We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great walking area”
Review of La Ciudad

La Ciudad
Ranked #7 of 58 Sights & Landmarks in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

While staying in the Parador we walked east of the new bridge to see the two older bridges to the east. We returned by walking through the lovely, clean and friendly neighborhood of La Ciudad.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank somanyfoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"old town"
in 13 reviews
"loved ronda"
in 3 reviews
"charming city"
in 2 reviews
"orson welles"
in 3 reviews
"narrow streets"
in 4 reviews
"souvenir shops"
in 2 reviews
"southern spain"
in 3 reviews
"tapas"
in 2 reviews
"bridge"
in 26 reviews
"plains"
in 3 reviews
"gorge"
in 8 reviews
"hilly"
in 2 reviews
"puente"
in 4 reviews
"century"
in 2 reviews
"parador"
in 2 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2017

This area is roughly the same as what is called The Old City. It encompasses many of the oldest structures as well as the principal church and several parks.

It is a beautiful place to walk and take in the sights.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank phat_dawg_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

The old town is just lovely despite the inevitable growth of fast food outlets which look terribly out of place. Great atmosphere, particularly around sunset, and lovely to wander around the streets

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank BrentJ512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We traversed the city in the late evening and then had our best dining experience during our 13 day stay in Spain at Don Miguel. Beside the usual photo opportunities we caught some other great sights. I have included the photos of this charming city with my review!

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank DaveEB310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2017

In Spanish, “la ciudad” means “the city.” Or in this case, a quaint village of about 35,000. For the purposes of a TripAdvisor review, La Ciudad is ambiguous. TA has a designated attraction called “Old City” but with two bridges connecting the compact cityscape, what’s the difference between “The City” and “Old City”?

Whatever! Both were quite a surprise of one who never knew of this burg so steeped in history. On both sides of Tajo Gorge, Ronda clamors to attract tourism. The “newer” side has at the foot of New Bridge the main Plaza de España, a parador (quaint hotel) that sits precariously at cliff edge, museums, churches, and other attractions—as does “Old City.” I recommend a somewhat circular walking tour across New Bridge, through Old City, then cross Puente Viejo (Old Bridge), which is two centuries older than its younger sibling constructed in 1759.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank DeanMurphy2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Ciudad also viewed

 
Ronda, Costa del Sol
Olvera, Province of Cadiz
 

Been to La Ciudad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing