We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Silenzio Hotel(Prague)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Hotel Prague(Prague)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Friday Hotel(Prague)
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel UNIC Prague(Prague)
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$268
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$308
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,672)
Filter reviews
2,672 results
Traveller rating
1,984
574
81
18
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,984
574
81
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglass bathroomold town squareorange housenespresso machinejewish quartersuperior roomsister hotelloved this hotelrooms are modernexcellent hotelfresh fruitbreakfast was amazingperfect locationbreakfast buffetthe main squarecar servicequiet street
Filter
Updating list...
1,341 - 1,346 of 2,672 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2012

after travelling round bavaria for a week our group ended up in prague. We stayed in design hotel josef for 2 nights. The best stay of all our vacation. The rooms big and super clean. The breakfast the best we had on our vacation. The staff at the front desk VERY helpful especially Christine. Many thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afroditi_1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

we are pleased to know you fully enjoyed your stay with us, and grateful you took time to write a review. Thank you for commenting on your room, breakfast and the staff.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us,

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My wife and I recently spent 3 glorious nights at Hotel Josef and there isn't really much I can add to all the praise that other reviewers have so justly written about this fabulous hotel. We would like to personally thank the young man Petr at the bar for his outstanding service along with all the great staff who made our stay so wonderful. We won't hesitate to recommend Hotel Josef to our families and friends and would love to come back soon for another visit. Thank you all for making our stay in Prague a memorable and extremely pleasurable experience!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManUfan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

thank you for being our guest and leaving your great review on TripAdvisor. All your positive comments inspire us to do our absolute best to offer our guests the highest level of hospitality.

I am happy to hear you and your wife had an excellent stay in Hotel Josef, and truly pleased to learn you will be recommending us to your families and friends.

All our team, including Petr, is looking forward to your next stay with us,

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

What a great hotel! My husband and I ended a 2 week sweep of Europe with a 3 night stay in Prague (July 19-22). From the moment we walked in, we could tell this was going to be the best hotel we stayed in out of all the cities.

It's the little things about this hotel that really stood out for us. For example, each morning, there are free fresh pastries, a bowl of fresh fruit and a free nespresso machine with all the fixings set up for the guests to pick up quickly on their way out. You may also choose to have their semi-buffet breakfast, though it was a bit pricey, and we had it only on our last day before our flight home. The semi-buffet breakfast was wonderful though! They have a buffet of nice fresh breakfast items, and you may also order from a menu with options such as pancakes (crepes) and omelettes.

The guest rooms also have nespresso machines, which are all complementary. It's nice to not be nickle-and-dimed for everything like other hotels. The internet was also free, and it was a very very strong connection!

We had the Superior Deluxe room with the glass bathroom (on 5th floor). The room was a very nice size, and the glass bathroom didn't pose any privacy concerns because the only part that is see-through from the bedroom is the sink area. The showers and the toilet area have separate non-see through doors.

Note that our room did not have an iron or ironing board, so you might need to bring one with you.

The only reason for not giving this hotel 5 stars is that I didn't feel totally safe walking back to our hotel at night from the old town area. Most of the way back to the hotel is fine, as it is filled with cafes and bars, but the last few minutes before you reach the hotel is deserted and a little sketchy. This would be the only reason I wouldn't stay here again - though in another year or two, that small stretch of area might be updated and expanded to be completely filled with people like the other areas are, so you never know.

Room Tip: we were on the 5th floor, and there was no outside noise - we faced a nice courtyard. and Bring an iron as my room do not have one!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

let me thank you for leaving such an explicit review, following your stay in Hotel Josef! I am glad you experienced and enjoyed our breakfast, your room, amenities and all the little touches that made your stay unique and special.

It is a great pleasure to know you rated us as a best hotel during your trip around Europe. We will be truly looking forward to welcoming you back, happy to provide a complimentary iron and an ironing board, available for all our guests upon request.

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This hotel is centrally located near the Old Town Square and about a 15 minute walk from Charles Bridge. It is a posh neighborhood with many expensive shops nearby. Yet, the area maintains the feel of the "old town" and is very charming. The room was decorated with a modern feel, and with a large comfortable king bed (the equivalent of a North American king bed, not a British king bed).

We got a great deal off hotels.com that didn't include breakfast but there are breakfast spots nearby. The washrooms are a bit weird in that the sink area is encased by clear glass; the glass walls leading to the toilet and shower are opaque. The carpet in the room could use cleaning but otherwise the room was clean.

Overall I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingnomad111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

it is great to know you had a pleasant stay in Hotel Josef. Thank you for commenting on the location of the hotel and the room.

I agree that even though the hotel is located in the very center of Prague, the area has an 'old town' feeling to it, and it is a pleasure to be walking in the neighborhood.

Looking forward to seeing you again,

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Great location, nice hotel and rooms, even better breakfast! Breakfast was included in the room rate and was definitely the best breakfast of any accommodation I have stayed in for 5 weeks in Europe. The hotel is not the cheapest you can find, but certainly not as expensive as I had expected for style, location and rating. They changed my room selection 2 weeks before arrival without any problems, and all staff were friendly and helpful during our stay. Free wifi and also a business centre is excellent. The room was clean and spacious, with all of the necessary amenities (desk, tv, tea & coffee facilities, fridge/minibar) and a comfy bed! I would definitely stay there again!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank SoloTravel32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

let me thank you for taking time to write such a kind review. It is a pleasure to know you fully enjoyed your time in Hotel Josef, namely the room, amenities and breakfast. We are also happy to hear our staff managed to meet your expectations and fully assist you during the stay.

We are looking forward to seeing you again,

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews