We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
travelup.com
CheapTickets
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
107
71
16
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
107
71
16
4
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2019 via mobile

Was due to stay at this hotel for a week in Feb / March - got stuck in Barbados with no available flights to St Vincent’s/Canouan. My wife devasted and in tears she missed her much looked for holiday. Phoned hotel and booking.com to cancel, offered to pay night we missed but hotel insisted we pay $2000k for whole stay and no refund. My wife already upset was reduced to tears by their lack of understanding and sympathy.

Disgusted by their behaviour and no attempt to help us at at all. Still very, very upset and stuck in Barbados

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Globetrotter6niner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2019

Every room has a spectacular view of the pristine beach & turquoise Caribbean Sea. The Staff is super friendly & attentive - our Beach attendant Floyd had our towels & chairs ready every morning & was super helpful throughout our stay. The restaurant is spectacular - the Italian chef makes everything fresh daily, including all of the pasta & bread from scratch, and the ocean front setting is simply beautiful. We had one of our most relaxing stays ever!

Room tip: The Villas are more spacious & the upstairs rooms have vaulted ceilings.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2019

We stayed here for a few days to celebrate Valentine's day. We were given a room on the lower level, which was great as it was simply a few steps to the beach. We were right behind the beach bar however, which I guess for some people would be great, but I found it much less private as there were always staff members going in and out of the back door of the bar hut. If we had stayed longer, I would have asked to be moved.

Anyways, the room was fine otherwise; very clean with a comfy bed, windows with louvers that had mosquito screens (necessary!) a small fridge, a ceiling fan (very noisy though!) and lots of drawer and closet space with a personal safe. On our last day, there was a horrible low frequency humming noise which seemed to be coming from the room next door. It was supremely annoying. We assumed it was that room's AC unit. We didn't need AC in our room during our stay due to the cool February temp's and nice breezes. I think that noise would have driven me mad if it was on for the duration of our stay.

The highlight of this hotel is the lovely, clean beach. The staff work diligently to keep the beach clean and tidy. The staff at this hotel are extremely friendly and helpful...all of them. As with all the islands in this country, expect to see stray dogs on the beach and elsewhere; they may come to see you looking for food. As it is with the majority of this country's strays (and there are thousands!), they are not aggressive, just hungry.
:(

Drinks were good, albeit expensive. The food was hit or miss. It helps to understand that this island must import just about all the foodstuffs, so creating fresh tasty dishes is a bit of a challenge for any chef. Make sure you explain to the wait staff how you wish your food to be cooked...as Vincentians tend to overcook everything. For example, if you don't want your morning eggs hard and rubbery, just say so. If you don't want your tuna steaks to be cooked to shoe leather consistency, speak up! The menu is somewhat varied, leaning a bit towards the Italian influence which is not surprising given the ownership and management of this hotel. I would have preferred a bit more local produce; ie: breadfruit, plantain, sweet potatoes, etc. However, the fish and lobster (in season) are local and fresh. Other meats are mostly imported. We liked the Italian deli and we bought some really nice cold cuts, cheese and wine and had that for our lunches on some days.

All in all, a great stay and I would definitely return.

Room tip: Rooms on bottom floor open directly to the beach
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2019

Carscott extensive review from January 2019 is right on. There is not much else to say. i felt the pricing for the food/drinks and room were very reasonable for this quality of a resort. The landscaping was beautiful which shows the detail of how they want to set the seen for you. Only negative was our bed was too soft for us.

Room tip: Ask for upper floor, but it may only be my personal preference. Both floors are good.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hereIamDoorCountyWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2019

Tamarind Beach Hotel is a solid 4 Star Hotel, doing practically everything with great attentiveness. The reception staff of Afeisha, Marcia, and Dalla are welcoming, attentive, and genuine people who will do anything for you. At arrival we were quickly checked in within 5 mins. At this point they also inquired about our departure plan 5 days later. Seeing some missteps in my plans they suggested another option and by the next morning had it all arranged. We asked about a snorkel excursion and they researched my options and arranged everything - with charges on my account instead of me having to pay separately at a lower exchange rate. They even arranged another complex transport request with a simple “We’ll take care it!”

Rooms: Our room, a suite, ranks amongst the best we’ve encountered in the Caribbean; meticulously clean, updated, and warmly inviting. Irma and Karen did a wonderful job keeping our room stocked and clean. All rooms face the beach and have a terrific view of the water with no obstruction from the palm trees. Rooms are about 50 yards from room to water so we are lullabied by ocean waves. I’d recommend a top floor room because other guests on lower floors said they could hear top floor guests moving around.
They have 8 suite rooms and I was happy to have the extra space to spread out. Bathroom fixtures were all functioning well; we elected for short showers because “water is precious like gold here”. The king bed was comfy and all linens felt new. Air conditioning was cool and well functioning. The suites have small TVs with 50 channels including HBO and Cinemax. Reception was fuzzy to very clear depending on the channel. We watched one TV show the whole week.
WiFi is quite strong in the room and even on the beach, not so for the restaurant. Like everywhere on the island the internet can be sporadic. Rooms have safes and ours also had mini refrigerator. The balcony was nice and shaded during most of the day.

Beach: The beach is lovely and very nice for swimming. There are waves but quite gentle most of the time. Attendants do an excellent job to rake up the seaweed twice a day and keep the beach pretty. Cudos to those guys doing this never ending job! The beach attendants, Floyd and Clinton, do an excellent job creating a nice beach experience for you. Everyday they set up your lounger with cushions and towels and anticipate your other needs by what you requested the day before. BTW, the loungers are sturdy wood with quality pads, something I’ve seen only at high end hotels. Your lounger can be under your individual shade or in full sun. A beach bar serves your every drink need with whatever casual food you’d like from the restaurant. They also walk around making sure “everything is OK?!”
Snorkeling in this area isn’t great but the swimming is wonderful. The area has sailboats coming and going daily but they’re moored away from the beach and just create a picturesque scene, not a nuisance. We saw no jet skis or runabout pleasure boats.
Occasionally a cruise ship will anchor offshore and bring Day guests over (happened once, with about 15 cruise guests). The beach is plenty big enough and Floyd was very attuned to making sure his hotel guests had the preferred spots. I very much appreciated this attention.
The hotel grounds are really lovely and the crew is very busy keeping everything clean and orderly. There are 2-3 common areas under cover for you to gather with others outside of the sun. The hotel dock welcomes guests from sailboats and other private water craft.

Restaurant: In our visit the hotel was only 1/3 full so they used one of their two restaurants, Pirates Cove. Being an Italian owned resort there are many excellent Italian dishes, all with pasta handcrafted on site, with delicious taste. There are a variety of seafood and other choices and all of our meals were very good. Special mention about the Lobster pizza - amazing flavor. Prices are common for the Caribbean- $25/ person +\-. The service here is immediate and very customer focused. Matteo, the food and beverage manager, is incredibly attentive to patrons and workers alike. He’s truly happy to share his dining experience with you, while also training wait staff to a new level of service and intention. You see him carefully giving guiding directions and encouragements throughout the evening and the restaurant seems all the better because of it. Gregory at the bar can mix any drink you can suggest and does so with real interest.
There is s small Italian deli at TBH that sells unique hams, cheeses, wines, and a variety of Italian sourced items that are truly delicious.
Breakfast (included in our rate) was eggs, bacon, potatoes, and a variety of house baked pastries and bread - really the highlight for me. I’ll mention Zaide specifically because he was everywhere with a smile and helpful attitude.

Area: The resort occupies a long private section of beach about 1/3 mile. There’s really not much around it. Town is a 5-10 minute. The main island dock is a 3/4 mi away and the little bit of activity is almost unnoticeable from the resort. The resort feels very safe with 24 hour security and a gate at the only land entrance. We ventured into town on foot a couple times with no concern for safety; people were friendly and glad to see tourists. Renting a golf was quite fun and allowed us to see the island, community, and eat a couple meals with local residents. Canouan doesn’t offer many distractions other than a hike to the mountain top, and an island tour. But I do recommend getting out to see it. A note on the golf carts; they seat four but the hills can be so steep I’m not sure it could do it loaded with 4!
1/2 of the island is privately owned by the Mandarin Resort (locals still use the old name, Pink Sands) and that entire side is limited only to their guests, insulated from the rest of us, I guess.
Tobago Cay is a 30 minute boat ride and is worth your time and money. The snorkeling is quite beautiful and you see sea turtles large and small eating and swimming in their natural habitat. The hotel can help arrange this for you on the Tropical Storm with Angus and Julius - two really good guys.

Summary: I’ve written a long review here because I think TBH deserves more attention than it’s getting. It’s a first class hotel that is doing practically everything to the highest standards. The people here are delightful and do an excellent job of providing a carefree escape from your daily life in the beauty of Canouan. If you’re doing a Grenadine swing spend a few nights here, use it as a base to explore Tobago Cay, then head out to Bequia or Union.

Room tip: Suites are larger. Top floor may be quieter. All rooms have the same view of the beach and water - which is excellent.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Carscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews