We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
FindHotel
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,124)
Filter reviews
1,124 results
Traveller rating
626
334
87
50
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
626
334
87
50
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dive shop red hook aqua action floating dock beachfront studio st thomas full kitchen one bedroom suite great snorkeling secret harbour beach calm waters grocery store beach staff beach bar clear water lounge chairs the general manager
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 1,124 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2020

Secret Harbour is a hidden gem on St. Thomas. With a series of low condominiums adjacent to the beach, it is one of the most relaxing vacations possible. The resort offers lovely condos for rent with fully equipped kitchens, a restaurant/bar right on the beach, a dive shop that offers rental equipment and gift shop as well as boating excursions, and terrific service all around. A small gym and a new hair salon complete the resort. People come from all over to snorkel in the calm blue waters: you encounter reefs and fish within feet of the shore. The beach is never crowded, and lounge chairs, tables, hammocks and towels are all right there. Enjoy the wonderful rum drinks starting at happy hour at 4, or earlier, if so inclined. Wildlife abounds, with roosters and iguanas wandering the grounds. The Sunset Grill has revamped its offerings and now offers a full array of appetizers, main courses and desserts as well as a less expensive bar menu - the food this year was delicious. We rent a two-bedroom suite, each having its own bath. Buildings 3 and 4 offer a bit more privacy than 1 and 2, but if you're going with young kids you might like the ground floor of 1 or 2, where you are literally steps from the beach itself, and closer to the grill. If you want 2 bedrooms, reserve as early as you can as these suites are few and in great demand. Every suite has either a patio or a balcony equipped with table, lounges and chairs. The resort is just a 5 minute drive from the town of Red Hook, where there is a convenient and full-service market as well as wonderful restaurants. Cabs to town are $5 per person. Unless you plan to explore the island or go to St. Johns, you really don't need to rent a car - much cheaper to take a van or cab to and from the airport and to get into town. Resort manager Javier has been there for years, knows all the ins and outs, and is a pleasure to deal with, as are all the front office folks and the people who maintain the condos. Each condo has a safe for keeping personal items and computers locked up. Direct flights from many cities, and you can easily get away with just a carry-on bag: dress is totally casual - no need for anything dressy, just your beach wear, shorts or jeans, T-shirts and sandals. All condos are air conditioned. Temperature tends to stay in the low to mid 80s, a touch cooler at night. The resort faces west, so sunsets are spectacular.

Room tip: Building 1 is closest to the restaurant/bar, building 4 the farthest, though all an easy walk, and all literally feet from the beach.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanpY2270RK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHJavierD, General Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2020

Thank you Susan for the very thoughtful, detailed and glowing review of Secret Harbour Beach Resort. Honestly, I don't think we could describe our resort any better. We too agree that we are a hidden gem with great amenities and terrific service. We are very grateful for the ability to share this paradise with caring and appreciative people such as yourself. I think we will let your words stand as they are so eloquent. Thank you for being part of the Secret Harbour family. We truly look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Respectfully,

Javier De La Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2020 via mobile

This was our fifth visit in so many years and the property has been renovated and is great. We stayed in a great room and all the staff are /were super helpful. The weather was superb when we were there and we will definitely be going back. If we had to highlight anything negative about Secret harbour itself I don’t think we could. Be aware thought that the rooster around the property is awake early and as such gets vocal so if you are based at the far end of the property note that he kicks off around 4am. The sunset grille was also a frustration this visit - we booked two nights running to sit in the restaurant area only to be told by the chap managing the area on the night that he’d overbooked and we’d have to sit in the bar area. On the second occasion we specifically asked the lady when we were booking for a table in the restaurant area and she confirmed this would happen. The guy on the night was quite dismissive and merely walked up to us and said he didn’t have room for us and we’d be in the bar area. No discussion or apology from him just an instruction that we were in the bar area. Had we’d known that we’d have arrived in our shorts and casual wear rather that dress up for a more formal feed. It was as if the guy in charge, who has no customer skills are all, was cherry picking the larger groups rather than the couples for the restaurant area which made us feel less worthy - which is a shame - but this instance aside everything else was perfect and we could not fault the staff, food or facilities. See you in 2021.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank jobob10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHJavierD, General Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2020

Thank you for the Excellent review and most of all for your 5th visit to Secret Harbour Beach Resort! We are very pleased that you found your room great and the staff super helpful and that you couldn't say anything negative about Secret Harbour. Thank you! Our staff loves the opportunity to make each visit wonderful and memorable. That said, it sounds like our restaurant partner did not follow through on seating you in the dining area after you specifically requested it and for this we are sorry. The restaurant is managed separately and we will share your thoughts with them. We do hope that the food did meet your expectations and we do look forward to welcoming you back in 2021 for your 6th visit. Thank you!

Respectfully,

Javier De La Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2020

We visited Secret Harbour in 2015, and I wrote a very favorable review then here. We just returned from a 4 night stay and I have to say it reconfirms the original review. The staff - starting with Javier, then assistant manager, now, resort manager, took personal interest that my wife and I had an enjoyable stay. The assistant manager, Elis, we met in the parking lot mid visit and he too was friendly and asking us what he could do for us. The rest of the staff is also helpful and polite.

As for the resort itself, it is right on a beautiful cove. I'm a scuba diver and S.H. has its own fully equip dive shop (see separate review at Aqua Action). But there is fairly good snorkeling right off the sandy beach on both sides of the cove and also straight out from building 1 and 2 about 150 feet. The depths range from 3 feet to 25 feet in the cove. We saw turtles, barracudas, squid, and numerous other fish. You are facing West so you have beautiful sunsets every day.

If you are tired of walking hundreds of feet from your resort room to the beach, Secret Harbour has two condo buildings where you step off your patio and you're on the beach with the water just seconds away. My wife cannot walk distances because of a disability so this was great plus S.H. has a beach wheelchair she used. There are shade trees and umbrellas and the beach staff (Troy and others) will get you all setup with lounges and towels daily. Plus, your unit has a full kitchen with a large grocery store just a mile away. Or, you can eat at the two restaurants on the property. The entire staff is there to assist you - to custom make your visit enjoyable for you.
We found the personal service at Secret Harbour to stand above other resorts.

Room tip: Rooms in buildings 1 and 2 have a little closer access to the beach than buildings 3 and 4.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHJavierD, General Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2020

Thank you for your second visit and for the 5 star review! It is always our pleasure to provide personal service to wonderful people. You and your wife are always welcome at Secret Harbour. So pleased that your wife found the beach wheelchair comfortable. And that you enjoyed your diving with Aqua Action Water Sports - we are grateful to have them as a resort partner on site. It sounds like you also enjoyed snorkeling in our beautiful cove, sunsets every night and got to know our friendly staff. It is always great to see team members called out by name. Thank you for your thoughtfulness and most of all for choosing Secret Harbour Beach Resort. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Respectully,
Javier De La Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2020

Of course a perfect beach.,great condo..but Raquel at the front desk, GM Javier, and of course Winston..really made for perfection. Been going to St.Thomas for 50 years, and this quick visit confirmed why.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JAK6565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHJavierD, General Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2020

Thank you for sharing about your Great Visit! We love that you have been coming to St Thomas for 50 years and that you find our beach, staff, and condominiums 'made for perfection'. Thank you!!!!! We look forward to welcoming you again.

Respectfully,
Javier De La Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2020

We always stop in St Thomas after a week of sailing BVI and decided to get my wife a 1000 SQ ft suite for her birthday :) The location is very nice but the hotel is a little dated. THe restaurant Sunset Grill is no where near up to par so we won't be staying here again :(

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CANADIANOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHJavierD, General Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2020

Thank you for your review and for choosing Secret Harbour for your wife's special occasion. We are pleased that you found the location nice and sorry to read that you found your particular room a bit dated. Each is decorated to different taste yet the entire property has been renovated during 2018-2019. The restaurant - Sunset Grille - is managed by St Thomas Restaurant Group and typically receives very high marks. We are sorry that your experience was under par and we will share that information with the Sunset Grille Team. Thank you again for staying with us. We hope your sailing trip in the BVI was amazing!

Respectfully,
Javier De La Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews