We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge disappointment”

Svejk Restaurant U Karla
Ranked #1,000 of 5,983 Restaurants in Prague
Price range: US$3 - US$17
Cuisines: Czech, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Nové Město (New Town)
Description: Restaurant with a typical Czech meals (also in gluten free variation) and good Czech beers (also gluten free).
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We had heard some semi-nice comments of this restaurant, so decided to have lunch there. Huge mistake. Worst service ever - it requires some skill to overlook customers in that way. Had to wait for 20 minutes before anyone decided to even notice us. Completely tasteless food. Dont spend your time and money on this.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TheBlond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakub K, Vlastník at Svejk Restaurant U Karla, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for your review. Would you be so kind and check once again the location, there is several Svejk restaurants in Prague (it is a chain) and that is why I mean there is a possibility you posted your review to the wrong Svejk restaurant. We work absolutely separately and have nothing to do with other restaurants at all. Thank you. If you have been at our restaurant (our restaurant is located just next to the U Fleku restaurant) would you be so kind and send me a very short message with the informations when you have been there and what was the problem with your service and with the food, it will help us to improve our services a lot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (913)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 913 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

The food was average but bland. Service staff was ignorant. We ate and left as soon as we could.

And for info, they do not accept credit cards. We saw this fortunately and had cash.

Thank EloMacos_Viken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakub K, Owner at Svejk Restaurant U Karla, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thank you for your review. Just want ask you to check once again you posted your review to the right restaurant, because in our restaurant we accept all major cards (visa, master card etc.), so it look you have been at another Svejk restaurant, there is several Svejk restaurant in Prague, it is a chain. But we work separately and have different owners. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Staff is very helpfull and friendly. The meals are delicious. It was a very good place, but overbudened a little bit so we had to wait longer than we expected.

Thank Balázs G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

If you like awkward silence restaurante, it is. Same like a burial-feast with whispering staff. The Boss doesn’t prefer the music in his restaurante. :-(( Svejk was an happy people it is?
Here were two types of beer (dark Kozel and Pilsner light). Can You believe it??
The food was good and big portion. The prices are on normal level.

Thank Bela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

We went here after I had Googled gluten free restaurants in Prague. It came up on a number of blogger pages and I wasn't disappointed. Being gluten free, it is hard to find places to eat, especially on holiday. I had the beef goulash with dumplings and it was amazing. My partner has the same (non gluten free for him) and he loved it too. I would definitely recommend this place for any gluten free person. Just make sure you go to the right one! This restaurant has a whole separate menu for gluten free.

1  Thank Rach988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Svejk Restaurant U Karla also viewed

 
Ostrava, Moravian-Silesian Region
 

Been to Svejk Restaurant U Karla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing