We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
7 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$996
View deal
Hotels.com
US$996
View deal
Priceline
US$1,108
US$945
View deal
SAVE US$163
Booking.comUS$1,108
AutographUS$996
eDreamsUS$1,108
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
179
23
5
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
179
23
5
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf cart atlantic side oceanfront villa the general manager fitness center pink sand rental car minute ride fish tacos beyond the call of duty long beach caribbean islands the entire staff a special place relaxing vacation natural beauty pineapple
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2019

This is a beautiful resort. I would recommend this place if you are looking to get away and just relax. A golf cart is provided with a cooler to get you to the most amazing pink sanded beach. The general manager and staff were very friendly. The restaurant food was very good, we ate on the patio for breakfast but would not recommend the patio at night as there were many bugs. The service was a bit "leisure" but we had nothing but time so it was fine to sit back and just enjoy the view. I think having a fire pit and some games such as corn hole would have been a nice added feature. There was a hot tub but it was not working. We took a walk to see the island but would not recommend since the road is very narrow and there is no sidewalk. There was one general store that is not far from the resort. We took a car to a nearby restaurant which was a bit pricey $20 for each way, which was more than our lunch. I would not recommend this resort for children, this is more of a relaxing place for adults. It was definitely a trip I will not forget.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank VRON215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck D, General Manager at French Leave Resort, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2019

So glad to hear that you were able to get away and just relax at French Leave Resort! It's definitely a great place to enjoy Caribbean views from the swimming pool and the pink sand of our French Leave Beach on the Atlantic Ocean.

Thanks for your fire pit suggestion. We think that's a great idea and we are working on it! Imagine some comfortable Adirondack chairs surrounding the fire pit near our pool, your favorite island beverage in hand as you watch the fiery sun sink into the Caribbean.

My apologies that you had issues with the hot tub. Our hot tub is generally up and running 24 hours a day and located near our swimming pool. We cover the hot tub from 10pm - 7am and keep the temperature at 102 degrees for the comfort of our guests.

There is a lot to see and do north and south of our centrally located resort on the Island of Eleuthera. It's fun to explore the nearby town of Governor's Harbour, but as you point out, roads are narrow and you have to be careful. Thanks again for joining us and we're happy to hear that it was a trip you will not forget!

Best wishes,

Chuck Donnelly
General Manager
French Leave Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2019

I'm not one to post messages, in fact this is my 1st post ever in 30 years of travel. As a frequent traveler, the French Leave Resort was the best vacation hotel ever (me and my wife only on this trip). The FLR was top notch. Service was impeccable. Special thanks to Nigel, Shamario, Chuck, and the entire restaurant and housekeeping staff. Rooms are well appointed with coffee makers, bottled water, ICE ICE and more ICE. The FLR beach was amazing. Extremely private and easy to access with the golf cart the resort provides. The FLR app is awesome. Just add your service requests like bath products, coffee, ice, room service, housekeeping, etc. and your request shows up at the time you specify. The chef in the restaurant is great, not only with the entrees they create but also with special requests like preparing fresh fish that we purchased at the local market. The resort is in proximity with a small town that has a few restaurants and grocery stores. Truly are great experience!

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank chuck m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck D, General Manager at French Leave Resort, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2019

Chuck M,

We know how busy people are and how hard they work, so that they can enjoy their vacation experience. We are truly honored that you took the time to post your first review on Trip Advisor in 30 years of travel about French Leave Resort!

So glad to hear that you and your wife enjoyed the resort, the service, 1648 An Island Restaurant and of course our secluded French Leave Beach on the Atlantic Ocean.

Thanks for mentioning our French Leave I-Pads and the FLR app. There's one in every guest room and as you noted it makes it easy for you to make requests from room service to bath products; coffee, blankets, pillows, ice and much more. Now, we are on a remote island and some days are better than others for internet - but we do our absolute best to deliver anything you need within the time that you request it.

I'll ensure that I let Executive Chef Merez Culmer and his Culinary Team know that you enjoyed dining at the restaurant and glad to hear the we could prepare the fresh fish you bought at the local market. 1648 An Island Restaurant is renowned for their fresh Grouper and Conch - provided consistently by the same local Eleutheran fisherman day after day. And if you go out on a fishing expedition - we'll also prepare your own personal catch of the day and serve it with an amazing Caribbean cocktail and sunset!

Thanks again for joining us!


Chuck Donnelly
General Manager
French Leave Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2019

There are great resorts all around the world but the quaint nature of French Leave coupled with the pristine beauty of the surroundings and especially the people make this resort stand out way above the rest!

We have been fortunate enough to return to French Leave now for 3 years in a row and have stayed in all rooms types from an Ocean View to Ocean Front and most recently the Royal Island House and every single accommodation is gorgeous and absolutely perfect in every way. And what’s better than each villa equipped with a golf cart complete with cooler on the back to get you around and keep beverages cold? Additionally, you will go to sleep in your gorgeous villa with a full stomach after a most delicious meal at 1648 while overlooking a breathtaking view of the bay.

Additionally, the French Leave beach is among the most amazing in the world. The pink tones to the beautiful sugar sand and the crystal clear water are perfection.

But it is not the beautiful accommodations, delicious food at the 1648 Island Restaurant onsite or beaches that makes French Leave so special...it is the people. The staff, the quality of service and the desire to please is what separates French Leave from all others. Each individual from Housekeeping to wait staff to Chuck Donnelly, the General Manager of the Resort takes the time to connect with guests and understand what makes their vacation special. They remember your visits and truly form a genuine bond. They go out of their way to show they care and ensure the guest feels appreciated and relaxed.

Some superstar people who stick out in our mind are of course Chuck Donnelly, General Manager, who always has a smile on his face and is eager to please. The trust and followership he has built within his team is evident from the first encounter. Chuck truly went above and beyond in so many ways starting even before we arrived and up until the last minute upon departure when our plane was delayed and we feared it might be cancelled. Chuck knows guests by name and went to great lengths to ensure we had the best anniversary and belated birthday celebrations we could ever dream of. He truly is exceptional!

Of course, Shamario, Nigel and Torez who have been consistent smiling faces over the years. Such kind, genuine and special people. We cannot say enough good things.

And our stay would not have been complete without laughs and great service from Donn, Lucius, Rudy, Rasheed, Gary and many others.

We are grateful for the experience and stay at beautiful French Leave and look forward to returning next year.

Jenn P. (Jupiter, FL)

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank JenniferW5616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck D, General Manager at French Leave Resort, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2019

Jenn,

We are very lucky at French Leave Resort to be located on the beautiful Island of Eleuthera (Bahamas) with our 20 Villas, swimming pool and 1648 An Island Restaurant situated right on the Caribbean Ocean. And we're only a short golf cart ride over to the secluded pink sand of French Leave Beach on the Atlantic Ocean. But there are many amazing four and five diamond resorts around the world that have fantastic locations and awesome lodging/dining facilities. So what sets French Leave Resort apart from the others - you told us:

"But it is not the beautiful accommodations, delicious food at the 1648 Island Restaurant onsite or beaches that makes French Leave so special...it is the people. The staff, the quality of service and the desire to please is what separates French Leave from all others."

We're so glad that you came back to join us for your third year and feel comfortable at French Leave Resort! Thanks for checking out our new Royal Island House. While the Royal Island House is designed as a four bedroom villa with it's own private pool right on the Caribbean - each individual villa can 'lock off' to rent any portion of the House that you want (based on availability). With your family, it seemed just right to stay in two of the king villas; sharing and situated on each side of the common area living room, dining area and full, modern kitchen.

We're always happy when our guests are happy and satisfied - but we want you to know that we really appreciate your review and your tag line, "French Leave Resort is Exceptional in Every Possible Way"!!

We'll be looking forward to seeing you next June and wish you and your family the best until then!


Thanks,


Chuck Donnelly
General Manager
French Leave Resort



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2019

*
My family and I have been going to the beautiful French Leave resort for now 3 years. Every year it is so pleasurable. Everybody makes a special connection with you and somehow always know your name. No complaints ever. There are so many activities to do like snorkeling, kayaking into town, going to the pool, going to the beach, paddle boarding and much more! The general Manager, Mr. Chuck always has a smile on his face and makes sure everything is to your standard. The house keeping staff are always so helpful and they too always are smiling. All the waitresses take time to talk to you and get to know you. All of them are standouts for sure. Words cannot explain how amazing all of the connections you make are. People like Ms. Sienna, Mr. Torez, Mr.Chuck, Mr.Gary, Mr. Nigel, Shamario, Mr.Donn, Mr.Lucius, Mr.Rasheed and I feel bad because I can’t name the others but they are all just the sweetest. We are for sure coming back next year. Also, they set you up with amazing drivers.(The lemonade is amazing) (Bring crackers to feed the fish)Thanks to the multiple activities, caring and passionate workers, and management / cleaning I would like to come back every year. Thankyou!

From,

Kaitlin P (11 y/o) Florida

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kaitlin_Parungao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck D, General Manager at French Leave Resort, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2019

Kaitlin,

We are so excited that you took the time to write a review of French Leave Resort and we want all our readers to note that you are eleven years old! I have ensured that I shared your review with our Staff, especially those that you talked about.

We appreciate that you and your family have now come back to French Leave Resort for three years and we're glad that you had a chance to check out so many cool activities during your stay: snorkeling, kayaking, paddle boarding and of course relaxing at the pool overlooking the Caribbean and having fun at French Leave Beach on the Atlantic Ocean.

Kaitlin, what makes you wise beyond your years is the fact that you noticed that people help make your vacation special. I'm glad that you and your family connected with Staff from so many departments throughout the resort and got to know them and share your stories and adventures. Letting Staff know that they are caring and passionate is so appreciated!

I'll end by noting two of your thoughts that could have been written by mature adult authors, but came from your heart. "Everybody makes a special connection with you and somehow always knows your name." and "Words cannot explain how amazing all of the connections you make are"!!

We'll be looking forward to seeing you and your family next year - we've already got a special Villa with your name on it!!

Best wishes,

Chuck Donnelly
General Manager
French Leave Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2019

Great views of the harbor, golf carts to the beach and lovely rooms to sleep in. We normally rent a house while in Eleuthera but our flight was cancelled so we stayed one night at French Leave. We were delighted to get to experience how lovely this resort is. It offers a great view of the harbor but then just a quick and fun golf cart ride to one of the best beaches on the island. We also enjoyed a very nice dinner on the patio and great breakfast before heading back to the airport. The staff was so friendly and greeted us with lots of smiles, if we ever stay on island for just a few days French Leave would be our first pick!

Room tip: Be sure to golf cart to the beach!
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank loves2travel1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck D, General Manager at French Leave Resort, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2019

Thanks very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at French Leave Resort! Perhaps karma intervened in your flight being cancelled and getting a chance to check us out! Seems like you captured the essence of French Leave Resort during your brief but enjoyable stay. We agree that our golf carts make it fun to visit French Leave Beach and so glad that you enjoyed 1648 An Island Restaurant.

Thanks again!

Chuck Donnelly
General Manager
French Leave Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews