We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”

The Butterbean Restaurant and B & B
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Carndonagh
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A family run restaurant and b & b. Open daily for breakfast , tasty lunches and delicious evening meals with a fully licenced bar. Close to all amenities and only 10 minutes drive to the famous Ballyliffin Golf Club.
Reviewed 19 July 2021

We stayed near Carndonangh and booked a meal in The Butterbean on one of the nights. The booking was done through the website and I got a confirmation email within a couple of hours. They have created a very nice seating area out the back, away from the traffic and there are nice views across the countryside. Service was friendly and efficient. Food was typical pub-grub and the portions were very generous. I would rate the food as 'very good' - we were starving walking in and stuffed walking out.
Would recommend.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OllieMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKM21, Owner at The Butterbean Restaurant and B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2021

Thank you, good to see you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2021 via mobile

Staff really friendly. Service was quick. Tagliatelle with garlic bread was very nice and so was the Enchilada. Generous portion sizes too.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank conorf1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKM21, Owner at The Butterbean Restaurant and B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2021

Thank you conor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2021

Our family of 4 (2&2) enjoyed a delicious meal this evening. Drinks and starters arrived promptly - all served with a smile. Nothing was too much trouble. Highlights were the homemade chicken goujons, the homemade garlic bread and the massive & tasty 50/50 burger. My cappuccino rounding off the evening was piping hot and the crust on the passionfruit cheesecake was to die for. If you're visiting the area it's well worth a visit. Didn't stop to take a photo! But presentation was wonderful too. Thanks for a lovely evening.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank lesleyannd1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKM21, Owner at The Butterbean Restaurant and B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2021

Thank you for your lovely review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2021

Stay here for 1 night
Place was spotless.brilliant staff.great location.
Food was top class.
Room very clean.i would recommend this place.
Definitely will be back again.
Thanks for a very enjoyable stay

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Urtaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKM21, Owner at The Butterbean Restaurant and B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2021

Thank you and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2021

Hiya. Just a quick message and positive feedback. I came in on Friday night and got 2 meals to go. During this I asked the young girl working on Friday night do they do margaritas. Even though she did not have the cocktail wrote down she went above and beyond and used her phone and initiative to make an absolutely perfect cocktail to go. Ontop of this, the food was absolutely top class and the portions were huge. We will absolutely be back. Nicest food I have had in ages and the customer service was amazing. This makes all the difference and I would like the young girl working to get recognition for her excellent customer servicethanks folks we will definitely be back!

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank conorn273
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKM21, Owner at The Butterbean Restaurant and B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2021

Thank you, delighted to hear

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Butterbean Restaurant and B & B also viewed

Carndonagh, County Donegal
Buncrana, County Donegal
 
Ballyliffin, County Donegal
Carndonagh, County Donegal
 

Been to The Butterbean Restaurant and B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.