We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (615)
Filter reviews
615 results
Traveller rating
394
173
33
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
394
173
33
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town sun sets spectacular views hotel restaurant lady at reception junior suite small pool fantastic location el tajo gorge gorge view across the bridge small hotel the cliff first morning sitting area loved this hotel enjoy the view
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 615 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2017

We booked to stay at the Hotel Montelirio for 8 nights in June/July. We booked directly with the hotel and found that the staff were so polite throughout the whole process. When we arrived, we were offered parking but we had done our research and found an underground car park not too far away which cost us around 7 euros per night.

Our room (106) was lovely. We did not opt for a room with a view as this was £200 extra. This ensured that we spent a lot of time in the restaurant enjoying the views.
The restaurant is lovely and the staff were excellent. Food is great and wonderful wine choices.

The pool was heavenly. Some people are whining because they weren't told about the pool and towels. DO YOUR RESEARCH BEFOREHAND!! We checked thoroughly what amenities the hotel had to offer including pool towels.

The reception staff were really lovely and helpful except one in particular.
Please be aware that if you return to the hotel after midnight, the doors will be locked so ring the bell and it's like a scene from Hogwarts with the night receptionist unlocking them lol.

If you have hired a car, it is worth a visit to Lake Zahara, La Playita, in particular as it is a small man made lake where you can swim and sunbathe. It is 3 euros to enter for the day. It is around 35 mins north of Ronda.

If you turn left out of the hotel and left again onto the main street, just before the bridge is a fantastic little tapas bar named "Tabanco Los Arcos" which is definitely worth a visit or two. We practically lived there. Sara who is the owner was so lovely and looked after us really well. The selection of wines was amazing. All of our hotel staff from the restaurant would end up here after their shift was finished and we had a drink with them.

I'd like to say a huge thanks to all staff at the Montelirio for making our stay so perfect and for the lovely bottle of Cava which you gave to us as a gift on our last night.

We shall be returning to stay at the Montelirio with the hope of purchasing a property in Ronda.

Ronda is well and truly in our hearts. :)

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

We loved our room at Hotel Montelirio! The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was beautiful and had a view of the Puente Nuevo. What an amazing city with beautiful views and our hotel was the perfect place to stay! It was very centrally located within walking distance to both sides of the city. I would highly recommend staying here on your visit!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Puente Nuevo
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

We spent one night at Hotel Montelirio. We enjoyed excellent views over the canyon and bridge. The room was well appointed with a comfortable sitting area and a loft bedroom. We had dinner at the restaurant watching a beautiful sunset and then the bridge lighting up. Dinner was a little expensive but quality and service was excellent.
The hotel has parking arrangements with a car park near Plaza Duquesa de Parcent which is easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for views.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cargs101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

We were very disappointed with this hotel. The staff, particularly one lady at reception , were unwelcoming and sour when we enquired about another room. The room was unsightly and depressing. The bathroom had an unpleasant smell. The bedside lamp wasn't working, nor was the kettle.

They also make you pay for parking at a parking lot further up the road. However, we later discovered this to be unnecessary as there was free public parking in the area.

Maybe only the rooms with the view meet 4 star standard but our room and experience certainly didn't.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Cannot believe the amazing view from our room, as well as the sunset dinner in front of the plunging gorges and sweeping plain.
RONDA IS A MUST VISIT PLACE.
Hotel along this side of the gorge, are all with spectacular view. We had earlier booked Parador de Ronda. Glad that we changed, the direction of the view is not as good, and the hotel is expensive and a little grandoise. The restaurant looked sad and empty, unlike Montelirio, with people waiting in line for the sunset dinner-absolutely romantic! We also almost booked Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria, would be more expensive and again the view is no comparison to Montelirio, which is over the plunging gorge and the old bridge, as well as across the plain. The quality of this hotel is on par with the view, with windows to the gorge even from the bathroom! Only complaint was the reception staff almost made us miss the train, by not ordering our taxi ahead of our specified time. No taxi was able to come by at the time. He promised to drive us himself if the taxi did not arrive. I did not think that he meant it.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank boxspacelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews