We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nabelchel Bungalows
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
View Deal
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
8
10
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchenfanfridgespotsfactadventuregardenbungalowmealssnorkelinghostsisland
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2014

Nabelchel Bungalows is a great place for simple bungalow-style accommodation on Malekula Island. I stayed here while on a work trip and Hosea and the staff were fantastic. The food is better than some places in Port Vila and the decorations in the dining room have a story to tell. My bungalow was clean, comfortable and had everything I needed. The lack of 5* amenities really is part of the charm. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amb3182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2014

I travel alot for business and gthis was a very good bungalow for me to stay in, quiet place and good breakfast, with short waliking distance to the airport. if you want kava, bring your kava from a nakamal a few metre away form the bungalow. There is good place very quiet to enjoy your Kava

Room Tip: Choose a room with self contain bathroom and toilet.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2014

Spend 2 nights in Nabelchel last month on a work trip to Malekula and was blow away with the service and smiles. There are 4 rooms available- two attached to the kitchen and restaurant area and then two stand alone bungalows in the garden. All rooms have private toilet and bathroom facilities. There is a good breakfast and I hear they are getting internet there soon too. Will be back.

Room Tip: Try and get a bungalow in the garden :)
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I was not expecting much from Malekula after my flight was cancelled and I arrived one day late at a burnt down airport at Norsup but this place was a gem. Clean, nice grounds, good food (I had very tender and tasty beef with an onion, tomato peppery sauce) and friendly owner. Room had a fan and mosquito net and clean towells and soap which I did not expect in the backblocks. Only stayed one night but half expected to stay longer if dysfunctional Air Vanuatu had cancelled flights again. Would have been a fine place to sit and write a report if they had. As it was, Air Vanuatu turned up (eventually) and I got back to Vila just in time to intercept someone breaking into my house.
Would recommend this to anyone passing through Norsup/Lakatoro.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SukaMakanLos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Malekula is most definitely off the beaten track for many visitors to Vanuatu, but if you're looking for something unique and unspoilt, it's the place to go. Often, accommodation in hard-to-reach places is average, and food less than appetizing. But Nabelchel offers simple yet comfortable Bungalows with clean bathrooms and nice furnishings - ill admit I was surprised! I was further surprised by the food, which was really, really good! Lakotoro is small, and there aren't many options for dining out or nightlife, so having a nice bungalow to retire to is a real bonus, as you'll spend most if your evening in it! Don't expect 5 star luxury - but do expect friendly service, clean, comfy and bug free accommodation, and food that beats many of the options offered in port Vila!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malolava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews