We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Killer location, huge apartment.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Residence Ungelt
Ranked #70 of 370 Prague B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 December 2016

We just concluded a most satisfactory 5-night stay in apartment #4. It was huge and the location is excellent for walking around Prague. The building is old (11th century?), though the age was part of the charm for us. Doors and windows are a bit squeaky, and not square. The toilet door was extremely loud in the still of the night! We all slept well enough, but were awakened once or twice by passing drunks in the wee hours. We never did hear the club music mentioned by other reviewers. I would imagine that in the summer when the windows must be opened due to lack of air-conditioning this would be very loud. However, no need for that in the winter and the heaters were great at making the apartment as toasty as you’d like. There is a hum in two of the bedrooms from an exhaust duct in the restaurant below that passes between the two rooms. It was slightly louder than central air/heat but for us this was a pleasant, constant white noise that helped block out noise from the street. The tiny kitchenette consists of a small sink, 2 element electric stove, microwave, and a mini-bar sized refrigerator. If you use the stairs mind your step! Some give way when you step on them, and random others slope downward quite a bit. Apartment #4 has a balcony overlooking a private courtyard with an AWESOME view of the Church of Our Lady before Týn.
CLAUSTROPHOBICS BEWARE - breakfast is served in a cellar ~10 meters below ground and accessed via a narrow spiral staircase.

Room Tip: Get apartment #4 for the view from the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Earthling709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2016

No doubt the Ungelt is old fashioned, and I would imagine in the Summer very noisy at night, being as it is right opposite a club, but for a weekend in October it was very good. Clean, spacious, nice staff. But fancy it ain't, but it gave us just what we were looking for.

Room Tip: If it's possible to get a room facing the courtyard rather than the street, go for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ESB-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016

It was June 2016 and 3 ladies ranging from 43-75 stayed at this hotel. We booked a 2 room apartment and the first thing we noticed was that 1. there was no AC (not announced on their website) and 2. there was only 1 standing fan for the 2 room apartment. We requested an additional fan as soon as we got there; not only did we not get one; no one from the hotel came back to us to tell us we would not get one.

The big issue is that the window units face very loud bars and people are out drinking on the streets until 6 AM. Since there are no ACs, everyone is forced to sleep with open windows. I think that even with an AC and double windows, it would still be very noisy and would not allow for a restful night. After the first night, we went to request a room change due to the noise but the lady at the front desk looked at me as if she didn't know what we were talking about; she said she would check with her manager but she never got back to us. On the second sleepless night, we requested to be changed to an apartment in the back and would not take no for an answer so they made it happen.

The hotel is very dated but the prices go hand in hand with it so no problem there.

I assume things are different but based on our summer experience, I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anvasqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Was on second floor in room on outside of building and street below was very loud. Also because my room had no air conditioning i had to have the windows open to keep the room cool. Room was clean and bathroom/WC room were modern and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Great hotel in a brilliant location! Huge rooms. Bit dated but clean comfortable and great for a stag do.

Location was just a few minutes walk away.

Been there twice now so if I go again I will be staying at Ungelt again.

Ungelt ungelt ungelt!!!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
Thank JavHu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Staré Město (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 646 in Prague
1,358 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
Hotel Grand Majestic Plaza Prague
Staré Město (Old Town)
Metamorphis
Metamorphis
#201 of 646 in Prague
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Město (Old Town)
Hotel Liberty
Hotel Liberty
#28 of 646 in Prague
1,220 reviews
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences Prague
Nové Město (New Town)
Ibis Praha Old Town
Ibis Praha Old Town
#147 of 646 in Prague
3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Residence Ungelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Residence Ungelt

Address: Tyn 10/644, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 370 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range: €108 - €149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Residence Ungelt 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Residence Ungelt (previously Hotel Ungelt) is situated directly in the heart of Prague - just few steps from famous Old Town Square in one of charming historical buildings. We can offer you space and comfort in the center of historic and commercial Prague. Large 6 apartements are special suitable for families.. Rezidence services and possibilites: Telephone, Free Wifi Internet, Office Desk, Sat LCD TV, DVD player, Tea & coffee making facility, Minibar/Fridge, Microwave oven, safety deposit box, Hairdryer, Cosmetic Mirror etc. Hotel has own parking space for 8 cars and elevator. You can enjoy our cozy Lobby Bar and restaurant. Our Rezidence is just 80m from the Old Town Square with world famous astronomical clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Royal Residence Ungelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Residence Ungelt Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing