We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed our honeymoon”
Review of Verdanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Verdanza Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2017

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon and it was one of the reason we end up going back to Puerto Rico, it was very clean and up to date. It was walking distance from the beach and from a couple of restaurants we end up falling in love with. Located not to far from the airport and not far from some of the places we traveled from, we used uber to get around and we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Laddi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhaacke, Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Laddi B,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you and your husband had an enjoyable stay. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Regards,

D Haacke
Rooms Divison Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 1,621 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2017

I stayed at the Verdanza from September 16 – September 22, 2017. Unfortunately, this timeframe spanned the arrival of Hurricane Maria. The hotel was well situated, clean and friendly before the storm, and exemplified themselves during and after the storm. The staff stayed at the hotel and put the guests safety and comfort first, ahead of even their own homes and families. Despite minor damage to the hotel, the staff ensured everyone was fed and safe. I would like to re-visit the hotel after the hurricane recovery. The property is dog and family friendly, sporting a dog park and pool with a children’s splash park.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank duckscrubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhaacke, Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

duckscrubber,

Thank you for your great review! The dates you visited were very challenging for us and the entire island due to hurricane Maria. Thankfully we were able to take care good care of our guests because of our passionate and diligent staff who went out of their way to make sure that we made our guests feel as if it were another sunny day at the Verdanza.

We are now in the process of rebuilding and creating a new, better Verdanza. We hope you will come visit us again in the future.

D Haacke
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Since the US military airlift 'dumped' us with only one soft carry bag in San Juan, we were looking for a reasonable, close to airport, room as it was now all out-of-pocket unexpected expense. The entire forced time in PR was at Verdanza. Truly impressed with entire staff, from President Rick Newman; Mgr. Rickie Newman; Concierge, Tina; GuestServices Mgr., Johanny to all wait staff, room attendants etc. They put us in a poolside, ground level room with a sm fridge at a hurricane refugee discounted rate. They have a few great restaurants/bar, lovely landscaping, pool and water park for kids and it's a short walk to the beach.
Aside from above, we were amazed and awed by the Herculean all volunteer donation/collection drive for other islands' relief, orchestrated by Rickie Newman and seems 100 volunteers. They even sorted out and displayed table after table in the conference room, clothing, toiletries, for hotel guests, like us, who had been 'rescued' with basically very little but important papers and medicines. The first day donations filled two semi trailers, sorted, labeled and trucked out by 9pm. Collections were building exponentially every day. Many other locations were also collection centers, but it illustrates how involved and caring this co. is. Hope pix will attach.
It is also extremely pet friendly hotel, there were leashed dogs everywhere .. smile .. and they even have an enclosed, open air pet playground 'park'.
The hotel is within short walks to some stores, After the trauma and chaos post- Irma on totally devastated St Maarten, at what was a luxury 5* resort, this little haven was perfect for de-stressing.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank FeithRochesterNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhaacke, Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

FeithRochesterNY,

Thank you so much for your review. Once we heard what Irma did to our neighbor islands, our natural instinct as hoteliers was to ask ourselves what we could do to help. With the help of our passionate team and several volunteers from across the island, an idea was made a reality and gave way to our hurricane relief drive. It was a truly successful and memorable event.

We appreciate your feedback on our facilities and are glad you enjoyed them. We hope to welcome you back again soon under better circumstances.

Regards,

D Haacke
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Instead of help, they let me go @ 1:30 am because they claimed that there's no other room available to move us. I'm still waiting for my reimbursement. No one gave us an apology for the inconveniences nor the bad time we had.
I will never recommend them.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Bladys P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhaacke, Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Bladys P,

Our most sincere apologies for not having a room in order for you during your stay. I have reviewed the date of your stay and found that there was no other room available at that time. The reservations proceeded to cancel the reservation without penalty according to our records. If you are still showing a charge on your account, please do not hesitate in contacting our finance team.

Cordially,

D Haacke
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Was very comfortable in my room and my room maintenance was exceptional.... Especially loved the balcony and my view of the pool and sprinklers area.... We will definitely stay again.! A great experience!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank aescud_942278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhaacke, Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

aescud_942278,

We are delighted you hear you had an enjoyable stay. As you said, our beautiful green areas and pool are something we are praised for regularly. We hope you will come visit us again soon.

Regards,

D Haacke
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Verde hotels
0.2 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.3 km away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
ESJ Azul
ESJ Azul
#11 of 13 in Isla Verde
310 reviews
0.5 km away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#3 of 13 in Isla Verde
364 reviews
0.5 km away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verdanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verdanza Hotel

Address: 8020 Tartak Street, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range: €148 - €224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Verdanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm smiles lead the way at the relaxed, urban-inspired Verdanza Hotel,a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts Lifestyle Collection. Steps from Isla Verde beach; near restaurants, clubs, casinos. Air-conditioned rooms offer pillow menu, iPod(R) docking station, LCD TV, organic bath products, 2-line phone, safe, fridge, iron/board, hairdryer. Facilities: pool area with whirlpool and SprayPark, three restaurants, cafe. Services: complimentary bike-taxi transfers to beach, Tour Desk, Dollar Rent-A-Car. Location places guests minutes from convention center, historical city, cruise piers, marinas, shopping, attractions, international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Verdanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Carolina
Carolina Holiday Inn
Verdanza Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde, Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing