We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
47
11
1
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
47
11
1
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel pizza night the wood fired oven rehearsal dinner pristine beach long stretch pink sand ocean front tom mojito kia julian paradise bites property shakira seclusion
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2019

This is the restaurant review. Gorgeous beachside/poolside location. Open concept kitchen. Food is excellent. Desserts are awful. We had the worst creme brulee, it was partially raw and hadn't settled. Most sit down restaurants is Bahamas are expensive (like 2-3 times as compared to US), and all of them will add 15% gratuity and VAT tax. This restaurant adds 18% gratuity. Most importantly I think the servers/waiters need to be trained further. We were a group of 8. Our appetizers came after our entrees. Our server forgot to put the order in for 2 entrees and 2 of us had to wait for the dishes after everyone else had finished eating. We had to ask him 3 times to bring in the dessert menu. We went during the Karaoke night which was a flop. There was no mike. They started streaming youtube videos at 7 pm but everyone left by 9 pm and they hadn't started the karaoke. The saving grace is that the food is very good. $50-60 per person without drinks.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AmirMasoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasM8740, Owner at La Bougainvillea, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2019

Good afternoon,
We appreciate your review and apologize if your experience wasn't all you had hoped for.
We work very hard trying to improve ourselves.
We still hope that you enjoyed your time with us and in Eleuthera.
Best,

Alexia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2019

We tried to get into Tippy’s 3 times while vacationing in Eleuthera...no luck. We got into La Bougainvillea very easily because nobody was there except for one couple at the bar. We were a party of 10. The first thing the server did was put a rock glass in front of everyone and started pouring Fiji water and they continued this until dinner was thru. Then the bill came and each couple was charged $10 for water they didn’t order. Yes, we drank the water but I can tell you we wouldn’t have if we had known we’d be charged. This should be announced up front. The 10 of us aren’t cheap by any means but this was considered by all to be under-handed. Food was very good. Prices were good by Eleuthera standards. Bathrooms are in a separate building some distance from the dining area. The location did not appear to be handicapped accessible.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank llilly57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labougainvillea, General Manager at La Bougainvillea, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2019

Dear Lily,

Thank you for your important review. We are truly disappointed to hear about not meeting your expectations with service. We will ensure this shall not happen to let any of our guest experience like you experienced! Please know that that we are doing everything we can to become better, each and every day!.
We are thrilled though that you enjoyed our cuisine.
The beach front restaurant restrooms are outside but we also have the Inside restaurant that has restrooms inside and guess this was not informed too. We truly apologize for not meeting your expectations this time but we hope you return to experience better.

Thank you for your taking your time to review us, we do appreciate this. Take care and warm regards from the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2019

My wife and I went two weeks ago to La Bougainvillea. Landing at the airport was an adventure in itself. The terminal is smaller than my garage, but it is a small island so we expected that, but we made to the hotel okay. Our first impression was like that old movie "Arabian Nights", it quickly turned into "Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves". It is more like a religious retreat without the religion, than a hotel. You have to walk through the dining room to go anywhere, to your room, to the front desk, outside, and so do other people, if you are eating for dinner, like other guest , maintenance, and housekeeping. There are also puppies roaming around. Everyone loves puppies, and so do I. I just don't want them peeing on the floor while I'm eating, and the waiters having to clean it up and then serve me food. In your room, there is no TV, no phone to call the desk or to make a food order. If you want to order breakfast, out your door in the morning you have to walk around until you find someone. I want to be able to decide for myself if I want to watch TV or not. The soap, shampoo. and conditioner bottles are attached to the wall in the shower in inverted bottles, like old time ketchup dispensers. The soap bottle in the bath is a home style kitchen soap dispenser. At your home that may be okay, but in a resort that is not, especially one that claims to be 4 or 5 star. You don't know when that was cleaned or if that is even sanitary. How many people have used that before you? They advertise a heated pool. No one used it the week we were there because it was cold. It is probably heated when it's 90 degrees outside. There are no amenities to speak of. If you are going to eat there 3 meals a day figure on about $300 for 2 people, not including alcohol. the food is pretty good, but it is not always delivered hot or warm. The service is not the best. They will claim island time, mon. I say lazy, mon. One day a housekeeping person asked me if I wanted my room cleaned, I expected my room cleaned everyday at those prices. We left for the day, but when we got back around 4 p.m. it hadn't been cleaned and we had to find someone to clean it. They were working on another dining area while we were there, next to the kitchen, which is in another building. Hopefully they will move all dining to that area. Some people give this place 4 or 5 stars. Either they don't travel much, or they have low expectations. We travel a lot and don't mind paying for what we get. This place is over priced and over rated by most people. Go somewhere else while you still can decide.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Faron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labougainvillea, Manager at La Bougainvillea, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2019

Dear Faron,

Thank you for your reviews in detail. We are very disappointed to learn through your reviews that we did not meet your expectations in most areas. we really have taken your feedbacks to heart and all of our team are sad that not nearly enough was done to impress you.
Immediately after learning that how you have experienced with our mostly loved by guest puppies, we have removed them to a different location, in order to ensure no other dear guest experience. We truly apologize and trust us, this shall, not happen again in future visits or for any of our future guests. You will have everything including TV. The shampoo/conditioner/body wash are always changed and refilled. We are all working harder each day to get better and your feedback has been shared with all of our staff so that we learn from our mistakes and continue to grow.

We know this cannot make up for imperfect impressions you experienced from this trip but I want to assure you that we will do whatever we can to improve this and hope you will return for better experience in future.

Warmest regards from the Team at La Bougainvillea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2019

Went there last week , party of 6 - as we were dining there were 2 puppies wandering about under everyone's feet ...peeing !!!! The waitress stepped in one puddle ! Pricey and the food medeocre! Make a pass on this one !

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kerryascanlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labougainvillea, Manager at La Bougainvillea, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2019

Dear Kerry,

Thank you for your review.
We are disappointed to hear that your experience in the restaurant was not pleasant with the puppies and the prices. we have removed the puppies from the property to a different location to avoid future complaints. We keep the menu prices low as possible while not compromising the quality of the food and the service. Our rates are as low as other restaurants and we ensure to keep our guest happy. But we promise to keep it to the lowest as possible while our guest still enjoys the best quality. The prices differ a bit when you want to serve everything fresh fishes, lobster, stone crab and fresh vegetables, but we assure to keep it low as possible.
we take your feedback to our hearts and hope you will return for the better experience in the future, while experiencing the fresh seafood and vegetables.

warmest regards, Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2019 via mobile

Very welcoming staff and Manager for lunch and hanging out till 4:30 to watch NFL playoff game between Colts & Chiefs Sat. They did not mind us having lunch and using the pool area and bar till the game at 4:30. We had the TV to ourselves and dinner while watching game. We had excellent “tailgate” service and they were very friendly as all people are on this island!
Pricey by some I am sure but less expensive than a ticket to game!!! Will return for excellent meals!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ConnieS579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labougainvillea, Manager at La Bougainvillea, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2019

Dear Connie,

Thank you for your kind review! we are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed hanging out by our pool and watching NFL wile enjoying the great food from our amazing chefs.
We will ensure our prices are reviewed and kept low as possible without compromising the qualities.
We hope to have you all back with us again in the near future.

Warm Regards from the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews