We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
travelup.com
StayForLong
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
107
71
16
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
107
71
16
4
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2019

Five of us travelled from Barbados for a week so that we could experience good snorkelling and diving. Sadly it was lacking and the staff should have been more helpful. There was no diving being offered with the dive shop closed some years ago. The hotel speed boat was available but at a cost of 1000 US dollars per day.

Consequently the boat stayed attached to its mooring all week. There were kayaks and other water equipment available but the only hobie cat was broken and no attempt to have it fixed.

The hotel is beautifully situated on a sandy bay, and always a changing vista with sailing boats coming in to moore overnight, and use the hotel facilities.

We were in main season but only 22 guests when we arrived including ourselves which dwindled down to just the five of us on our last night with no other guests due in until the following weekend.

We had adjacent rooms on the ground floor, which were comfortable and clean but could do with a little updating (badly stained toilet) and no ceiling fan.

The main restaurant remained closed all week due to lack of guests. The Pirates bar was reasonable with not a lot of change in menu on the daily specials but a varied choice with a very Italian influence of pizzas and pastas.

The hotel staff were all excellent and are a credit to the hotel either on reception, beach or restaurant.

Just a shame it lacked atmosphere, and guests.

Room tip: ground floor rooms can hear guest moving about in the upstairs rooms
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Allan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2019 via mobile

Was due to stay at this hotel for a week in Feb / March - got stuck in Barbados with no available flights to St Vincent’s/Canouan. My wife devasted and in tears she missed her much looked for holiday. Phoned hotel and booking.com to cancel, offered to pay night we missed but hotel insisted we pay $2000k for whole stay and no refund. My wife already upset was reduced to tears by their lack of understanding and sympathy.

Disgusted by their behaviour and no attempt to help us at at all. Still very, very upset and stuck in Barbados

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Globetrotter6niner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2019

Every room has a spectacular view of the pristine beach & turquoise Caribbean Sea. The Staff is super friendly & attentive - our Beach attendant Floyd had our towels & chairs ready every morning & was super helpful throughout our stay. The restaurant is spectacular - the Italian chef makes everything fresh daily, including all of the pasta & bread from scratch, and the ocean front setting is simply beautiful. We had one of our most relaxing stays ever!

Room tip: The Villas are more spacious & the upstairs rooms have vaulted ceilings.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2019

We stayed here for a few days to celebrate Valentine's day. We were given a room on the lower level, which was great as it was simply a few steps to the beach. We were right behind the beach bar however, which I guess for some people would be great, but I found it much less private as there were always staff members going in and out of the back door of the bar hut. If we had stayed longer, I would have asked to be moved.

Anyways, the room was fine otherwise; very clean with a comfy bed, windows with louvers that had mosquito screens (necessary!) a small fridge, a ceiling fan (very noisy though!) and lots of drawer and closet space with a personal safe. On our last day, there was a horrible low frequency humming noise which seemed to be coming from the room next door. It was supremely annoying. We assumed it was that room's AC unit. We didn't need AC in our room during our stay due to the cool February temp's and nice breezes. I think that noise would have driven me mad if it was on for the duration of our stay.

The highlight of this hotel is the lovely, clean beach. The staff work diligently to keep the beach clean and tidy. The staff at this hotel are extremely friendly and helpful...all of them. As with all the islands in this country, expect to see stray dogs on the beach and elsewhere; they may come to see you looking for food. As it is with the majority of this country's strays (and there are thousands!), they are not aggressive, just hungry.
:(

Drinks were good, albeit expensive. The food was hit or miss. It helps to understand that this island must import just about all the foodstuffs, so creating fresh tasty dishes is a bit of a challenge for any chef. Make sure you explain to the wait staff how you wish your food to be cooked...as Vincentians tend to overcook everything. For example, if you don't want your morning eggs hard and rubbery, just say so. If you don't want your tuna steaks to be cooked to shoe leather consistency, speak up! The menu is somewhat varied, leaning a bit towards the Italian influence which is not surprising given the ownership and management of this hotel. I would have preferred a bit more local produce; ie: breadfruit, plantain, sweet potatoes, etc. However, the fish and lobster (in season) are local and fresh. Other meats are mostly imported. We liked the Italian deli and we bought some really nice cold cuts, cheese and wine and had that for our lunches on some days.

All in all, a great stay and I would definitely return.

Room tip: Rooms on bottom floor open directly to the beach
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2019

Carscott extensive review from January 2019 is right on. There is not much else to say. i felt the pricing for the food/drinks and room were very reasonable for this quality of a resort. The landscaping was beautiful which shows the detail of how they want to set the seen for you. Only negative was our bed was too soft for us.

Room tip: Ask for upper floor, but it may only be my personal preference. Both floors are good.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hereIamDoorCountyWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews