We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace in the Jungle”

Review of Casa Vida Verde

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Cabo Matapalo, Osa Peninsula, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

WNS7
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace in the Jungle”
Reviewed 29 September 2009 for a stay in March 2008
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Vida Verde is a beautifully designed 'tree house" nestled into the hillside. It has wonderful open spaces to relax and enjoy the sights and sounds of the jungle. The children loved the plunge pool and learned a great deal about jungle life during our stay. My husband caught great waves at the beach down the road while the chirldren enjoyed the rock pools. John and Jamily were terrific caretakers, eager to supply us with information about an array of activities John's meals were simply delicious. Overall, a wonderful jungle experience!

Date of stay: March 2008
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie M
South Salem, NY
1 review
“Beautiful house in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed 3 September 2009 for a stay in August 2009

Unforgettable vacation. The house is unique and comfortable. The property is private and full of beautiful plants and flowers. The beaches in the area are beautiful. Great swimming- the water is very warm. The wildlife is incredible. We had daily sightings of 3 different types of monkeys, macaws, butterflies, and more. The very helpful caretakers scheduled many fun activities for us. Our favorites were the boat tour (where we saw dolphins and turtles) and the surf lessons. Great place for kids and adults.

Date of stay: August 2009
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benn M
california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A PERFECT WEDDING”
Reviewed 1 September 2009 for a stay in June 2009
2
people found this review helpful

This past june my wife and I, and 27 of our closest friends and family, traveled to Cabo Matapalo, CR to get married. It was nothing close to a traditional wedding, but couldn't be more perfect..

Cabo matapalo is at the southern tip of of the Osa peninsula. Far from civilization, the closest market is 40 minute drive. This is what makes matapalo magical. We rented rented 5 houses in close proximity to each other. Casa vida verde being the house for the bride and groom.

It is a gorgeous three bedroom house nestled in the jungle on a huge piece of property. matapalo beach is a short 150 step walk. This is the best surfing beach in matapalo. Not a great swimming beach. The swimming beaches are a 5 minute walk in the other direction. The house is incredibly crafted. Three bedrooms with a huge dining living area with a deck overlooking the property. From the Kitchen, You walk over a little bridge onto a covered patio where there are three hammocks to be lazy in. There is a little pathway down to another area where there is a dipping pool. At night time you light up the tiki torches and you are feel like you are in a tropical wonderland. The upstairs bedroom and bathroom is the nicest but the two downstairs bedrooms arnt to shabby either.

The wild life incredible here. The pictures of the monkeys that i put up are right outside of the house. The howler monkeys that start howling at 5 in the morning are sounds that you have never heard in your life. Lock your food up in the pantry at night or the critters might get it.

john and jamie are the caretakers of casa vida verde. They are more then helpful. They cooked our rehearsal dinner and wedding dinner which was incredible. They made paella, ceviche, patacones, beet and green papaya salad, spring rolls, fresh pina coladas, and a lot of other great food. They informed us about all the green aspects of the house. We were having a wedding in matapalo which isn't he easiest of feats. On the day of the wedding all the guys went down to the beach and built a canopy and area where we could have the ceremony. John helped us get all the tools we would needed to make it happen. With out them our wedding would not of happened.

Both of our families had so much fun. There were so many activities. A Boat to see 100 dolphins swimming and jumping, Fishing, kayaking, surfing, swimming, hiking to swim in the waterfall, not to mention you are 5 miles from the biggest natural preserve in central america. Matapalo is really a perfect getaway for any family or friends. It is unlike any other place in the world and a place where you really can spend quality time together. I recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: June 2009
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.