We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Friendly Hotel”
Review of Plaza Alta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plaza Alta
Ranked #327 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 8 September 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Prague in early September. We were very happy with the hotel, the price and the location.

The staff was very friendly always there with a hello when we walked through the lobby. Most seemed to speak English well which was helpful because we don’t speak any Czech. The staff was very helpful with directions about how to get around town.

The lobby and breakfast/bar area were very modern. Wireless internet was free in the rooms after calling down to the reception for a password. It would only allow one computer to operate in the room though, which was frustrating because my husband and I travel with our own laptops. The breakfast was decent – sausages, breads and pastries, cereal, yogurt and a meat and cheese tray.

I will say that the rooms don’t look exactly like the picture. While they are very clean and the bathrooms look to be remodeled, the beds and furniture are not as nice looking as the hotel’s web-site advertises. To be honest the bed was probably one of the most uncomfortable I have slept on, but when it comes to hotels, price and cleanliness are a bigger priority for me unless I’m staying an extended period.

We found the location to be great. We were looking for a good deal even though it meant staying outside of downtown. A tram stop is just a 3 min walk down the street. It is just a few minutes ride to the metro station and beginning of Mala Strana. The area looks a bit secluded, but we never felt unsafe coming back at night. There were always many people getting off at the same stop.

There are no restaurants in the immediate area, but just a tram stop or two away there were a few places and a Bohemia Bagel. We did not try any of them though, we ate in city center.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel. We paid about 79 euro a night and even with 2 – 3 day transportation tickets we still paid less than a similar level of hotel closer into the city. A friendly staff, clean rooms and easy transportation into the city made it a great value for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pug13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 271 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2008

Husband and I stayed for 5 nights in May, Friday to Wednesday.
Location – a bit remote, at Ortenovo Namesti, but a quiet area. AAA taxi from airport cost 700Kc (£23), which seemed rather expensive. #5 tram from near hotel takes you to Namesti Republiky, and #12 tram takes you to Malostranska. A 24-hour multi-transport ticket costs 100 Kc (£3.30), and makes travelling very easy.
Staff in reception were pleasant and professional, and gave us lots of information.
Room – On 3rd floor, opposite the lifts, but not at all noisy. Fair-sized room with 2 twin beds, pushed together. A stocked mini bar, but no tea-making or biscuits.
Bathroom – OK, but only one sachet of shampoo and shower gel between 2, replaced most days. Separate loo.
Dinner, on first night, was OK. Small restaurant, good value, but nothing special.
Breakfast – better than expected, and had to wait for a table on only one day. Nice breads. Pleasant staff.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel, unless you want to have shops and restaurants nearby.
Loved Prague, but found it expensive.
Best dinner was at the Hotel Rott, in Male Namesti.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eleanola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2008

Stayed for 3 nights with my wife. Overall it was a good experience. Good place for the money.

The location is a bit away from downtown but 10-15 min to anywhere by tram/train. It is nice because it is less noisy then some of the downtown hotels. The tram stop is right by the hotel and the metro stop is the next stop down. This is also the same metro stop (nadres holsovice?) that one of the airport shuttles comes to and also where one of the main train stations is (which worked out for us as we went by train to vienna after this). Neighborhood is okay, needs more lighting at night.

The hotel itself is clean. The rooms are of average size and the large bed is two pushed together. Internet is FREE which is nice. Bathroom was good, good water pressure and clean. The toilet is in a seperate room to the side (like a closet) which is a bit odd but no big deal.

The staff was very nice and helpful, allowed us to check-in before noon. They also took a charge off my bill after I was back in the US (thru email). That was truly impressive because it was essentially my word as proof which was enough for the. Very polite in correspondance.

The breakfast was very average. Limited amount of items and no variety day to day. The free green apples in the front were good.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bubakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2008

We [2 adults & 10 yr old] booked the Alta online for a cheap 5 night break during the Easter week. Taxi to hotel from airport 650 Kc, 20 mins. Check-in was excellent, with staff speaking perfect English. Our room consisted of a large king size bed and a sofa bed. It was cleaned and tidied to perfection every day and was always warm. Avoid the mini bar as prices are silly. The buffet breakfast was adequate, though we never ventured to eat the cooked stuff [fried/poached egg with mint on top just didn't do it for us]. The cerials, cold meats, cheeses, breads, tea, coffee and juices were all very acceptable. Evening meals in Resturant 7 were limited but well cooked and presented [between 90Kc & 350 Kc]]. House red is poor! We never used the metro as we preferred the trams which allowed us to see something of uptown Prague. No.5 takes you straight into the Old town, with a quick chnage onto No. 9 for Wenslas Square. Tram No. 12 takes you to Charles Bridge, the New Town, changing to No. 22 or 23 for the Castle. Stops for No. 5 & 12 very close to hotel - buy day travel pass which lasts for 24 hours as this is the cheapest way to get about. Make sure you VALIDATE it on your first journey, otherwise you may get a fine from a plain clothes inspector [approx. 400Kc if you pay on the spot].
The only complaint we have about our stay in the Alta is the noise created by a group of Spanish teenage students who were there for the last 3 nights of our stay. They were unruly, noisey and kept phoning our room late at night. The hotel did their best to deal with the problem. Also, they closed their Resturant 7 on these nights at 8.00pm, so the kids could eat as a group. This meant all other guests had to eat before 8.00pm or go out eslewhere.
In the round, the Alta is very good value for money, with extremely kind and helpful staff and brilliant cleaners, situated in a quiet and peaceful neighbourhood. We would definietley stay here again but we would check if there was a school party staying at the same time before we booked! If you use the Airport Taxis at the end of your stay they discount the return journey by 20% and the hotel make the booking for you.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SKG50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2008

The room was slightly different from the one shown on the pictures but it was still very nice. The bed was huge, big enough to fit about 6 people, the room was large and comfortable. Hotel in general was very clean and the staff were extremely helpful.

The hotel is only a 10 minute tram ride away from the heart of the city. Again, the staff at the hotel were very helpful in mapping out tram routes, telling us the best stops to get off at.
The food was nice, and very reasonable.

I am 23 and loved being away from the noise of the city, the only noise we got was then bin lorry passing us at 6am.

I loved this hotel and would definately stay there again. I have already recommended it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 6
Vienna House Diplomat Prague
Praha 7
Extol Inn
Extol Inn
#413 of 646 in Prague
266 reviews
Praha 6
Hotel International Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 9
Clarion Congress Hotel Prague
Praha 7
Parkhotel Praha
Parkhotel Praha
#204 of 646 in Prague
911 reviews
Praha 6
Dolce Villa Hotel
Dolce Villa Hotel
#355 of 646 in Prague
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Alta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Alta

Address: Ortenovo Nam. 22, Prague 170 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 7
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#225 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: €42 - €386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza Alta 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Multistory Hotel situated in quiet residential area; 1 km to Exhibition Ground; 4 km to downtown; 17 km to airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Alta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Prague
Prague Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing