We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a family of 6, just the job and at a very reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Residence Ungelt
Ranked #70 of 370 Prague B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 October 2016

No doubt the Ungelt is old fashioned, and I would imagine in the Summer very noisy at night, being as it is right opposite a club, but for a weekend in October it was very good. Clean, spacious, nice staff. But fancy it ain't, but it gave us just what we were looking for.

Room Tip: If it's possible to get a room facing the courtyard rather than the street, go for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ESB-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2016

It was June 2016 and 3 ladies ranging from 43-75 stayed at this hotel. We booked a 2 room apartment and the first thing we noticed was that 1. there was no AC (not announced on their website) and 2. there was only 1 standing fan for the 2 room apartment. We requested an additional fan as soon as we got there; not only did we not get one; no one from the hotel came back to us to tell us we would not get one.

The big issue is that the window units face very loud bars and people are out drinking on the streets until 6 AM. Since there are no ACs, everyone is forced to sleep with open windows. I think that even with an AC and double windows, it would still be very noisy and would not allow for a restful night. After the first night, we went to request a room change due to the noise but the lady at the front desk looked at me as if she didn't know what we were talking about; she said she would check with her manager but she never got back to us. On the second sleepless night, we requested to be changed to an apartment in the back and would not take no for an answer so they made it happen.

The hotel is very dated but the prices go hand in hand with it so no problem there.

I assume things are different but based on our summer experience, I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anvasqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Was on second floor in room on outside of building and street below was very loud. Also because my room had no air conditioning i had to have the windows open to keep the room cool. Room was clean and bathroom/WC room were modern and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Great hotel in a brilliant location! Huge rooms. Bit dated but clean comfortable and great for a stag do.

Location was just a few minutes walk away.

Been there twice now so if I go again I will be staying at Ungelt again.

Ungelt ungelt ungelt!!!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
Thank JavHu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We originally planned to stay 2 nights and had booked a suite of 2 rooms, which fit our family well. When we extended our stay, arriving a day early, we were given a 3 bedroom suite (at the same price) for that additional night. That suite was incredible, though we couldn't take full advantage of it, as we moved the next day.

Our originally booked room was very nice, with a double bed, sitting area with TV in one room, and twin bed in the second room for our children. It suited our needs very well. We also REALLY appreciated the stall shower - after 10 days in the country, we finally could stand up and have a decent shower!

The downsides were the proximity to a (very) noisy pub which woke us up periodically - we had to keep the windows open to get some fresh air, but this made our rooms quite noisy. And the need to walk through an alley and around the corner to a poorly lit entrance at night was at times disconcerting, though we didn't feel unsafe.

I did like the location, just minutes off the old city square - we never needed public transportation to get where we needed to go.

I don't think I would return to the hotel, though another hotel in that neighborhood would definitely be desirable.

Room Tip: Try not to face the street- very noisy pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Spencer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Staré Město (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 646 in Prague
1,358 reviews
Staré Město (Old Town)
Metamorphis
Metamorphis
#201 of 646 in Prague
685 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
Hotel Grand Majestic Plaza Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences Prague
Nové Město (New Town)
Ibis Praha Old Town
Ibis Praha Old Town
#147 of 646 in Prague
3,140 reviews
Staré Město (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#10 of 370 in Prague
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Residence Ungelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Residence Ungelt

Address: Tyn 10/644, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 370 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range: €108 - €149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Residence Ungelt 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Residence Ungelt (previously Hotel Ungelt) is situated directly in the heart of Prague - just few steps from famous Old Town Square in one of charming historical buildings. We can offer you space and comfort in the center of historic and commercial Prague. Large 6 apartements are special suitable for families.. Rezidence services and possibilites: Telephone, Free Wifi Internet, Office Desk, Sat LCD TV, DVD player, Tea & coffee making facility, Minibar/Fridge, Microwave oven, safety deposit box, Hairdryer, Cosmetic Mirror etc. Hotel has own parking space for 8 cars and elevator. You can enjoy our cozy Lobby Bar and restaurant. Our Rezidence is just 80m from the Old Town Square with world famous astronomical clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Royal Residence Ungelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Residence Ungelt Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing