We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
US$389
US$378
View deal
StayForLongUS$389
TripadvisorUS$378
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
47
11
1
0
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
47
11
1
0
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel pizza night the wood fired oven rehearsal dinner pristine beach long stretch pink sand ocean front tom mojito kia julian paradise bites property shakira seclusion
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2018

While Staff were friendly and tried to be helpful, they did seam a bit distant. The owner Tom is a nice guy and appears that he tries to accommodate his guest. While place was nice and has a beautiful pool, I couldn't give them 5 stars, because room was located in the main lobby area, and not as clean as a room should be. There seamed to be a feeling of cost cutting, as there was no garbage can in the room, very little toilet paper, even soap was lacking.
I would stay again, but it would not be my first choice!

Date of stay: November 2018
1  Thank yupyup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasM8740, Manager at La Bougainvillea, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2018

Hi there!
We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experience and we appreciate your feedback as we are always trying to improve the quality of service we provide. We still appreciate the 4 stars! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.
All the best,

Alexia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2018 via mobile

Oh my goodness if I could give this hotel a 100 starts I would do! It is simply perfect. Our room was large spacious and with a fabulously comfortable bed we overlooked the ocean. Every detail was taken care of and as the staff said to us they wanted us to feel at home and we did. Lovely outdoor space to sit and relax tables and chair as well as a large day bed. Fantastic infinity swimming pool and super loungers then further loungers over looking the sea. A few seconds walk to the beach which again is simply stunning and unspoilt. The food is exceptional. Excellent choice and their French chef always has daily specialties. I honestly cannot fault this hotel and cannot recommend it highly enough. I have to thank Thomas (owner) and Kezang (manager) for giving us the most perfectstay in paradise.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Oliverwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kesang D, General Manager at La Bougainvillea, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2018

Dear Mrs. Dennis, Thank you for your kind review and we are all thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have you again soon with your families.
Warmest regards from all of us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2018

Amazing location, fantastic beach & beautiful infinity pool. Our experience at La Bougainvillea was exceptional, the room was beautiful, the food (thanks to their French chef) was exceptional and the location better than anywhere else I have ever stayed. The staff are (almost all) friendly and attentive without being intrusive and do everything they can to make your experience on the island completely perfect. We would recommend hiring a car to explore Harbour Island and Spanish Wells which are both less than an hour away BUT make sure you take lots of insect repellant as the local bugs are viscous and without it you will be bitten constantly !
Overall a brief experience of what can only be described as paradise, the bill won't be small but still excellent value for money and this is definitely the best hotel we have ever stayed in on a visit to the Bahamas.
Give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: November 2018
1  Thank adriangdennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasM8740, Manager at La Bougainvillea, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2018

Hi Dennis,
Thank you so much for your kind review and we hope you will stay again with us in the future!
All the best,

Alexia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2018

La Bougainvillea is nicely situated about a 10-minute drive south of the town of Governor's Harbour, roughly halfway between the northern and southern ends of Eleuthera. It is as private and secluded as you could want, perfect for having one of its well-made, honest cocktails while looking out at what amounts to your own personal beach. We spent five nights here, and each night we grew increasingly fond of this genuine getaway. Our room, Room 10, looked out over the infinite pool blending into the ocean. It was spacious, modern, clean and comfortable. Tom the owner was most helpful in providing information about things to do, and especially in setting us up with one of the staff members, Horatio, for a half-day private boat tour along the coast. We highly recommend that you use Horatio's services if you have any interest in getting out on the water, whether for fishing, snorkeling, or sight-seeing. You do absolutely need a car while here -- no place to walk to (except of course the beach itself). If you are inexperienced at driving on the left, you can find no easier introduction than Eleuthera. Anyway, many thanks to the congenial and interesting staff at La Bougainvillea for making our visit so much fun.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank speedy45rpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasM8740, Manager at La Bougainvillea, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2018

Good afternoon,
We are deeply grateful for your detailed and kind review and we are so happy we were able to make your trip a memorable one! We hope to see you again in the future.
Best regards,

Alexia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

Our family came to La Bougainvillea for dinner one evening and it was pure magic. The views were stunning, the food incredible, the decor charming and the service excellent. Highly recommend this gem of a resort!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasM8740, Manager at La Bougainvillea, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2018

Hi Rachel,
We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us and we hope you will visit us again for a night of great dining and live entertainment or maybe for a weekend getaway! Also keep in my mind that we are proud to host special events such as weddings or health retreats.
See you soon!

Best,

Alexia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews