We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Julian(Prague)
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$185
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$187/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Friday Hotel(Prague)
US$190
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$125
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$107/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel UNIC Prague(Prague)
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Silenzio Hotel(Prague)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$308
US$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Hotel Prague(Prague)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$118
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (529)
Filter reviews
529 results
Traveller rating
147
248
96
26
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
248
96
26
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstram stopcity centreold townfree wifinice hotelno tea coffee facilitiesmain townhuge bedstayed here for three nightshot itemsreception staff aretransport linksbeautiful cityclose to the hoteltwin bedsshort breakstops
Filter
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 529 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2008

Stayed for 3 nights with my wife. Overall it was a good experience. Good place for the money.

The location is a bit away from downtown but 10-15 min to anywhere by tram/train. It is nice because it is less noisy then some of the downtown hotels. The tram stop is right by the hotel and the metro stop is the next stop down. This is also the same metro stop (nadres holsovice?) that one of the airport shuttles comes to and also where one of the main train stations is (which worked out for us as we went by train to vienna after this). Neighborhood is okay, needs more lighting at night.

The hotel itself is clean. The rooms are of average size and the large bed is two pushed together. Internet is FREE which is nice. Bathroom was good, good water pressure and clean. The toilet is in a seperate room to the side (like a closet) which is a bit odd but no big deal.

The staff was very nice and helpful, allowed us to check-in before noon. They also took a charge off my bill after I was back in the US (thru email). That was truly impressive because it was essentially my word as proof which was enough for the. Very polite in correspondance.

The breakfast was very average. Limited amount of items and no variety day to day. The free green apples in the front were good.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bubakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anastasia S, Manažer komunikace s hosty at Plaza Alta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear customer,
thank you for your feedback.
Also, a big thank you for choosing us.
We are glad your stay in our hotel brought only the best memories.
Thank you for taking the time to provide a feedback about your experience.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back.
Looking forward to seeing you back.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2008

We [2 adults & 10 yr old] booked the Alta online for a cheap 5 night break during the Easter week. Taxi to hotel from airport 650 Kc, 20 mins. Check-in was excellent, with staff speaking perfect English. Our room consisted of a large king size bed and a sofa bed. It was cleaned and tidied to perfection every day and was always warm. Avoid the mini bar as prices are silly. The buffet breakfast was adequate, though we never ventured to eat the cooked stuff [fried/poached egg with mint on top just didn't do it for us]. The cerials, cold meats, cheeses, breads, tea, coffee and juices were all very acceptable. Evening meals in Resturant 7 were limited but well cooked and presented [between 90Kc & 350 Kc]]. House red is poor! We never used the metro as we preferred the trams which allowed us to see something of uptown Prague. No.5 takes you straight into the Old town, with a quick chnage onto No. 9 for Wenslas Square. Tram No. 12 takes you to Charles Bridge, the New Town, changing to No. 22 or 23 for the Castle. Stops for No. 5 & 12 very close to hotel - buy day travel pass which lasts for 24 hours as this is the cheapest way to get about. Make sure you VALIDATE it on your first journey, otherwise you may get a fine from a plain clothes inspector [approx. 400Kc if you pay on the spot].
The only complaint we have about our stay in the Alta is the noise created by a group of Spanish teenage students who were there for the last 3 nights of our stay. They were unruly, noisey and kept phoning our room late at night. The hotel did their best to deal with the problem. Also, they closed their Resturant 7 on these nights at 8.00pm, so the kids could eat as a group. This meant all other guests had to eat before 8.00pm or go out eslewhere.
In the round, the Alta is very good value for money, with extremely kind and helpful staff and brilliant cleaners, situated in a quiet and peaceful neighbourhood. We would definietley stay here again but we would check if there was a school party staying at the same time before we booked! If you use the Airport Taxis at the end of your stay they discount the return journey by 20% and the hotel make the booking for you.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SKG50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anastasia S, Manažer komunikace s hosty at Plaza Alta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear customer,
thank you for your feedback.
Also, a big thank you for choosing us.
We are glad your stay in our hotel brought only the best memories.
Thank you for taking the time to provide a feedback about your experience.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back.
Looking forward to seeing you back.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2008

The room was slightly different from the one shown on the pictures but it was still very nice. The bed was huge, big enough to fit about 6 people, the room was large and comfortable. Hotel in general was very clean and the staff were extremely helpful.

The hotel is only a 10 minute tram ride away from the heart of the city. Again, the staff at the hotel were very helpful in mapping out tram routes, telling us the best stops to get off at.
The food was nice, and very reasonable.

I am 23 and loved being away from the noise of the city, the only noise we got was then bin lorry passing us at 6am.

I loved this hotel and would definately stay there again. I have already recommended it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anastasia S, Manažer komunikace s hosty at Plaza Alta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear customer,
thank you so much for your warm feedback, we appreciate it so much.
Also, a big thank you for choosing Plaza Alta Hotel in Prague.
We are glad your stay in our hotel brought only the best memories.
We believe your opinion will help other travelers in their decision-making when planning a trip to Prague.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back.
Looking forward to seeing you back.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2008

Having checked out many reviews on Trip Advisor for hotels in Prague I settled on the Plaza Alta and I'm very glad I did. I took my partner away for his 30th birthday and I emailed the hotel in advance to ask if there was any chance of a free upgrade. They said they couldn't do it for free but when we got to the room they had upgraded us. It was a lovely clean room and we got slippers and a bathrobe. There was also a well stocked mini bar. Right outside the hotel there is a tram stop and it's a 5 min walk to the underground which takes 10 mins to get into the centre of Prague. Breakfast was included and this was simple but set us up well for the day ahead. The bed was sooooo comfortable and I wanted to bring it home with me. If I ever go back to Prague I will stay at the Plaza Alta again, without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank UKLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anastasia S, Manažer komunikace s hosty at Plaza Alta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear customer,
thank you so much for your warm feedback, we appreciate it so much.
Also, a big thank you for choosing Plaza Alta Hotel in Prague.
We are glad your stay in our hotel brought only the best memories.
We believe your opinion will help other travelers in their decision-making when planning a trip to Prague.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back.
Looking forward to seeing you back.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2008

LOCATION: Not quite as convenient as others say, but it was easy to get to the city center via tram or a longer walk to Metro. It was in a pretty residential area (high rise apartment buildings), and I was a bit shaky about walking back from metro station at night. Tram stop was close to hotel though. It just depending on where I was leaving from in the city center as to which we'd take. I wouldn't rule this place out based on it's location. Staying here would likely be what I'd recommend if I lived there, same as I recommend DC visitors not stay directly in the District, but rather in the close 'burbs.
ROOMS: Nothing fancy, but suitable. The "king bed" was just 2 twins pushed together, with separate bedding even! Typical for Europe, though.
SERVICE: The front desk staff was lovely. They dutifully answered all of our tourist questions and booked tours for us.
FOOD: The breakfast was included, and it was fair. The selection of baked goods was wide, but the supply didn't get replenished. The cold bar w/ meats/cheese/salads left much to be desired, as did the pitcher of warm milk for cereal. But the fact that it was there at all made us happy, since we didn't have to worry about what to have for breakfast.
OTHER: "Free Internet" is just a laptop at the bar.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ItsJustMe0225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anastasia S, Manažer komunikace s hosty at Plaza Alta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear customer,
thank you for your feedback.
Also, a big thank you for choosing us.
We strive to make each stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible, and we will use your comments to coach our team in order to provide a better experience in the future.
Thank you for taking the time to provide a feedback about your experience.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back.
Looking forward to seeing you back.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews