We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing getaway!”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of house from sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of house from sea
Kitchen Living Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Front of house from sea
Kitchen
Living Area
Sunset from the porch
Moon rise from porch
From the porch
Looking west from porch
Water entry & palapa from porch
Master bedroom #1
Master Bedroom #2
Bathroom #2
Bedroom #3
Club Med - across the highway
Club Med
Gregory Town
Rainbow Bay
Snorkeling at Rainbow
Sky Beach Resort
Lighthouse Beach
Whiteland Beach
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Governor's Harbour, Eleuthera, Out Islands, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gwydion01
Philadelphia, PA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing getaway!”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a week over the Christmas holiday and it was a perfect way to get away from it all during the stressful holiday season.

The location is ideal, about halfway between the northern and southern tips of the island, making it easy to take excursions to see all that Eleuthera has to offer. It is also close (but not too close) to Governor's Harbor, which is the biggest town on the island and a good place to stock up on supplies as well as the home of a number of great restaurants.

The house itself has all the amenities of home, plus a screened in porch and water access for snorkeling, swimming, or kayaking right from the tiki hut on the back deck. The furnishings are comfortable and attractive, and snorkeling gear and a kayak are provided if you don't have your own. Also, inner tubes, a gas grill, guide books, DVD's, sun screen, spices, full kitchen with appliances and cookware, you name it you got it. There were only 2 of us, but the place can easily sleep 6 or so comfortably, and there is enough room (plus the deck/tiki area) that it won't feel crowded even at capacity.

Many of the details are covered in other reviews, so I won't repeat them here, but I will happily and enthusiastically echo the recommendation to stay at this fabulous vacation rental on a beautiful and mainly unspoiled island paradise. Barry and Chad (the caretakers) are very helpful. Chad may be the nicest woman in the world, and Barry rented us a sturdy 4 wheel drive jeep for our stay (definitely needed, as the drive onto and out of the property is quite steep, and as many of the best beaches on the island are accessed well off of the main road). We even ran into Chad at the local fish fry and her children are wonderful as well.

I almost didn't want to post this review, as I don't want this place to become more popular and harder to book, but Kerry put so much effort into making this a truly special place that even though I delayed adding my review I ended up feeling bad not acknowledging it. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XGOTravel...
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed the last week of July and were lucky to have amazing weather! The house is beautiful, clean and well-stocked. The teenagers loved snorkeling off the deck and saw a ray, starfish and grouper right there. A fire at the Hatchet Bay electrical plant kept the power off overnight and into one day, but it was not unbearable in the house -- we just went to Sky Beach Club and had a few drinks in the pool there. We bought fresh fish at James Cistern and cooked it on the barbecue at the house. The rest of the time we spent touring around to Spanish Wells, Ocean Hole, French Leave and Poponi beaches, Gregorytown, etc. in a car we rented from Barry Cadet, the caretaker. The house was very comfortable for 2 couples and two teenagers, and we would definitely stay there again. I recommend bringing your own snorkeling and fishing gear if you enjoy these sports. And please feed the dog!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion
Liked least: It's not on a traditional sandy beach
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S
Prospect, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beyond our Expectations”
Reviewed 25 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Okay, we all know expectations play a large role in how we perceive and evaluate things places etc. Having said that Caribbean Blue exceeded our expectations and is the kind of place should we ever own a vacation home that we would hope to share with others. You can tell the owners and property manager go above and beyond to make sure you are comfortable. We loved the location as it is private but close enough to town. The property itself is very clean and inviting and we look forward to bringing our son and friend there upon our return. Unfortunately the weather was not the best but we made the best of it! That was made easier by the owner's movie collection and audio visual system...thanks! I am sure there are fancier properties but I do not know what more you could want or need. Note: we rented a vehicle from the property manager and would strongly recommend you do the same when visiting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seclusion and location
Liked least: The road LOL!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2016
Kristi and Craig,
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Caribbean Blue in our small piece of paradise. The Cadets are wonderful; fulfilling our dream would have been impossible without them! Please make plans to return and hopefully the weather will cooperate. Thanks!

Regards,
Joyce, John, and Kerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minibush
Saint Peter, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Secluded Getaway”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Caribbean Blue was fantastic! It's a great location, close to Governor's Harbor on the Caribbean side of the island. If you want to visit the Atlantic side, it's easy to drive across the road and a mile or two down to the Sky Beach Club where you can access the beach and then have lunch and drinks when you get tired.
The owners have taken care of all your needs. There is a beautiful cabaña on a cement pad right next to the water where we spent lots of time. There's an easy ladder to get into the water and perfectly calm Caribbean sea for snorkeling, swimming, or kayaking. The two person sea kayak was a great amenity. And it's so secluded, you can shower outside under the stars every night. The nearest properties- one on each side- you can only see the rooftop of one, and the other is closer but you can't see it from the house or deck.
We rented a car from the owner's caretaker. It was a 4 wheel drive CRV, reliable and nice to have on the rough island roads. If you want to go out to eat, there are lots of good options not too far away. This was a real bargain for Eleuthera.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calicroww...
atlantic canada
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Amazing home away from home”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Part of me wants to keep this place secret because it is so special but part of me wants to 'share the love' and lucky for you the lovie me takes precedence. This is a wonderful rental with all the amenities you will need; air conditioning, outdoor shower, barbecue, great kitchen, comfy beds, tv and satellite (if you actually need it), ladder to the ocean for snorkeling and swimming, tiki hut, etc. It has an outstanding private view of Balara Bay. It is near everything; we got our food at an organic market 10 minutes away, our favourite beach was 5 minutes away, town was 3 minutes. Location, location, location. I can't say enough lovely things about this place. Enjoy - just not when I want to rent again! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The newness and quality of house, the location, the privacy, the price.
Liked least: that I couldn't stay longer!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$200
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing