We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$1,108
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$996
View deal
Priceline
US$1,108
US$945
View deal
SAVE US$163
AutographUS$996
Hotels.comUS$996
Orbitz.comUS$996
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
182
23
5
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
182
23
5
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf cart atlantic side oceanfront villa the general manager fitness center pink sand rental car minute ride fish tacos beyond the call of duty long beach caribbean islands the entire staff a special place relaxing vacation natural beauty pineapple
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 225 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2021

Karell and all the people here at French Leave are fantastic. We have been here twice and we will be back again. Beautiful accommodations, beautiful views and great food make the trip special indeed. Thanks to everyone for making our trip wonderful.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BullDogPadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2020 via mobile

My wife and I arrived yesterday to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and her birthday (I’m not allowed to say how many years ). Upon our arrival we were greeted by the most exceptional resort and an equally exceptional staff.

I look forward to leaving a more detailed review upon our departure. We have had the good fortune of traveling extensively throughout the globe and have experienced many extraordinary destinations- Thus far, the French Leave Resort is a solid 10 out of 10.

Derek/Debbie

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank GlobeTrotting768691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2020

My husband and I absolutely loved our week long stay at French Leave. We rented an oceanfront villa which allowed us to wake up to beautiful views of the Caribbean and nightly sunsets from our balcony. The villa was extremely comfortable and very tastefully decorated. We enjoyed the espresso coffee throughout the day and it was fun to have a golf cart, equipped with a cooler, to head over to stunning French Leave Beach (a four minute ride from our Villa). We also enjoyed the stunning infinity pool and hot tub, both in full view of the gorgeous Caribbean. Lots of privacy at the pool and on the beach every day. We also took advantage of snorkeling (so-so) and kayaking (wonderful) on the Caribbean side.

The Restaurant, 1648, was excellent. We enjoyed breakfast there one morning and had two of our best dinners at 1648 during our stay. I highly recommend the French Leave Resort to anyone who is interested in having a very relaxing, peaceful vacation in STUNNING surroundings. Shout out to ALL the employees.... they are friendly, helpful are really there to help guests enjoy every minute at the resort.

Room tip: I don't think you can get a bad room at this resort. Just GO!!!
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Spicegirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2020

The French Leave Resort is a hidden gem. The property is immaculately kept and offers spectacular, untouched, natural beauty. The Villa’s are clean, well laid-out, and offer plenty of amenities. We preferred the Full Ocean View Villa for the most amazing sights and awesome sunsets. Each Villa comes with its own golf-cart, and access to kayaking, snorkeling, and surfboarding equipment whenever you like. There is a large pool on the property as well as a very good restaurant (1648) open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The French Leave beach is a quick golf-cart ride from the Villas. The beach itself is quite large and very secluded with pink soft sand and clear aqua blue waters. Aside from the natural beauty and seclusion at French Leave, another notable and commendable feature is the professional service. The service here is way above par. They go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one. Room service and other requests were handled quickly, if not immediately, and efficiently. Chuck, the General Manager, is an excellent host who makes you feel right at home at his wonderful resort. Chuck is totally in tune with his customers and it shows. Jusaid and Donnoy seemed like they were always there to assist with whatever request we had. Koral was excellent at recommending and booking dinners, coordinating transportation, and handling the check-out process. All amazing people who made our stay as close to perfect as you could possibly get.

Date of stay: February 2020
1  Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2020

Far more in-line with the spirit of the Autograph Collection than many of Marriott's beach-y resorts, this is a go-to if you are looking for a quieter and more secluded beach vacation. Some of that is likely due to the location, and some of that it likely due to the cost of entry, but if you are looking for quiet and private and can get here, it's worth the visit.

If you fly into GHB, it's about a 20-minute ride by car. Don't expect there to be a line of taxis waiting to take you, but there is probably someone there. If you only plan to hang around the property or take an excursion into Governor's Harbour, this is fine; otherwise, you really are going to want a rental car (parking is free at the resort, by the way). Be aware that it can alternate between downpours and sunshine in a matter of minutes, so be prepared if you walk to town on a day with a chance of rain not to get caught in it (or be willing to wait it out). It looks like it's possible to also dock a boat at the property and come aboard, and one day at breakfast I did see a sailboat docked, but don't hold me to it as I don't know the specific policy around that. There are two large wooden piers attached to the property, though.

The property itself is exactly what you're expecting. It's nice, it's clean, and it's private. The pool was never crowded. The restaurant was never crowded. The beach was never crowded. The fitness room was never crowded. You get the idea. There's only 20 villas on the property, so it can never really get too busy, even when full. I actually think there might be more staff working on the property than there are guests on a typical day.

The villas are great. The soundproofing is such that when you close the doors, you won't hear the golf carts drive by, you won't hear the waves crashing, and you won't hear any but the loudest of guests as they walk by. The beds are comfortable and bathroom has a separate toilet room for added privacy. There's enough room in the refrigerator to put in some of your own drinks, and you have in-room ice.

The fitness room (wait, people work out on vacation?) is passable, but not private-spa quality if that's what you want. It has treadmills and elliptical machines and few free weights, but don't expect a full gym here.

The pool is small but still pretty empty. There's also a hot tub nearby which is hot some days and warm others and can be a bit noisy with the machinery and pumps.

The restaurant (1648) is lovely and one of the better restaurants on Eleuthera, but if you're a foodie you need to check your expectations at the door. In a major city, this place would be rather average, but given the dearth of options on the island it rises up near the top. It's also one of the very few places where you can pay with a credit card (though you'll just be charging it to your room). For the elites expecting a free breakfast here: no. As a Titanium, I had the option of points or breakfast vouchers; I took the vouchers which are good for a free continental offering (not a buffet, but yogurt plus either a bagel or guava duff muffin) or $12 off per person on the menu. The typical entree is $20-$30 at breakfast, so this will drop your bill from $50+ for two to around $10-30.

You receive a golf cart with your room to drive over to the Atlantic-side beach (French Leave), making that trek much easier. This also gives you easy access to both Caribbean and Atlantic beaches from the same property, which is very useful as on any given day one side is calm and the other rough.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank F2826XGjasont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews