We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret Get Away”
Review of La Playita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Playita
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2017

My wife when we first got to the hotel said this looks like it is out of a movie!! Little did we know that a few weeks earlier there was a movie filmed there. Rooms are clean and quaint. The hotel staff is top notch. I felt like we made new friends with all the hotel staff from the valet guys to Corey who runs the restaurant. The restaurant was by far the best place we ate the entire time we were in PR. In fact we ate there several times for lunch and dinner....it was that good!! Location of hotel is perfect for day excursions to other parts of the island. Would definitely stay here again when we come back to PR.

Room Tip: Ocean view room is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TNTravelers20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2017

I stayed just for one night. Staff is friendly, but the room and its amenities are just like a motel. Old furniture, not enough lighting, bathroom small. It seems clean and it was available. Really nothing to write at all. The Price was around a $100.00 a night.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lcdovelazquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

Location was great to bounce between old San Juan and other nearby cities.
Water wasn't very warm.
Air conditioning remote was not working properly and stayed cold one night.
Staff was very helpful and professional.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Marina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for a week and loved it. I was traveling alone and felt completely safe and taken care of during my stay. It's situated on a small point with beaches on either side and only steps away.

The restaurant/bar is a fun and festive spot with a beautiful view and helpful service. Korey, Antonio and staff were nothing but helpful, kind and full of solid recommendations for places to visit, eat, play and relax. It was my first time in PR and I'm definitely coming back - and when I do, I'm staying at La Playita again.

Also, It's a bargain for folks traveling on a budget. I booked in advance enough to get a good deal on the room. The room itself was pretty bare bones but clean and comfortable with AC and large windows that open to allow for a lovely ocean breeze.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank rubylou72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

If you like to dine outdoors like I do then try this restaurant. A short walk on the beach from the ESJ Azul this restaurant is deceiving from the outside but once you get to the outdoor deck your skeptical face will turn to a big smile. An absolute beautiful view with a wonderful breeze. We got there at noon so we were only the 2nd table there. The food was very good and the server was very pleasant and accommodating.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mgiord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Verde hotels
0.8 km away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.4 km away
Hotel Villa del Sol
Hotel Villa del Sol
#12 of 13 in Isla Verde
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#3 of 13 in Isla Verde
362 reviews
0.8 km away
Verdanza Hotel
Verdanza Hotel
#9 of 13 in Isla Verde
1,620 reviews
0.2 km away
ESJ Azul
ESJ Azul
#11 of 13 in Isla Verde
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Playita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playita

Address: 6 Calle Amapola, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-7244, Puerto Rico (Formerly Hotel La Playa)
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range: €156 - €228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Playita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated 15-room motel-style hotel, restaurant and bar in Isla Verde - only 5 minutes from San Juan's airport. Only 10 steps to the best beach in San Juan from our front door. La Playita restaurant and bar on ocean-front deck for fantastic views. New 'Miami-style' design and decor feature new beds, flat-panel cable TV, air conditioning, new bathrooms and complementary continental breakfast every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Playita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Playa Hotel
La Playa Carolina
La Playita Puerto Rico/Isla Verde, Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing