We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”
Review of Hotel Montelirio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Montelirio
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2017

This hotel in the heart of old Ronda has great views, fabulous service and period rooms.
we stayed at the end of August very hot. We opted for a junior suit and it was well worth the little extra.
Thank you to Angela for all the help, parking and with luggage. Even getting the AC to work properly.

Room Tip: suits with gorge views are worth the little extra, also breakfast is usually included in suite prici...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2017

We booked to stay at the Hotel Montelirio for 8 nights in June/July. We booked directly with the hotel and found that the staff were so polite throughout the whole process. When we arrived, we were offered parking but we had done our research and found an underground car park not too far away which cost us around 7 euros per night.

Our room (106) was lovely. We did not opt for a room with a view as this was £200 extra. This ensured that we spent a lot of time in the restaurant enjoying the views.
The restaurant is lovely and the staff were excellent. Food is great and wonderful wine choices.

The pool was heavenly. Some people are whining because they weren't told about the pool and towels. DO YOUR RESEARCH BEFOREHAND!! We checked thoroughly what amenities the hotel had to offer including pool towels.

The reception staff were really lovely and helpful except one in particular.
Please be aware that if you return to the hotel after midnight, the doors will be locked so ring the bell and it's like a scene from Hogwarts with the night receptionist unlocking them lol.

If you have hired a car, it is worth a visit to Lake Zahara, La Playita, in particular as it is a small man made lake where you can swim and sunbathe. It is 3 euros to enter for the day. It is around 35 mins north of Ronda.

If you turn left out of the hotel and left again onto the main street, just before the bridge is a fantastic little tapas bar named "Tabanco Los Arcos" which is definitely worth a visit or two. We practically lived there. Sara who is the owner was so lovely and looked after us really well. The selection of wines was amazing. All of our hotel staff from the restaurant would end up here after their shift was finished and we had a drink with them.

I'd like to say a huge thanks to all staff at the Montelirio for making our stay so perfect and for the lovely bottle of Cava which you gave to us as a gift on our last night.

We shall be returning to stay at the Montelirio with the hope of purchasing a property in Ronda.

Ronda is well and truly in our hearts. :)

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Stacemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

We loved our room at Hotel Montelirio! The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was beautiful and had a view of the Puente Nuevo. What an amazing city with beautiful views and our hotel was the perfect place to stay! It was very centrally located within walking distance to both sides of the city. I would highly recommend staying here on your visit!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Puente Nuevo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

We spent one night at Hotel Montelirio. We enjoyed excellent views over the canyon and bridge. The room was well appointed with a comfortable sitting area and a loft bedroom. We had dinner at the restaurant watching a beautiful sunset and then the bridge lighting up. Dinner was a little expensive but quality and service was excellent.
The hotel has parking arrangements with a car park near Plaza Duquesa de Parcent which is easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cargs101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

We were very disappointed with this hotel. The staff, particularly one lady at reception , were unwelcoming and sour when we enquired about another room. The room was unsightly and depressing. The bathroom had an unpleasant smell. The bedside lamp wasn't working, nor was the kettle.

They also make you pay for parking at a parking lot further up the road. However, we later discovered this to be unnecessary as there was free public parking in the area.

Maybe only the rooms with the view meet 4 star standard but our room and experience certainly didn't.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.1 km away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 40 in Ronda
1,998 reviews
0.3 km away
Catalonia Ronda
Catalonia Ronda
#2 of 40 in Ronda
249 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#5 of 40 in Ronda
1,374 reviews
3.9 km away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
0.2 km away
Hotel Ronda
Hotel Ronda
#10 of 40 in Ronda
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montelirio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montelirio

Address: Calle Tenorio 8, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#4 Family Hotel in Ronda
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
Price Range: €89 - €166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montelirio 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Montelirio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montelirio Hotel Ronda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing