We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (914)
Filter reviews
914 results
Traveller rating
859
43
5
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
859
43
5
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pacific trail suspension bridge breakfast and lunch resident biologist other guests deluxe cabina scarlet macaws costa rica hiking trails tide pools primary forest tour tropical garden sunset tour maintained trails tree climbing owners phil and kim buffet style
Filter
Updating list...
847 - 852 of 914 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2007

We went to Bosque Feb 2007 with 3 kids ages 11,14,15. I agree with all of the reviews I have read. We stayed at Casa Blanca, a 2 bedroom house. It was close to the dining area, so it was a quick walk over for dinner. The house had a great kitchen,a deck that had an amazing view of the ocean below,a nice livingroom area and 2 bedrooms with separate baths.Because everything is in the jungle we did encounter various forms of spiders (really big spiders)and bugs. We also had a small scorpion visit with us for a very brief moment. The second bedroom is off of the deck so the kids couldn't get to the main area without going on the deck. Not a big deal for us because our kids were older. They did join us the first night because they were a little freaked out by the nature in their room.
The food was fabulous, you pick off the menu for breakfast and lunch. The dinner was buffet the nights we were there. Staff was great and there were lots of activities to choose from.We saw macaws in the trees off of our deck!!!
It is quite a journey to get to Bosque. We had rented a car and drove from Manuel Antonio. Some of the roads were in really bad shape. It was about an hour from Puerto Jimenez. If we were to go again we would think strongly of flying down. Since there are no stores anywhere near Bosque if you were to cook you would need to load up with supplies in Puerto Jimenez.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luceric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2007

We had quite a mixed experience, the negative parts heavily influenced by an intern who (hopefully) will soon be leaving. My husband and I went for our honeymoon. We stayed in the deluxe cabana "Gecko" which I would not recommend. We specifically requested not to be put in Gecko at least 2 months before our arrival (pictures on the website for Gecko warned us of it's oddly art deco deck). I was told they would "see what they could do" and never heard back about it again.

Upon arrival we found that we had the ONLY cabana (Gecko) that did not have rocking chairs on the deck. There is a beautiful view but for some reason Gecko comes with an "L" shaped built -in concrete couch covered in scratchy cushions. There is also a bulit-in concrete chair. Not very romantic compaired to the wooden rocking chairs and deck chairs which grace ALL the other ocean-facing cabanas.

There was an American intern who "greeted" us. She seemed oddly unphased by our disappointment in our Cabana. She also then failed to follow-through on assisting us on our request for rocking chairs. We inquired about the possibility of taking a yoga class (while the website lists yoga as an activity this does not appear to actually be the case), she said that she would make an announcement to see if she could fill a class. She never did. We asked about the possibility of going to Corcovado National Park. This request seemed to surprise her, and she said she did not know how one would get there, but that "somebody" would be able to help us.

The website made it seem like Corcovado was an accessible activity, but did not mention cost. We then found out that a day trip from Basque del Cabo would cost about $1000 (for two people). While the website does state that "most visitors don't find it necessary to visit Corcovado" our guest services person seemed to have no idea as to how we would visit & did not get us in touch with anyone who did.

A full day and two staff members after our initial request for chairs (Geraly was MUCH more helpful) we finally got the rocking chairs we requested so that we could actually sit sit-by-side & look at the ocean. But it was a rather uncomfortable experience having this request met.

We met others during our stay who also had reasonable special requests (they required a bland diet) not met & in a rather rude manner by the guest services staff. These unfortunate experiences however appear to be related to just one or two members of guest services, but it really affected our stay.

The website describes Bosque Del Cabo as "owner operated". For the five days we were there we had trouble finding anyone, let alone the owners, who could help us with a few issues we were having.

On the plus sides the grounds are incrediably beautiful. We found the food delicious. Excluding guest services the staff was great, and the wildlife is incredible. BUT as incredible as the wildlife on the grounds are it really doesn't compare to Corcovado National Park (contrary to a claim on the website). Had we not come expecting yoga and easy access to Corcovado, and had we not been met so listlessly by the intern I would no doubt be writing a gushing review. Bosque Del Cabo is quite beautiful & offers impressive cuisine but my experience left a bad taste in my mouth that will most likely prevent a return visit.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Excursion802696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2007

Like a poster below, we were concerned that BDC wouldn't live up to the hype. However, we need to join the chorus--this is a fantastic and wonderful place. One of the highlights of our honeymoon.

Exemplary service only adds to the appeal--from the moment you are picked up at the airport in Puerto Jimenez, you know you will be surrounded by wonderful people.

Food is plentiful and tasty. My husband's food allergies (nuts and all seafood) were never a problem and I noticed that there were always abundant vegetarian options.

If you dream of watching troops of monkeys as they move through the canopy, seeing scarlet macaws fly overhead and eat noisily in a tree, listening to birdsong, observing the toucans fly and "argue"--BDC is for you.

However, if you dream of high thread-count sheets in a pristine environment, huge lap pools, and watching wildlife through a glass window--BDC is not for you. (and wanting those things isn't bad either!) It is real life nature, complete with spiderwebs on the trails, humidity, and a real need for flashlights after sunset.

In short: We loved it. I am trying to figure out how to go back soon!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank totheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2007

We went to Bosque with our 3 kids, my parents, and my brother. It was amazing! My husband, 2 daughters, and I stayed in one of the garden cabanas - I recommend it only for the most adventurous types! My parents, brother, and son stayed in one of the ocean-view cabanas - very beautiful and luxurious accomodations with incredible views from a lovely lanai. The owners will arrange any adventure you can imagine, from surfing lessons to horseback riding through the rainforest to rapelling down a waterfall. The food was also very delicious.

Stayed: November 2005
6  Thank FitMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2007

We chose to get married at Bosque del Cabo with our immediate family as guests, and we couldn’t have asked for a more perfect wedding. Throughout our week long stay, the owners, Kim and Phil, and the entire staff made us feel like honored guests.
The level of communication leading up to the trip from Kim assured us we had made the right decision in choosing Bosque. We had many questions and a few requests, and Kim handled every one of them with professionalism and friendliness.
It is not easy to get to Bosque del Cabo, as there is an hour long, extremely rugged ride to the nature lodge once we landed in Puerto Jiminez. For this reason and about a million others, we were very glad we’d chosen to stay for a week. Bosque is located on the Osa Peninsula and is truly one of the most gorgeous places we’ve ever been.
My husband and I stayed in Mariposa, surely the most wonderful of the casitas because it backs up to the jungle, and is therefore more private than some of the others. In addition to the lovely outdoor shower, it has a gorgeous outdoor bathtub. Every day our room was decorated with tropical flowers, and it was always spotless. Our parents stayed in two other casitas, equally beautiful though a bit less private. Our siblings lived in Casa Miramar, a terrific open air house. They were up for the ½ mile walk to and from the lodge and enjoyed the privacy that afforded.
Every morning we woke to howler monkeys, and near dusk the scarlet macaws cawed and soared overhead. We saw white-faced monkeys, coatis, huge blue butterflies, and toucans on the immediate grounds of Bosque almost every day. Some great hikes allowed us to see poison dart frogs, beautiful birds, and more monkeys. The flora and fauna were stunning.
Phil and Kim have a true commitment to low impact living while still providing the most luxurious of stays; the soap is organic and biodegradable, there are few lights in the cabins, and the food is perhaps exclusively locally grown.
The meals were fantastic and served buffet style. There were eleven people in our party, so we sat with just our group, which was lovely. Miguel cooked dynamite seafood, beef, pork, and outstanding vegetables and fruits. Each day at happy hour, complimentary appetizers were laid out by the bar, located next to the pool. The appetizers and frozen drink concoctions were terrific. Both the bar and restaurant staff were impeccable and always ready with a friendly smile. Jose not only worked at the bar and provided gorgeous flowers for our wedding, but he also serenaded us with Spanish songs played on his guitar.
Part of the reason we chose Bosque for our wedding was so everyone in our party would be able to participate in a variety of activities. Gerly at the front desk was always ready to help us with any excursion. We enjoyed the zip line, guided nature tours, surfing, massages, fishing, and rappelling from waterfalls. Perhaps best of all, we could take a number of different hikes on our own throughout the grounds to discover such beautiful places as the tide pools of the Pacific, waterfalls that run into the ocean, swimming holes, different types of rainforests- almost all of it virtually our own even in the high season. I think we could have stayed a month at Bosque and still have plenty more to see and do.
For us, Bosque del Cabo was the perfect place to get married. The owners not only helped us arrange all of the details, but they also attended our wedding, took pictures and video, and helped organize photographs. At Kim’s suggestion, we had the ceremony at Casa Miramar overlooking the Pacific at sunset, and it simply couldn’t have been more perfect. We had asked for beer and margaritas to toast with after the ceremony, and again our expectations were exceeded when two flavors of margaritas as well as a fantastic array of appetizers were provided. It was heavenly. Mauriciou, the gentlemen who married us, was fun, professional, and he, Kim, and Phil felt like old friends by the time the ceremony was over.
It was an absolutely fantastic trip, and we feel so blessed to have started our official life as a couple at Bosque del Cabo surrounded by such big-hearted people living and working in such a gorgeous place.

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ustogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews