We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average ”
Review of Hotel Montelirio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Montelirio
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

The location of the hotel is excellent and I like the 1920’s feel that the hotel provides. For the price I was expecting a lot more the rooms with a view were double the price of the standard room and although it does boast amazing views there is no balcony to enjoy it on and seemed a little smaller in size than the standard room, not quite sure it is worth such a steep increase in price. The room I was in was on the street was was a little noisy with cars and people outside. The rooms are too hot! I am not sure where the heating was coming from I assume under floor but it was too much with no option to turn it down. The breakfast was a little disappointing, no many hot options and a little disorganized. Overall the location of this hotel is the selling point, would I return? Possibly not.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2017

This place is in dire need of good management and some investment.
The location/view is what keeps it alive. The service, decor, quality of breakfast and general ambience are all in need of significant TLC.
It is a bit like it is frozen in time - around 30 years ago- and just expects to thrive on its location and past ‘glory’, if it ever possessed this.
The breakfast offering was absolutely the worst we experienced in Andalusia, and despite advertising the possibility of a ‘bespoke’ breakfast, none was available.
This place could be brilliant with some imaginative input and dynamic management, but currently is not to be recommended.

Room Tip: Gorge view rooms, but look north so never get the sun.
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Zantino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

Stayed at the Montelirio for one night and enjoyed our stay. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. The location of the hotel was perfect. Great views from the hotel pool area.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sunny305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

Look at the million dollar view from our balcony, absolutely stunning. When you enter Ronda our GPS took us to the left side of town but the hotel is to the right up the hill, keep that in mind if you have problems. We loved our room, the bedroom was in a loft. The room was large with a sitting area, clean and very comfortable. The hotel is in great proximity to everything and has a wonderful restaurant. They were full the night we arrived so you might want to make reservations in advance. We ate in the restaurant next door DuQuesa De Parcent and it was fantastic, with stunning views as well. Ronda is so beautiful and well worth the trek into the mountains.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Leanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

Ronda has a spectacular gorge, and our hotel and our room have a great view of it and the New Bridge (built in 1793). The Parador probably would have been posher, but it has only a view of our hotel and others along its side of the gorge. Our small room has a spectacular view. That’s the reason to stay at this hotel.

The hotel isn’t great. It’s all right. The lighting in the bedroom is pitiful. My husband had to take the lampshades off the two little bed lamps so we could have any possibility of reading. The bulbs must have been 10 watts. There was no overhead light. There was a fixture on the far wall with two or three small bulbs in it. The bathroom was all right. The bed was rather soft. The air conditioner was marginal. Breakfast was okay.

We had dinner at the hotel, out on the terrace with heaters above us. Yes, it might have been a bit more expensive than necessary, but the gorgeous view as the city was lit up made it worthwhile. We shared an artichoke starter, then lamb shoulder and suckling pig, both of which were good but rather dry -- they needed a sauce of some kind. Our most expensive wine on the trip, La Rioja Alta Vina Ardanza, one of our favorite wines, at 34 euros. We shared a chocolate soufflé.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chandolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.1 km away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 40 in Ronda
1,999 reviews
0.3 km away
Catalonia Ronda
Catalonia Ronda
#2 of 40 in Ronda
249 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#5 of 40 in Ronda
1,376 reviews
3.9 km away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
0.2 km away
Hotel Ronda
Hotel Ronda
#10 of 40 in Ronda
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montelirio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montelirio

Address: Calle Tenorio 8, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#4 Family Hotel in Ronda
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
Price Range: €89 - €166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montelirio 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Montelirio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montelirio Hotel Ronda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing