't include this service charge - and the meal was good - we always paid an additional 10+% tip to the waiter. The authorities are aware of this and now have the authorities have their own 'tourists' catching these establishments out ‘live’ and there are some heavy fines being served out to these establishments/criminals.

The transport system is very good, with the travel ticket, 24 euros for 30 mins travel and 32 euros for 90 mins travel, on the whole system. Tram, bus, tube and funicular. This helps a lot if your travelling on both bus and tram, i.e. coming in from the airport to the hotel, Nr. 119 bus and then tram Nr. 20 – all on one ticket.

There are some very good restaurants close by, in fact two on the street (Tomasska) from the hotel to the square that leads up to the Nerudova. The 3+3+3 and the U Zlateho.

The hotel is in the Little or Lesser quarter and is literally minutes from Charles Bridge and the Old and New towns, in the centre of Prague. It is an amazing city - the hotel is ideally situated making a trip anywhere easy. At night, it is a quiet area - being amongst some of the Embassy’s, with a discreet police presence.


To sum up, good hotel, exceptional staff, hearty breakfast in a wonderful and fascinating city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with natural light, these old Czech buildings have small (quaint) windows.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluewater1150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVEHotels, Manager at Hotel Waldstein, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Madam,
thank you very much for your great rating and a thorough review of our hotel Waldstein****! It´s delight to see that you enjoyed your stay. And it is very nice to see the great tips that you added here for other tripadvisor travellers!

So thank you again and I sincerely hope that next time you visit Prague, you will choose some of our AVE hotels again!

Eduard, QC Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

When we got off the plane we got the 119 bus and then tube on the green line to Malostranke, then you follow the Valdesjnska road all the way round to the hotel that is tucked away! I got this info from a previous review and was easy to follow even in at night time. We only paid 32 Krony which is so cheap for 90 mins of travel! This is ideal and very easy to use the public transport. The Taxi price from the hotel to the airport is roughly 650 krony which isn't bad but you save a lot of money using public transport! The hotel staff are very welcoming and speak very good English. The hotel is in a very quiet part of Praha 1 and this is very ideal!!!! We were in room 301 and next to the car park and it was still very quiet apart from the sound of the odd suitcase. The breakfast is very good; everything you need and good value for money. The hotel is 2 minutes walk form the Charles Bridge. Most tourist attractions are over Charles Bridge. Apart from the Prague Castel and the Petrin (Eiffel Tower) which is a must see but very high up! You can either walk up the mountain of steps or walk further down to get the tram. Be prepared to walk alot on this trip if you are prepared to visit all the tourist attractions! The hotel staff are very helpful with this information! The night life was not as busy as i expected but the drink prices were very good!

Room Tip: It depends how fussy you are but as we only used the room to sleep and shower in we were happy with the room we got! it was room 301 and on the left hand side of the hotel as if it was built on an extension: not sure. We were next to the car park and the entrance of the hotel and it was very quiet!!!!!!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVEHotels, Manager at Hotel Waldstein, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Emma,
thank you very much for your kind review full of helpful traveller tips! It´s a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful hotel! We are especially glad that you appreciated tthe services of my kind colleagues! If you ever plan to return to any of AVE Hotels chain hotels, please contact us in advance in order for us to prepare you another unforgettable stay!

Wishing you a great summer time,

Euard, QC Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews